Notice of NON FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2020168438 A1 by Sheeb et al (Sh0eb) in view of US9872373 B1 by Shimizu et al (Shimizu).
Referring to claim 1 Shoeb Fig 1-17C teaches: A method for performing a plasma etch process in a process chamber (Fig 1 item 112) , comprising: applying a source radiofrequency (RF) signal ( item RFGB and signal 144) to a top electrode (item 115) of the process chamber (paragraph [0100] –[0111]) ;
applying a bias RF signal (item 102 ) to a lower electrode (item 114) of the process chamber (See paragraphs ); wherein the bias RF signal has two or more pulsed duty cycles (See paragraphs [0149], [0164]) including a first duty cycle having a first sinusoidal waveform at a first frequency (see paragraphs [0156])
But Shoeb is silent on pulsed at a first voltage level, and a second duty cycle having a custom waveform pulsed at a second voltage level, the custom waveform consisting of a second sinusoidal waveform at a second frequency that is combined with a non-sinusoidal waveform.
However, Shimizu teaches a first RF generator , a first multi-level RF power wave form to a process chamber the first multi-level RF power waveform having at least a first power level during a first pulse duration, a second power level during a second pulse duration and a third power level during a third pulse duration, wherein the first , second and third power levels of the first multi-level RF power waveform are different from each other (See Fig 1-6 col. 4, 5, 6 and claim 1 ).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art would have been before the effective filing date of instant application to incorporate Shimizu teachings of multi-level pulsing of RF power waveform in to the Shoeb’s plasma processing system in order to achieve uniform ion energy distribution.
Referring to claim 2, Sheeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the method of claim 1, Shoeb further teaches wherein the source RF signal is configured to generate a plasma in a plasma process region disposed between the top electrode and the lower electrode. (See Fig 1 -6D and abstract) .
Referring to claim 3 Shoeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the method of claim 2, Shoeb further teaches wherein the bias RF signal is configured to accelerate ions from the plasma towards the lower electrode (See Fig 1 and abstract and paragraphs [0100] –[0110])..
Referring to claim 4, Shoeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the method of claim 3. Shimizu further Fig 5, 6 teaches wherein the first duty cycle produces a first ion energy distribution of the ions; and, wherein the second duty cycle produces a second ion energy distribution of the ions that is narrower than the first ion energy distribution. (See Fig 5, 6 and claims 1-3)
Referring to claim 5, Shoeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the method of claim 1, Shoeb further teaches wherein the second voltage level is greater than the first voltage level. (See Fig 2A and paragraphs [0146] –[0148])
Referring to claim 6, Shoeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the method of claim 1, Shoeb further teaches wherein the second frequency is greater than the first frequency. (See Fig 2A).
Referring to claim 7, Shoeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the method of claim 1, Shoeb further teaches wherein the top electrode is configured to inductively couple power, or capacitively couple power, into the process chamber. (See Fig 1 and paragraph [0133])
Referring to claim 8 Shoebs Fig 1 -17D teaches: A method for performing a plasma etch process in a process chamber (See Fig 1 and paragraph [0100] –[0111]), comprising: applying a source radiofrequency (RF) signal to a top electrode of the process chamber; applying a bias RF signal to a lower electrode of the process chamber; wherein the bias RF signal has two or more pulsed duty cycles, including a first duty cycle having a sinusoidal waveform at a first frequency and pulsed at a first voltage level, and but Sheeb is silent on a second duty cycle having a non-sinusoidal waveform at a second frequency and pulsed at a second voltage level.
However, Shimizu teaches a first RF generator , a first multi-level RF power wave form to a process chamber the first multi-level RF power waveform having at least a first power level during a first pulse duration, a second power level during a second pulse duration and a third power level during a third pulse duration, wherein the first , second and third power levels of the first multi-level RF power waveform are different from each other (See Fig 1-6 col. 4, 5, 6 and claim 1 ).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art would have been before the effective filing date of instant application to incorporate Shimizu teachings of multi-level pulsing of RF power waveform in to the Sheeb’s plasma processing system in order to achieve uniform ion energy distribution.
Referring to claim 9 Sheeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the source RF signal is configured to generate a plasma in a plasma process region disposed between the top electrode and the lower electrode. (See Fig 1 -6D and abstract)
Referring to claim 10, Sheeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the method of claim 9, Shimizu teacheswherein the bias RF signal is configured to accelerate ions from the plasma towards the lower electrode. (See Fig 1 and abstract and paragraphs [0100] –[0110])..
Referring to claim 11, Shoeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the method of claim 10 wherein the first duty cycle produces a first ion energy distribution of the ions; and, wherein the second duty cycle produces a second ion energy distribution of the ions that is narrower than the first ion energy distribution. (See Fig 5, 6 and claims 1-3)
Referring to claim 12, Shoeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the method of claim 8, Shimizu wherein the second voltage level is greater than the first voltage level (See Fig 2A and paragraphs [0146] –[0148])
Referring to claim 13 Shoeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the method of claim 8, Shoeb teaches wherein the second frequency is greater than the first frequency. (See Fig 2A).
Referring to claim 14, Sheeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the method of claim 8, Shoeb wherein the top electrode is configured to inductively couple power, or capacitively couple power, into the process chamber. (See Fig 1 and paragraph [0133])
Referring to claim 15 Shee Fig 1-17C teaches: A system for performing a plasma etch process (Fig 1 item 100 paragraph [0101]) , comprising: a process chamber (item 112); a source radiofrequency (RF) generator ( item RFGB) that generates a source RF signal (item 144) applied to a top electrode (item 116 :[0136]) of the process chamber (item 112); a plurality of bias RF generators (See claim 1 and Fig 1, 12 and paragraph [0406]) that generate a bias RF signal applied to a lower electrode (item 114) of the process chamber (item 112) ; wherein the bias RF signal has two or more pulsed duty cycles, including a first duty cycle having a first sinusoidal waveform at a first frequency and pulsed at a first voltage level (See Fig 2A-4A abstract and claim 1) , and butsheeb silent on a second duty cycle having a custom waveform pulsed at a second voltage level, the custom waveform consisting of a second sinusoidal waveform at a second frequency that is combined with a non-sinusoidal waveform.
However, Shimizu teaches a first RF generator , a first multi-level RF power wave form to a process chamber the first multi-level RF power waveform having at least a first power level during a first pulse duration, a second power level during a second pulse duration and a third power level during a third pulse duration, wherein the first , second and third power levels of the first multi-level RF power waveform are different from each other (See Fig 1-6 col. 4, 5, 6 and claim 1 ).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art would have been before the effective filing date of instant application to incorporate Shimizu teachings of multi-level pulsing of RF power waveform in to the Sheeb’s plasma processing system in order to achieve uniform ion energy distribution.
Referring to claim 16, Shoeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the system of claim 15, Shoeb further teacheswherein the source RF signal is configured to generate a plasma in a plasma process region disposed between the top electrode and the lower electrode. (See Fig 1 -6D and abstract)
Referring to claim 17, Shoeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the system of claim 16, Shoeb further teacheswherein the bias RF signal is configured to accelerate ions from the plasma towards the lower electrode. (See Fig 1 and abstract and paragraphs [0100] –[0110])..
Referring to claim 18, Shoeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the system of claim 17 Shimizu wherein the first duty cycle produces a first ion energy distribution of the ions; and, wherein the second duty cycle produces a second ion energy distribution of the ions that is narrower than the first ion energy distribution. (See Fig 5, 6 and claims 1-3)
Referring to claim 19, Shoeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the system of claim 15, Shoebu teaches wherein the second voltage level is greater than the first voltage level.
Referring to claim 20, Sheeb’s reference as modified by Shimizu’s reference teaches the system of claim 15, Shoeb further teaches wherein the second frequency is greater than the first frequency. (See Fig 1 and paragraph [0133])
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
SRINIVAS . SATHIRAJU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845