DETAILED ACTION
Claims 8 to 23 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10,14 and 20 to 22 of copending Application No. 18/707,810 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the sole difference between the instant claims and the copending claims in the nucleation gas. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the copending application to use a carbon only gas in the nucleation step in order to increase control over the nucleation reaction and sites controlling the growth, noting the parameters for this step are similar..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 8 to 23 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 to 26 of copending Application No. 18/692,926 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the sole difference between the instant claims and the copending claims in the nucleation gas. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the copending application to use a carbon only gas in the nucleation step in order to increase control over the nucleation reaction and sites controlling the growth, noting the parameters for this step are similar..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 8 to 23 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 to 14 of copending Application No. 18/695,073 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the sole difference between the instant claims and the copending claims in the nucleation gas. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the copending application to use a carbon only gas in the nucleation step in order to increase control over the nucleation reaction and sites controlling the growth, noting the parameters for this step are similar..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 8 to 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jp 4313000 in view of GB 2540608 and Won et al (KR 20130142415).
The Jp 4313000 reference teaches a method of growing a silicon carbide layer, note entire translation. The base layer is a silicon substrate, which is first cleaned to remove any native oxides, para 0023. Then a first layer of silicon carbide is deposited onto the silicon substrate at a temperature below 950c, note para 0015. Then a second layer of silicon carbide is deposited by chemical vapor deposition onto the first layer and substrate at a high temperature, note, para 0016. The differences between the instant claim and the prior art are the deposition pressure and separation of the grown layers. However, GB 2540608 reference teaches using low pressures under the limit claimed to deposit silicon carbide, note page 1. The Won et al reference teaches growing a nucleation site using only a carbon source and reacting with the silicon, note translation, page 3 and then growing 3c-SiC. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Jp 4313000 reference by the teachings of the GB 2540608 and Won et al references to deposit at lower pressures and use only carbon source in order to create silicon carbide wafer for further uses in device formations with desired lattices 3C-SiC.
With regards to claim 9, the Won et al reference teaches a carbon source which can include acetylene, note page 2.
With regards to claims 10 and 11, the Jp 4313000 reference teaches monomethyl silane, note para 0007.
With regards to claims 12 to 15 the Jp 4313000 reference teaches oxide removal step in hydrogen at a temperature of 1000c note para 0023.
Claim(s) 16 to 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jp 4313000 in view of GB 2540608 and Won et al .
The Jp 4313000, GB 2540608 and Won et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claims in the temperature change during the second and third steps. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable temperature increase during the second and third steps in the combined references as the temperatures are within the range of the art in order to increase deposition rates after nucleation.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in SiC growth.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714