DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-16 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tan et al. [US 2022/0035247 A1].
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Tan et al. discloses a method of forming a photosensitive underlayer on a substrate (as shown in Figs. 1 and 2D, paragraph [0089]), the method comprising:
exposing the substrate (212) to a dopant precursor and a hydrocarbon precursor (paragraphs [0046] and [0071] teaches dopant precursor and a hydrocarbon precursor), the dopant precursor comprising an extreme ultraviolet (EUV)-absorbing photoelectron-emissive dopant bonded within a carbon-containing polymerizable molecule (paragraphs [0065] and [0145] teaches wherein EUV photons are absorbed);
exposing the substrate to a radical species (paragraphs [0235] and [0239] teac chanber
hes UV radiation generated from plasma to generate radicals); and
forming a hydrogen-contributing photosensitive underlayer (216) on the substrate (212) from the dopant precursor and the hydrocarbon precursor by reaction of the dopant precursor and the hydrocarbon precursor with the radical species (as shown in Figs. 1 and 2D, paragraphs [0104] and [0121]-[0129] teaches forming a hydrogen-contributing photosensitive underlayer).
Regarding claim 18, Tan et al. discloses a processing tool (Figs. 8-12) comprising:
a processing chamber (as shown in Figs. 8-12);
a plasma generator (paragraphs [0079], [0272] and [0274]);
a radiofrequency power source configured to provide radiofrequency power to the plasma generator (paragraphs [0079], [0272] and [0274]);
flow control hardware configured to control gas flow into the processing chamber and into the plasma generator (paragraph [0266] and [0288], see also Figs. 8-12);
a logic subsystem (paragraph [0279]); and
a storage subsystem comprising instructions executable by the logic subsystem to: control the flow control hardware to introduce a dopant precursor and a hydrocarbon precursor into the processing chamber, the dopant precursor comprising an extreme ultraviolet (EUV)-absorbing photoelectron-emissive dopant bonded within a carbon-containing polymerizable molecule (paragraph [0279] and [0280]),
control the flow control hardware to introduce an inert gas into the plasma generator; control the radiofrequency power source to form a plasma in the plasma generator; and control the flow control hardware to introduce a radical species precursor into the plasma generator (paragraphs [0079], [0272] and [0274], see also Figs. 8-12).
Regarding claims 2, 3 and 20, Tan et al. discloses wherein exposing the substrate to the radical species comprises introducing the radical species from a remote plasma into a processing chamber comprising the substrate through an ion-shielding and radiation-shielding inlet, wherein the dopant precursor is introduced downstream of an ion-shielding and radiation-shielding structure of the ion-shielding and radiation-shielding inlet (paragraph [0239], see also Figs. 8-12).
Regarding claim 4, Tan et al. discloses wherein the carbon-containing polymerizable molecule comprises one or more of a carbon-carbon double bond, a carbon-carbon triple bond, or a cyclic group (paragraph [0138]).
Regarding claim 5, Tan et al. discloses further comprising mixing the hydrocarbon precursor with a hydrogen-containing gas before exposing the substrate to the hydrocarbon precursor (paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 19, Tan et al. discloses wherein the dopant precursor comprises an iodine-containing dopant precursor, wherein the iodine-containing dopant precursor comprises one or more of iodoethyne or 3-iodopropene (paragraphs [0104], [0121]-[0138]).
Regarding claims 8, 9 and 19, Tan et al. discloses wherein the dopant precursor comprises a tin-containing dopant precursor, wherein the tin-containing dopant precursor comprises one or more of dimethyl tin(II), diethyl tin(II), tetravinyl tin(IV) or dimethyl(divinyl)tin(IV) (paragraphs [0148]-[0152], [0174]).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Tan et al. discloses wherein the instructions are executable to control the flow control hardware to flow the hydrocarbon precursor and flow the dopant precursor with a gas flow ratio within a range of 2 sccm:1 sccm to 10 sccm:1 sccm (paragraph [0266] and [0288], see also Figs. 8-12).
Regarding claims 13-15, Tan et al. discloses wherein the hydrogen-contributing photosensitive underlayer comprises silicon carbide, wherein the hydrogen-contributing photosensitive underlayer comprises a carbon-based polymer, wherein the EUV-absorbing photoelectron-emissive dopant comprises one or more of In, Sn, Sb, Te, or I (paragraph [0071], see also claims 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 16, Tan et al. discloses wherein the photoresist layer comprises an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) photoresist (paragraph [0145]).
Regarding claim 22, Tan et al. discloses further comprising a substrate heater and wherein the instructions are further executable to control the substrate heater to heat to a temperature within a range of 100° C. to 300° C (paragraph [0269]).
Conclusion
/DEORAM PERSAUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882