CTNF 18/868,977 CTNF 86952 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 31-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Arai [US 2013/0308109 A1] . Regarding claim 31, Arai discloses a method (Fig. 11) for measuring a structure (Fig. 4) with an illumination-detection system (Fig. 7), comprising: determining an alignment parameter of the illumination-detection system relating to a respective degree of freedom for aligning a detector and/or a measurement illumination of the illumination-detection system (paragraph [0074] teaches aligning with respect to the degrees of freedom), the determining being based on corresponding a diffraction pattern (paragraph [0069]-[0070] teaches gratings and pitch) and an expected configuration (paragraphs [0183] teaches predetermined design), wherein the diffraction pattern corresponds to diffraction of a radiation from the structure that is captured by the detector (paragraphs [0094] and [0126] teaches detecting the diffracted orders), and ]wherein the expected configuration is based on knowledge of the structure (paragraphs [0069]-[0070] and [0183] teaches predetermined gratings), wherein the diffraction pattern comprises one or more diffraction orders generated by the diffraction of the radiation from the structure (paragraphs [0094] and [0126] teaches detecting the diffracted orders). Regarding claim 32, Arai discloses wherein the radiation is a broadband radiation (paragraph [0093]). Regarding claim 33, Arai discloses wherein the diffraction pattern comprises a two-dimensional diffraction pattern and the structure comprises a two-dimensional periodic structure for performing metrology in two dimensions of a structure plane (paragraph [0082]). Regarding claims 34-36, Arai discloses wherein the method comprises fitting two or more alignment parameters, wherein the method comprises fitting three or more alignment parameters, wherein the method comprises fitting six or more alignment parameters (paragraphs [0074]-[0075]). Regarding claims 37 and 38, Arai discloses wherein the step of corresponding comprises corresponding a position of an intensity metric of each the diffraction pattern to the expected configuration, wherein the intensity metric is peak intensity of each diffraction order, wherein the one or more diffraction orders comprises the one or more diffraction orders having greatest intensity within the diffraction pattern (paragraph [0126]). Regarding claims 39 and 40, Arai discloses wherein the one or more diffraction orders comprises at least two first-order diffraction orders, wherein the one or more diffraction orders comprises at least three first-order diffraction orders (paragraphs [0094] and [0126] teaches detecting the diffracted orders). Regarding claim 41, Arai discloses wherein the knowledge of the structure comprises pitch of the structure (paragraph [0069]-[0070] teaches gratings and pitch). Regarding claim 42, Arai discloses wherein the radiation has a wavelength in the range of 1-20 nm (paragraph [0186] teaches EUV range). Regarding claims 43-45, Arai discloses a non-transitory computer program comprising computer readable instructions, which when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the method, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method, a metrology apparatus comprising the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (paragraph [0118]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DEORAM PERSAUD whose telephone number is (571)270-5476. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Minh-Toan Ton can be reached at 571-272-2303. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DEORAM PERSAUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/868,977 Page 2 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/868,977 Page 3 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/868,977 Page 4 Art Unit: 2882