DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The recited in claim 1 “an intensity of the magnetic field of the cusp magnetic field at an intersection of a plane having a same height as the magnetic field minimum plane and an inner wall of the quartz crucible from 800 to 1200 G” constitutes an indefinite subject matter. It is not clear what “an intersection of a plane having a same height as the magnetic field minimum plane” means; it is not clear what a plane refers to; it appears that magnetic field minimum plane comprises the intersection; it is not clear whether the intensity from 800 to 1200G is related to the magnetic field minimum plane or not. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 1 are not readily ascertainable. Clarification and/or correction are/is required. Claim 2 is rejected because it depends on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basak et al (US 20200216975 A1, “Basak”), and further in view of Lee et al (KR 20100015251 A, machine translation, “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Basak teaches a method for producing a silicon single crystal by a CZ method using a cusp magnetic field formed by an upper coil and a lower coil provided in a pulling furnace, wherein the silicon single crystal is pulled up in a cylindrical ingot (straight-body) step by setting a rotational rate of the silicon single crystal to 8 to 12 rpm (reading on 7 rpm or more and 12 rpm or less) (0039, 0050, 0060, 0061), a rotational rate of a quartz crucible to approximately 0.5 rpm to approximately 1.0 rpm (reading on 1.0 rpm or less) (0063, 0064), an intensity of the magnetic field of a cusp magnetic field an inner wall of a quartz crucible from 0.075 to 0.18 T (=750 to 1800G (reading on 800 to 1200 G) (0010, 0066, 0067). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); also see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Basak teaches the intensity of the magnetic field of the cusp magnetic field at the inner wall of the quartz crucible as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach a position of a magnetic field minimum plane of the cusp magnetic field in a range of 10 mm downward to 5 mm upward from a raw-material melt surface, and an intersection of a plane having a same height as the magnetic field minimum plane. However, Lee teaches a method, wherein a position of a zero gauss plane (magnetic field minimum plane) of a cusp magnetic field is in a range of -30mm to 60mm (overlapping a range of 10 mm downward to 5 mm upward) from a raw-material melt surface (abstract, pages 4, 6-8, claims 1 and 5); Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious. (MPEP 2144.05 I). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Basak per teachings of Lee in order to grow an improved crystals with reduced defect (Lee pages 3-4 and 7-8). Basak/Lee further teaches an intersection of a plane having a height and an inner wall of a crucible (figs 1 and 4), the strength, distribution and position/location/height of the cusp magnetic field being adjusted to control the amount of oxygen introduced into the single crystal and improve the quality of the single crystal (pages 2, 7 and claim 5). Thus it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified/optimized Basak/Lee, and obtained various heights including the instantly claimed “intersection of a plane having a same height as the magnetic field minimum plane and an inner wall of the quartz crucible” in order to control the amount of oxygen introduced into the single crystal and improve the quality of the single crystal. Further it is well-established that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basak/Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lu et al (US 20060144321 A1, “Lu”).
Regarding claim 2, as addressed above, Basak/Lee teaches a similar method for producing the silicon single crystal as instantly claimed. “the silicon single crystal being produced in which an oxygen concentration based on ASTM'79 is 2 x 1017 atoms/cm3 or less, and an ROG in a crystal cross-section at right angles to a growth direction of the silicon single crystal is 8 % or less” are reasonably expected because a similar process/method is expected to produce similar results/effects. A rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 538, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950). See MPEP 2143.02. Also, Basak/Lee teaches that an oxygen concentration is less than 3 ppma (1.5 x 1017 atoms/cm3 or less) (Basak 0077, 0079). Furthermore, Lu teaches a silicon crystal, wherein an oxygen gradient is less than 5% in a radial direction of the crystal (0061). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Basak/Lee per teachings of Lu in order to produce a crystal with carefully controlled quality, which is suitable for use in device manufacturing (Lu 0004, 0011-0015, 0045, 0061).
Conclusion
/HUA QI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714