Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9-11, 13-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steadman et al. (2010/0086100).
Regarding claim 1, Steadman discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions that is executable by at least one processor of an apparatus to cause the apparatus to perform a method comprising: enabling a first solid state current controlling device (SSCCD) of a first signal detection cell to be put into an on state in which the first SSCCD can conduct current from a charged particle sensing element of a charged particle counting detector; outputting a first current pulse from the charged particle sensing element in response to a first charged particle arriving at the charged particle sensing element,wherein the first current pulse triggers the first SSCCD to the on state; in response to the first SSCCD being triggered to the on state, conducting the first current pulse from an input to an output of the first SSCCD; and receiving a second enabling signal at a second signal detection cell comprising a second SSCCD, the second enabling signal being based on the first current pulse, wherein the second enabling signal enables the second SSCCD of the second signal detection cell to be put into the on state in which the second SSCCD can conduct current from the charged particle sensing element. (Steadman, abstract, Fig. 5 showing signal from 72 driving switches 28 to enable 18a-18m transferring signal from preamp 16)
Regarding claim 3, Steadman further discloses enabling the first SSCCD of the first signal detection cell comprises closing an enabling switch to couple a first control gate of the first SSCCD to an anode of the first SSCCD. (Steadman, Fig. 7, detail of region 74a, node connecting switch 28a to P1b, N1b, and inverted input of op-amp)
Regarding claim 4, Steadman further discloses the set of instructions that is executable by the at least one processor of the apparatus causes the apparatus to further perform: in response to the first current pulse exceeding a threshold, beginning to conduct current by the first SSCCD. (Steadman, [0030])
Regarding claim 5, Steadman further discloses the set of instructions that is executable by the at least one processor of the apparatus causes the apparatus to further perform: in response to the first current pulse falling below a threshold, ceasing to conduct current by the first SSCCD. (Steadman, [0035], [0061],[0062])
Regarding claim 9, Steadman further discloses the set of instructions that is executable by the at least one processor of the apparatus causes the apparatus to further perform: generating the second enabling signal based on the first current pulse. (Steadman, [0052]-[0054])
Regarding claim 10, Steadman further discloses the set of instructions that is executable by the at least one processor of the apparatus causes the apparatus to further perform:generating a detection result signal at an analog signal output of the first signal detection cell; andtransmitting the detection result signal to signal processing circuitry. (Fig. 5, output from 18a-18m through discriminators 20 to further output processing 30)
Regarding claim 11, Steadman further discloses the set of instructions that is executable by the at least one processor of the apparatus causes the apparatus to further perform:processing energy level information of the detection result signal at the signal processing circuitry. (Steadman, discriminators 20)
Regarding claim 13, Steadman further discloses the set of instructions that is executable by the at least one processor of the apparatus causes the apparatus to further perform:resetting the first signal detection cell to an initial state,wherein in the initial state, [[the]] a first control gate of the first signal detection cell is configured to be enabled by a further enabling signal. (Steadman, [0066])
Regarding claim 14, Steadman further discloses the set of instructions that is executable by the at least one processor of the apparatus causes the apparatus to further perform:bypassing a third signal detection cell comprising a third SSCCD by a bypass circuit of the third signal detection cell,wherein the bypass circuit is configured to cause signals to pass from an enabling signal input of the third signal detection cell to an enabling signal output of the third signal detection cell without enabling a third SSCCD of the third signal detection cell to be put into an on state in which the third SSCCD can conduct current from the charged particle sensing element. (Steadman, Fig. 5, more than three paths contemplated)
Regarding claim 15, Steadman discloses a charged particle counting detector, comprising:a charged particle sensing element configured to output a first current pulse in response to a first charged particle arriving at the charged particle sensing element;a first signal detection cell comprising a first solid state current controlling device (SSCCD) that is configured a) to be enabled, by a first enabling signal, to be put into an on state in which the first SSCCD can conduct current from the charged particle sensing element, b) to be triggered to the on state by the first current pulse, and c) to conduct the first current pulse to an output of the first SSCCD in response to the first SSCCD being triggered to the on state; anda second signal detection cell configured to receive a second enabling signal and comprising a second SSCCD that is configured to be enabled, by the second enabling signal, to be put into an on state in which the second SSCCD can conduct current from the charged particle sensing element. (Steadman, Fig. 5, see above with respect to claim 1)
Regarding claim 17, Steadman further discusses the first SSCCD of the first signal detection cell is configured to be enabled by closing an enabling switch to couple a first control gate of the first SSCCD to an anode of the first SSCCD. (Steadman, see above with respect to claim 3)
Regarding claim 18, Steadman further discusses the first signal detection cell is configured to receive the first enabling signal from a control unit. (Steadman, logic element 72)
Regarding claim 19, Steadman further discloses the first SSCCD is configured to begin conducting current in response to the first current pulse exceeding a threshold. (Steadman, [0059])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steadman in view of Muro (JP H06-302848A)(cited by Applicant).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Steadman lacks explicit teaching of the SSCCD comprises a thyristor.
Muro teaches the use of thyristors in photodetecting applications, and the substitution of one or more electronic components for thyristors would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the selection of a known component based on its suitability for the particular purpose, e.g., selectively allowing current flow.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, neither Steadman nor any prior art of record discloses the set of instructions that is executable by the at least one processor of the apparatus causes the apparatus to further perform: generating an operating status output signal based on the first current pulse.
Regarding claim 12, neither Steadman nor any prior art of record discloses the set of instructions that is executable by the at least one processor of the apparatus causes the apparatus to further perform:processing overflow information of the detection result signal at the signal processing circuitry.
Claim 20 is allowed.
Regarding claim 20, neither Steadman nor any other prior art of record discloses a signal detection cell for a charged particle counting detector, comprising: an enable signal input configured to receive a first enabling signal to enable the signal detection cell to detect a charged particle arrival signal from a charged particle sensing element; an analog signal input configured to receive the charged particle arrival signal from the charged particle sensing element; an operation status output configured to output an operation status signal based on the charged particle arrival signal; and an enable signal output configured to output a second enabling signal to be provided to a further signal detection cell based on the charged particle arrival signal.
Conclusion
/EDWIN C GUNBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884