Response to Amendment
Applicant’s preliminary amendments, filed 12/30/2024, have been fully considered and reviewed by the examiner. The examiner notes the amendment to the claims and the addition of new claim 14. Claims 1-14 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the main surface." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the claim receipt a “main face” but not a main surface and thus it is unclear if this is referring to the same surface or different surface.
Dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend and therefore are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021008742, hereinafter WO 742.
*** Please note US Patent Application Publication 20220247374 is the patent which issued from the national stage application based on WO 2021008742. This patent is being used as an English translation of WO 2021008742, therefore all references are found in US Patent Application Publication 20220247374 ***
Claim 1: WO 742 discloses a method for manufacturing a structure comprising a thin layer transferred onto a support via a dielectric layer, the support comprising an electric charge-trapping layer (3) arranged superficially on a base substrate (2) (Figure 1 and accompanying text, 0048), the method comprising:
forming a dielectric layer on an exposed surface of a main face of the support and/or on an exposed surface of a main face of a donor substrate (0048, 0059, 0075);
applying a surface treatment to the exposed surface of the main face of the support and/or to the exposed surface of the main face of the donor substrate to form thereon a barrier layer forming a barrier to diffusion of atomic species (0085-0087);
assembling the support and the donor substrate by their respective main faces to form an intermediate structure (0016); and removing at least part of the donor substrate from the intermediate structure to form the thin layer (0017);
wherein the surface treatment applied to at least one of the exposed surfaces comprises: exposing the exposed surface to a plasma comprising oxygen to form a damaged thickness beneath the main surface, and then exposing the exposed surface to a plasma comprising nitrogen to nitride the damaged thickness (0087, wherein the PECVD process including oxygen and nitrogen and thus meets this claim requirement of a surface treatment via a plasma comprising oxygen and then a plasma comprising nitrogen).
Claim 2: WO 742 discloses the donor substrate comprises lithium tantalate (0060) and while the reference does not disclose such is a monocrystalline piezoelectric material, the examiner notes a full reading of the instant application notes that “monocrystalline, can be semiconducting (e.g., silicon) or insulating (e.g., a piezoelectric material such as lithium tantalate..) and therefore the lithium tantalate is taught by specification as meeting the requirement monocrystalline piezoelectric material.
Claim 4: WO 742 discloses the base substrate is a monocrystalline silicon substrate (0052).
Claim 5: WO 742 discloses the dielectric layer comprises silicon oxide (0059, 0087)
Claim 6: WO 742 discloses the electric charge-trapping layer comprises polycrystalline silicon (0054).
Claim 7: WO 742 discloses the forming of the dielectric layer comprises oxidation of the electric charge-trapping layer (0081)
Claim 8-9: Claims as drafted include comprising language and the process as outlined by WO 742 reads on the broadly drafted claims (0087), specifically, PECVD process with oxygen and nitrogen plasma gas by its nature include some deposition of dielectric followed by surface treatment via a plasma comprising oxygen and then a plasma comprising nitrogen (claim 8) or surface treatment via a plasma comprising oxygen and then a plasma comprising nitrogen followed by some deposition of dielectric (claim 9).
Claim 10: WO 742 discloses nitrogen incorporation (0087).
Claim 11: WO 742 discloses the forming of the dielectric layer comprises forming at least part of the dielectric layer on the donor substrate (0075).
Claim 12-13: WO 742 discloses forming the dielectric layer on the donor substrate and depositing such by PECVD and thus meets the broadly drafts claims which include a process applying the surface treatment comprises applying the surface treatment to the exposed surface of the main face of the donor substrate and such a process of PECVD would meet the requirement of forming at least part of the dielectric layer on the donor substrate precedes the applying the surface treatment, see discussion at claims 8-9 above (0075-0076, 0087).
Claim 14: WO 742 discloses the silicon oxide of the dielectric layer incorporates nitrogen at a nitrogen/oxygen ratio of less than 0.5 (0087, see e.g. 0.01, 0.05, 0.25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 742 taken with US Patent Application Publication 20220336266 by Roumanie et al.
While the examiner maintains the position as set forth above, the examiner cites here Roumanie, discloses transferring from a donor substrate (0051) similar to that of WO 742 and discloses the donor substrate “is made from a second monocrystalline material, semiconductor material, such as silicon, SiC, Ge, InP, or GaAs or having piezoelectric properties, such as PZT, BaTiO3, LiNbO3, quartz, or LiTaO3” (0041) and therefore discloses using a piezoelectric material and monocrystalline donor substrate would have been obvious as predictable in the art of transferring a layer using a donor substrate and thus using a monocrystalline piezoelectric material as the donor substrate would have been obvious in view of Roumanie, which discloses the donor substrate as monocrystalline material and piezoelectric. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 742 taken with US Patent Application Publication 20150364367 by Gaudin.
WO 742 discloses all that is taught above and discloses a transferring a layer using a donor substrate; however, fails to explicitly disclose donor substrate is a monocrystalline silicon substrate. However, Gaudin, also in the art of a transferring a layer using a donor substrate and discloses the donor substrate is a monocrystalline silicon substrate ( see e.g. claim 30). Therefore, taking the references collectively and all that is known to one of ordinary skill in the art it would have been obvious to have modified WO 742 to use the donor substrate is a monocrystalline silicon substrate as suggested by Gaudin as both references deal with transferring a layer using a donor substrate and thus predictable results would follow from monocrystalline silicon substrate donor substrate. A predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions to achieve a predictable result is prima facie obvious. See KSR Int’l Inc. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S Ct. 1727, 1741, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Conclusion
/DAVID P TUROCY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718