Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 11, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested:
--Semiconductor Device Comprising A Spacer Structure Including First And Second Segments--
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,127,392, hereinafter the Prior Patent, in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 2021/0210493), hereinafter Kim.
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of Prior Patent
A semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate;
a bit line structure formed over and protruding from the substrate; a spacer structure formed on and extending along sidewall of the bit line structure, wherein the spacer structure includes: a first segment near a top of the spacer structure with a slope, and
a second segment beneath the first segment, consisting of the first spacer layer contacting the bit line structure, a second spacer layer contacting the first spacer layer, and the third spacer layer contacting the second spacer layer,
wherein the second segment is capped with the first segment; and
a landing pad disposed on the bit line structure and covering the slope.
A semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate;
a bit line structure formed over and protruding from the substrate; a spacer structure formed on and extending along sidewall of the bit line structure, wherein the spacer structure includes: a first segment near a top of the spacer structure with a slope; and
a second segment beneath the first segment, comprising a 3-layer structure,
(Within a spacer 3-layer structure, which is located on and extending along sidewall of the bit line structure, there is necessarily a layer identified as first spacer layer contacting the bit line structure. Similarly, in order to have a 3-layer structure, there must be a second spacer layer contacting the first spacer layer, and the third spacer layer contacting the second spacer layer)
wherein the second segment is capped with the first segment; and
a landing pad disposed on the bit line structure and covering the slope,
Claim 1 of Prior Patent does not explicitly define the structure such that:
[a first segment] consisting of a first spacer layer contacting the bit line structure and a third spacer layer contacting the first spacer layer;
Kim discloses a semiconductor device ((1); Figs. 11A-11D, Paragraph [0020]) comprising a substrate ((110); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0023]); a bit line structure ((140) comprising (147) and (148); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0043]) formed over and protruding from the substrate (110); a spacer structure ((150); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0049]) formed on and extending along sidewall of the bit line structure (140), wherein the spacer structure includes: a first segment (e.g. portion of (150) with slope, ‘first segment’), wherein the first segment (‘first segment’) consists of:
- a first spacer layer ((152); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0047]) contacting the bit line structure (140) and a third spacer layer ((158); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0047]) contacting the first spacer layer (152).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the claimed device of Claim 1 of Prior Patent such that the spacer structure includes a first segment consisting of a first spacer layer contacting the bit line structure and a third spacer layer contacting the first spacer layer. This would be due to the fact that doing so would produce the predictable result of incorporating a viable spacer structure composition into a device configured for DRAM operations.
Claim 2 of Instant Application
Claim 2 of Prior Patent As Modified By Kim
The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein the first spacer layer, the second spacer layer and the third spacer layer of the second segment are formed as a 3-layer structure,
and the 3-layer structure comprises at least two different materials.
The semiconductor device of claim 1,
[a second segment beneath the first segment, comprising a 3-layer structure,]
(As identified in the Claim 1 rejection above above)
wherein the 3-layer structure comprises at least two different materials.
Claim 3 of Instant Application
Claim 3 of Prior Patent As Modified By Kim
The semiconductor device of claim 2,
wherein the 3-layer structure comprises an oxide layer in the middle thereof.
The semiconductor device of claim 2,
wherein the 3-layer structure comprises an oxide layer in the middle thereof.
Claim 4 of Instant Application
Claim 4 of Prior Patent As Modified By Kim
The semiconductor device of claim 2,
wherein the second spacer layer is an air gap.
The semiconductor device of claim 2,
wherein the 3-layer structure comprises an air gap in the middle thereof.
(Here, where the middle layer is identified as the second spacer layer, as in the rejection of Claim 1 above, the same limitation is present. See also Kim, Fig. 11A, Paragraphs [0095] and [0090]
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 4 of Prior Patent as modified by Kim does not teach:
-an insulating layer disposed on the air gap and overlying the landing pad and the bit line structure.
Kim further teaches:
-an insulating layer ((195); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0111]) disposed on the air gap ((AS); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0099]) and overlying the landing pad ((194); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0069]) and the bit line structure (140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the claimed device of Claim 1 of Prior Patent such that it further comprises an insulating layer disposed on the air gap and overlying the landing pad and the bit line structure. This would be due to the fact that doing so would produce the predictable result of incorporating an in insulating material between adjacent landing pads, thereby defining individual bit connections (See also Kim, Paragraph [0108])
Claim 6 of Instant Application
Claim 5 of Prior Patent As Modified By Kim
The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein the first spacer layer and the third spacer layer of the first segment are formed as a 2-layer structure.
The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein the first segment comprises a 2-layer structure. (Wherein the first segment contains the first spacer layer and the third spacer layer, as in the rejection of Claim 1)
Claim 7 of Instant Application
Claim 6 of Prior Patent As Modified By Kim
The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein a width of the first segment is gradually decreased from an interface with the second segment to the top of the first segment.
The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein a width of the first segment is gradually decreased from an interface with the second segment to the top of the first segment.
Claim 8 of Instant Application
Claim 7 of Prior Patent As Modified By Kim
The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein a ratio of a width of a top of the first segment to a width of a top of the second segment is in a range between 20% and 50%.
The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein a ratio of a width of a top of the first segment to a width of a top of the second segment is in a range between 20% and 50%.
Claim 9 of Instant Application
Claim 8 of Prior Patent As Modified By Kim
The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein a difference between a width of a top of the first segment and a width of a top of the second segment is in a range between 5 nm and 8 nm.
The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein a difference between a width of a top of the first segment and a width of a top of the second segment is in a range between 5 nm and 8 nm.
Claim 10 of Instant Application
Claim 9 of Prior Patent As Modified By Kim
The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein a vertical length of the first segment is between 15 nm and 35 nm.
The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein a vertical length of the first segment is between 15 nm and 35 nm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a semiconductor device ((1); Figs. 11A-11D, Paragraph [0020]) comprising:
-a substrate ((110); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0023]);
-a bit line structure ((140) comprising (147) and (148); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0043]) formed over and protruding from the substrate (110);
-a spacer structure ((150); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0049]) formed on and extending along sidewall of the bit line structure (140), wherein the spacer structure includes:
-a first segment near a top of the spacer structure with a slope (e.g. portion of (150) with slope, hereinafter ‘1S’), consisting of:
- a first spacer layer ((152); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0047]) contacting the bit line structure (140) and a third spacer layer ((158); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0047]) contacting the first spacer layer (152); and
-a second segment (e.g. portion of (150) without slope, hereinafter ‘2S’) beneath the first segment (1S), consisting of
-the first spacer layer (152) contacting the bit line structure (140), a second spacer layer ((154)/(AS); Figs. 11A and 8A, Paragraphs [0048] and [0099], Kim provides embodiments wherein the second spacer layer is either an oxide film or an air spacer) contacting the first spacer layer (152), and the third spacer layer ((158); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0047]) contacting the second spacer layer ((154)/(AS)),
(Examiner notes “contacting” does not preclude intervening layers and further more Kim provides for an embodiment for the spacer structure wherein only elements (152), (154)/(AS), and (158) are present (i.e. no element (156)- See Paragraph [0047]))
wherein
-the second segment (2S) is capped with the first segment (1S); and
-a landing pad ((190); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0069]) disposed on the bit line structure (140) and covering the slope (slope of (1S)).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim teaches the semiconductor device ((1); Figs. 11A-11D, Paragraph [0020]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-the first spacer layer (152), the second spacer layer ((154)/(AS)) and the third spacer layer (158) of the second segment (2S) are formed as a 3-layer structure (Paragraph [0047], hereinafter ‘3L’), and the 3-layer structure comprises at least two different materials (Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim teaches the semiconductor device ((1); Figs. 11A-11D, Paragraph [0020]) of Claim 2, wherein:
-the 3-layer structure (3L) comprises an oxide layer in the middle thereof (i.e. (154)/(AS) is an oxide, Paragraph [0048].
Regarding Claim 4, Kim teaches the semiconductor device ((1); Figs. 11A-11D, Paragraph [0020]) of Claim 2, wherein:
-the second spacer layer is an air gap (i.e. (154/(AS) is an air gap, Paragraph [0099] .
Regarding Claim 5, Kim teaches the semiconductor device ((1); Figs. 11A-11D, Paragraph [0020]) of Claim 4, further comprising:
-an insulating layer ((195); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0111]) disposed on the air gap ((AS); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0099]) and overlying the landing pad ((194); Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0069]) and the bit line structure (140).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim teaches the semiconductor device ((1); Figs. 11A-11D, Paragraph [0020]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-the first spacer layer (152) and the third spacer layer (158) of the first segment (1S) are formed as a 2-layer structure (Paragraph [0047]).
(Examiner notes the two-layer structure may be a subset of the three-layer structure)
Regarding Claim 7, Kim teaches the semiconductor device ((1); Figs. 11A-11D, Paragraph [0020]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-a width (e.g. in the X-direction of Fig. 11A) of the first segment (1S) is gradually decreased from an interface with the second segment (2S) to the top of the first segment (top of (1S)) (i.e. along the Z-direction of Fig. 11A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Simsek-Ege et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0066729), hereinafter Simsek-Ege.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim teaches the semiconductor device ((1); Figs. 11A-11D, Paragraph [0020]) of Claim 1, upon which it depends, but fails to specifically disclose:
-a ratio of a width of a top of the first segment to a width of a top of the second segment is in a range between 20% and 50%.
Simsek-Ege teaches a semiconductor device ((100); Figs. 10, Paragraph [0020]) wherein:
-a ratio of a width of a top of the first segment segment (consisting of e.g. 4 nm (108) and 2 nm of (130)/(128); Fig. 10, Paragraphs [0025] and [0031]) to a width of a top of the second segment (consisting of e.g. 4nm of (110)/(148), 2 nm of (108), and 6 nm of (112); Paragraphs [0026] and [0027]) is in a range between 20% and 50% (in this case, 6 nm : 12 nm, a ratio of 50%).
Examiner notes Simsek-Ege provides a wide range of applicable thicknesses for the various layers that make up the spacer structure and the above cited dimensions are one example of viable width ratios between 20% to 50% to maintain desired electrical properties.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Simsek-Ege into the device of Kim such that a ratio of a width of a top of the first segment to a width of a top of the second segment is in a range between 20% and 50%. This would be due to the fact that doing so would produce the predictable result of incorporating a viable spacer structure dimensions into a device configured for DRAM operations.
Regarding Claim 9, Kim teaches the semiconductor device ((1); Figs. 11A-11D, Paragraph [0020]) of Claim 1, upon which it depends, but fails to specifically disclose:
-a difference between a width of a top of the first segment and a width of a top of the second segment is in a range between 5 nm and 8 nm.
Simsek-Ege teaches a semiconductor device ((100); Figs. 10, Paragraph [0020]) wherein:
-a difference between a width of a top of the first segment (consisting of e.g. 4 nm (108) and 2 nm of (130)/(128); Paragraphs [0025] and [0031]) and a width of a top of the second segment (consisting of e.g. 4nm of (110)/(148), 2 nm of (108), and 6 nm of (112); Paragraphs [0026] and [0027]) is in a range between 5 nm and 8 nm (effectively just difference of thickness of (112), i.e. 6nm).
Examiner notes Simsek-Ege provides a wide range of applicable thicknesses for the various layers that make up the spacer structure and the above cited dimensions are one example of viable widths to maintain desired electrical properties.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Simsek-Ege into the device of Kim such that a difference between a width of a top of the first segment and a width of a top of the second segment is in a range between 5 nm and 8 nm. This would be due to the fact that doing so would produce the predictable result of incorporating a viable spacer structure dimensions into a device configured for DRAM operations.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim teaches the semiconductor device ((1); Figs. 11A-11D, Paragraph [0020]) of Claim 1, upon which it depends, but fails to specifically disclose:
-a vertical length of the first segment is between 15 nm and 35 nm.
Simsek-Ege teaches a semiconductor device ((100); Figs. 10, Paragraph [0020]) wherein:
-a vertical length ((D2); Fig. 10, Paragraph [0029]) of the first segment (corresponding to portion of spacer structure curved in and above) is between 15 nm and 35 nm (e.g. 20 nm, Paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Simsek-Ege into the device of Kim such that a vertical length of the first segment is between 15 nm and 35 nm. This would be due to the fact that doing so would produce the predictable result of incorporating a viable spacer structure dimensions into a device configured for DRAM operations.
Conclusion
/DMITRI MIHALIOV/ Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812