DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2021/021531A1 to Hudson et al. in view of KR2007-0002252A to Yoon (see machine translation).
As to claim 1, Hudson discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a plasma container (see Hudson paragraph [0079] disclosing plasma chamber 202); a stage provided inside the processing container, the stage having a substrate placement surface and a ring-member placement surface surrounding an outer periphery of the substrate placement surface with a ring placed on the ring-member placement surface (see Hudson paragraph [0080] disclosing chuck 106 and edge ring 102); a first elevating mechanism including first lift pins configured to support a substrate (see Hudson paragraphs [0120]-[0122] disclosing lift pins 326A and 326B to support the substrate); a controller (see Hudson paragraph [0038]), the controller is configured to execute an operation (a) of cleaning an interior of the processing chamber using plasma in a state where a dummy substrate is supported on the first lift pins by controlling the first elevating mechanism (see Hudson paragraph [0124]).
Hudson does not explicitly disclose a second elevating mechanism including second lift pins configured to support the ring and wherein the controller is configured to execute an operation (b) of cleaning the interior of the processing container using the plasma in a state where the ring is supported on the second lift pins by controlling the second elevating mechanism. Yoon discloses a similar plasma processing apparatus comprising an elevating mechanism including lift pints configured to support the ring and wherein the controller is configured to execute an operation of cleaning the interior of the processing container using the plasma in a state where the ring is supported on the lift pins by controlling the second elevating mechanism (see Yoon machine translation pages 9-10 and 14-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Hudson to include a second elevating mechanism including second lift pins configured to support the ring and wherein the controller is configured to execute an operation (b) of cleaning the interior of the processing container using the plasma in a state where the ring is supported on the second lift pins by controlling the second elevating mechanism as disclosed by Yoon in order to efficiently clean the ring and prevent contaminants from falling on the substrate being processed (see Yoon machine translation pages 9-10 and 15-16).
As to claim 2, the combination of Hudson and Yoon discloses that the cleaning of the processing container can be performed in a state where the substrate is not provided inside the processing container (see Hudson Fig. 2C where a cleaning process can be performed without a substrate on the chuck or Fig. 3B where a dummy substrate can be used (but not the substrate to be processed); see also Yoon machine translation page 14 where the cleaning process can be performed between the end of one process and the beginning of the subsequent process).
As to claim 3, the combination of Hudson and Yoon discloses that the controller can be configured to further execute an operation (d) of cleaning the interior of the processing container in a state where the dummy substrate is placed on the substrate placement surface inside the processing container (see Hudson Fig.3B top diagram).
As to claim 4, as discussed in the above rejections to claims 2 and 3, the combination of Hudson and Yoon discloses that the cleaning of the processing container can be performed in a state where the substrate is not provided inside the processing container (see Hudson Fig. 2C where a cleaning process can be performed without a substrate on the chuck or Fig. 3B where a dummy substrate can be used (but not the substrate to be processed); see also Yoon machine translation page 14 where the cleaning process can be performed between the end of one process and the beginning of the subsequent process). Furthermore, the combination of Hudson and Yoon discloses that the controller can be configured to further execute an operation (d) of cleaning the interior of the processing container in a state where the dummy substrate is placed on the substrate placement surface inside the processing container (see Hudson Fig.3B top diagram where it is also noted that the dummy substrate is used and not the substrate to be processed).
As to claim 5, the combination of Hudson and Yoon discloses the operation (a) and the operation (b) as discussed in the rejection to claim 1 above. It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the operations could be performed simultaneously in order to optimize cleaning time where it is also noted that selection of any order of performing steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of a new and unexpected results. Consult In re Burnhans, 154F.2d690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). Consult also Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd.App.1959) were prior art reference discloses a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art order steps.
As to claims 6 and 7, Yoon discloses that the substrate can be smaller than an inner diameter of the ring (see Yoon machine translation page 13 where the focus ring is provided on the side of the substrate and supports the edge of the substrate and see Fig. 1 where the focus ring has a wider diameter than chuck 142; see also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) where changes in size/proportion is prima facie obvious). Thus, the combination of Hudson and Yoon is fully capable of executing the operation of cleaning the interior of the processing container in a state where the dummy substrate is placed on the substrate placement surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is WO2021/021531A1 to Hudson et al. and KR2007-0002252A to Yoon.
Hudson and Yoon are discussed in the above rejections to claims 1-7. The cited prior art does not disclose that the controller is configured to perform the additional operations (b-1) to (b-4) in operation (b) as recited in claim 8. Furthermore, the cited prior art does not disclose that the controller is configured to perform the additional operations (a-1) to (a-4) in operation (a) as recited in claim 9.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714