DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 11-17, 21-33 in the reply filed on 3/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13, 15-17, 21-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tam (US 2023/0012853) in view of Orenstein (US 2022/0135029), and Kinoshita (US 2022/0161787)
As to claim 11 discloses a method for controlling an autonomous vehicle, the method comprising:
determining, by one or more processors, an uncertainty value for an object detected by the autonomous vehicle, the object being external to the autonomous vehicle(Paragraph 126 “Referring again to FIG. 6, it can be determined whether the vehicle 602 can pass the hazard zone given a distance between the right and left hard boundaries of the bins 616, 618. The distance should be larger than a threshold distance for the vehicle 602 to pass, where the threshold distance can be related to a width of the vehicle 602 (e.g., at least 1.2, 1.5, etc., time the width of the vehicle 602). In an example, a distance 620 between the boundary 614 of the hazard zone (e.g., target lateral constraint) and the left lane boundary 608 may be too narrow for the vehicle 602 to drive (i.e., fit) through. If the left lane boundary 608 were the limit of the drivable area (e.g., because it is a hard boundary—physically, legally, or otherwise), a location 622 corresponding to the bin 616 is a static blockage. That is, the vehicle 602 cannot pass the object(s) represented by the boundary points of the bins 616, 618. Accordingly, the object avoidance layer 406 can adjust the discrete-time speed plan to stop the vehicle before or upon reaching the location 622. ”),
determining, by the one or more processors, a lateral gap threshold for the object based on the uncertainty value and a baseline lateral gap threshold(Paragraph 126 “Referring again to FIG. 6, it can be determined whether the vehicle 602 can pass the hazard zone given a distance between the right and left hard boundaries of the bins 616, 618. The distance should be larger than a threshold distance for the vehicle 602 to pass, where the threshold distance can be related to a width of the vehicle 602 (e.g., at least 1.2, 1.5, etc., time the width of the vehicle 602). In an example, a distance 620 between the boundary 614 of the hazard zone (e.g., target lateral constraint) and the left lane boundary 608 may be too narrow for the vehicle 602 to drive (i.e., fit) through. If the left lane boundary 608 were the limit of the drivable area (e.g., because it is a hard boundary—physically, legally, or otherwise), a location 622 corresponding to the bin 616 is a static blockage. That is, the vehicle 602 cannot pass the object(s) represented by the boundary points of the bins 616, 618. Accordingly, the object avoidance layer 406 can adjust the discrete-time speed plan to stop the vehicle before or upon reaching the location 622. ”); and
controlling, by the one or more processors, the autonomous vehicle in an autonomous driving mode based on the lateral gap threshold for the object(Paragraph 111-112 “Although described herein at times with reference to an autonomous vehicle, the methods and apparatus described herein may be implemented in any vehicle capable of autonomous or semi-autonomous operation, such as one including an ADAS. Although described with reference to a vehicle transportation network, the method and apparatus described herein may include the vehicle operating in any area navigable by the vehicle. In brief, the method 500 for proactively mitigating risk to a vehicle traversing a vehicle transportation network can include determining respective hazard zones for detected hazard objects, which hazard zones respectively define a target lateral constraint associated with the hazard object, e.g., based on its state as a static hazard object (also referred to as a static object) or as a dynamic hazard object (also referred to as a dynamic object). A target lateral constraint may be one that allows the vehicle to avoid the hazard object without a speed constraint (e.g., without modifying the current time speed plan). Lateral buffer algorithms may be used where hazard zones are present in the same discretized time and location (e.g., they overlap in the longitudinal direction) to determine a final size of lateral buffers. The allocation may be determined based on a cost function that optimizes for risk posed by the hazard objects, including the target lateral constraints, as described in more detail below”)..
Tam does not explicitly disclose determining of the uncertainty value being based at least in part on cross-track error defined for a current location of the autonomous vehicle;
Orenstein teaches determining of the uncertainty value being based at least in part on cross-track error defined for a current location of the autonomous vehicle (Paragraph 50-52 “In some examples, the model component 104 may determine the probability for an object path to intersect with a trajectory of the vehicle 102 based at least in part on one or more uncertainty values associated with one or more of: an object position, an object acceleration, an object velocity, an acceleration of the vehicle, etc. For instance, uncertainty values may be determined to account for deviations in position, velocity, and/or acceleration that the object and/or the vehicle may follow at a future time. In at least some examples, such uncertainties may be associated with errors in the models for perception and/or prediction.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Tam to include the teachings of determining an error value for a boundary of an object for the purpose of avoiding collision between the vehicle and the object.
Tam does not explicitly disclose a baseline lateral gap threshold, wherein the lateral gap threshold defines a margin of safety of driving next to the object.
Kinoshita teaches a baseline lateral gap threshold, wherein the lateral gap threshold defines a margin of safety of driving next to the object (Paragraph 139 “First, a unit gap Gs[i] related to the object 5[i] will be described. The unit gap Gs[i] is a lateral distance between the vehicle 1 and the object 5[i] and is a lateral distance at which the occupant does not feel uneasy when the vehicle 1 passes by the object 5[i]. That is, the unit gap Gs[i] is a target lateral distance. The unit gap Gs[i] is determined in advance for each object 5[i]. The unit gap Gs[i] may be a predetermined value different for each type of the object 5. For example, the unit gap Gs (e.g., 3 m) in the case where the object 5 is a pedestrian is larger than the unit gap Gs (e.g., 2 m) in the case where the object 5 is a parked vehicle. The unit gap Gs[i] may be set based on the distribution parameter σy (see FIG. 5) of the obstacle potential field Uo[i]. The information of the unit gap Gs[i] is included in the above-mentioned potential function information 300, for example.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Tam to include the teachings of a baseline lateral gap threshold for the purpose of avoiding collision between the vehicle and the object.
As to claim 12 Kamenev teaches a method wherein the cross-track error is a mean value or a standard deviation value (Paragraph 77).
As to claim 13 Tam discloses a method further comprising determining the baseline lateral gap threshold based on current driving conditions (Paragraph 185).
As to claim 15 Tam discloses a method wherein the current driving conditions include whether the autonomous vehicle is driving in an urban area (Paragraph 107).
As to claim 16 Tam discloses a method wherein the current driving conditions include whether the autonomous vehicle is driving in a suburban area(Paragraph 107).
As to claim 17 discloses a method further comprising determining the baseline lateral gap threshold based on a type of the object(Paragraph 134)..
As to claim 21 Tam discloses a method wherein determining the lateral gap threshold for the object further includes identifying an interaction threshold corresponding to a predetermined percentage of an expected interaction rate with objects (Paragraph 39).
As to claim 22 Tam discloses a method wherein identifying the interaction threshold is based on a type of the object (Paragraph 134).
As to claim 23 Tam discloses a method wherein controlling the autonomous vehicle further includes:
attempting to solve for a trajectory that meets the lateral gap threshold for the object (Abstract); and
when a trajectory that meets the lateral gap threshold for the object cannot be solved for, adjusting the baseline lateral gap threshold to determine an adjusted lateral gap threshold until a trajectory that meets the adjusted lateral gap threshold for the object is found (Paragraph 8).
As to claim 24 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 11.
As to claim 25 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 12.
As to claim 26 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 13.
As to claim 28 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 17.
As to claim 29 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 21.
As to claim 30 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 22.
As to claim 31 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 23.
As to claim 32 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 11.
As to claim 33 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 11.
Claims 14, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tam (US 2023/0012853) in view of Orenstein (US 2022/0135029), and Kinoshita (US 2022/0161787), as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Bagschik (US 2021/0094540)
As to claim 14 Bagschik teaches a method wherein the current driving conditions include whether it is currently precipitating in a driving environment of the autonomous vehicle (Paragraph 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Tam to include the teachings of determining the driving conditions of the environment for the purpose of safely navigating the vehicle along the route.
As to claim 27 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 14-16.
Conclusion
IMRAN K. MUSTAFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
/IMRAN K MUSTAFA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668
3/23/2026