DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/22/2026 has been entered into this application. Claims 2, 4, 6, 9, 22, 23 and 26 are cancelled. Claims 27-29 are added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 10-21, 24, 25 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freudenthal et al. (2016/0116397 A1, previously cited reference) in view of Zhang (2022/0034791 A1, previously cited reference).
Regarding claim 1, Freudenthal teaches of a sample characterization system for interrogating a sample is included in a system for imaging polarization properties of optical-material samples (figs. 1, 4, 6, 7 and 8), said system comprising:
a light source a light source 17/40/50 configured to output a beam to be directed to said sample 30/430 such that light emanates from said sample 30/430;
a polarization state generator a photoelastic modulator(s) (“PEM”) 20/54 positioned to receive the beam output by the light source light source 17/40/50 to provide a plurality of different polarization states to said laser light beam that is incident on said sample 30/430 [pars. 0019, 0036-39]; and
a detector array CCD(s) 29/48 comprising a plurality of detectors CCD pixels 48/multi-pixel imaging device 48 having differently oriented linear polarizers is having different polarization effect 27/427/627 in front of different detectors the multi-pixel imaging device 48 and a plurality of retarders 23/627/623/625 disposed in front of said differently oriented linear polarizers such that said light emanated from said sample passes through said plurality of retarders, said differently oriented linear polarizers having different polarization effect, and to said plurality of detectors [pars 0112-0114].
wherein said laser light source is configured such that said light emanated from said sample comprises nonlinearly generated light generated via a nonlinear optical interaction of said laser beam with the sample is obviously wherein polarization-modulated light beams are passed through a selected location of the sample optical element/transparent optical material wherein the beam's intensity (electric field strength) is sufficiently high, modulating the polarization of light is the primary method used to control this/these exact nonlinear interactions [pars. 0014], high-intensity beams (like pulsed light/high intensity light/ higher harmonics) force a nonlinear response in the material's polarization density (Freudenthal, [pars. 0057, 0111, 0133, 0142] claim 6) “reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure, In re BODE et al, 193 USPQ 12 at 16 (CCPA, 1977).”
Freudenthal fails to explicitly specify that the light source(s) is a laser type light source configured to output a laser beam to be directed to said sample such that light emanates from said sample and fails to specify that the plurality of retarders is/are disposed in front of said differently oriented linear polarizers such that said light emanated from said sample passes through said plurality of retarders is/are in the detection/receiving/image arm/path.
Zhang from the same field of from the same field of endeavor teaches of using laser source light source 3 as a light source configured to output a laser beam to be directed to said sample such that light emanates from said sample and specify that the plurality of retarders rotating retarder 17 and/or two variable retarders is/are disposed in front of said differently oriented linear polarizers (15) such that said light emanated from said sample passes through said plurality of retarders is/are in the detection/receiving path is known in the art, Zang (Zang, (figs. 1, 3-13) [pars. 0035, 0045, 0052-53]), it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Freudenthal light source with laser light source and incorporate plurality of retarders that is/are disposed in the detection/receiving/image arm/path such as in in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim, in view of the teaching of Zang (Zang, [pars. 0035, 0041, 0045, 0052-53]) for enhanced and increased imaging speed that is especially important for imaging of a dynamically evolving sample.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Freudenthal in view of in view of the teaching of Zang to incorporate the constructional/structural change(s) such as in in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim, since the propose modification of the prior art would not change the principle of operation of the prior art invention being modified in order to in order to enhanced and increased imaging speed that is especially important for imaging of a dynamically evolving sample, as per teaching of Zang (Zang, [pars. 0035, 0041, 0045, 0052-53]). In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Freudenthal light source with laser light source and incorporate plurality of retarders that is disposed is/are in the detection/receiving/image arm/path such as in in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim, in view of the teaching of Zang (Zang, [pars. 0035, 0041, 0045, 0052-53]) for enhanced and increased imaging speed that is especially important for imaging of a dynamically evolving sample, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, and since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
For the purposes of clarity, a nonlinear optical interaction occurs when the optical properties (such as the refractive index or polarization density) of a material change in a non-proportional way in response to intense light, typically from a laser. In linear optics, a material's response is directly proportional to the electric field of the incoming light; in nonlinear optics, high light intensities activate higher-order terms in the material's polarization expansion, “knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988)”.
As to claim 3, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal wherein said nonlinearly generated light comprises high-intensity beams (like pulsed light/high intensity light/ higher harmonics) force a nonlinear response in the material's polarization density (Freudenthal, [pars. 0057, 0111, 0133, 0142] claim 6), higher harmonics includes second harmonic generation (SHG) light having an optical frequency twice that of the laser beam
As to claims 5, 7 and 8, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of limitations such as wherein said polarization state generator photoelastic modulator (“PEM”) 20 comprises a retarder configured to be varied to vary phase differences introduced in orthogonal polarizations passing through the retarder [pars. 0036, 0089] (claim 5); wherein said polarization state generator comprises a photoelastic modulator (“PEM”) (claim 7); and wherein said polarization state generator is configured to provide variation in polarization states without relying on moving parts, as can be seen in depicted drawing (Freudenthal, figs. 1, 4, 6, 7 and 8) (claim 8).
As to claim 10, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of wherein said differently oriented linear polarizers include linear polarizers orientated at 0o, 90o, 45o, and 135o with respect to rows of detectors in said detector array as can be seen in depicted drawing (Freudenthal, figs. 1, 4, 6, 7 and 8) [pars. 0035, 0037, 0039, 0094].
As to claim 11, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of wherein said differently oriented linear polarizers include linear polarizers orientated horizontally, vertically, along a first diagonal, and along a second diagonal opposite to the first diagonal with respect to rows of detectors in said detector array (Freudenthal, [pars. 0003, 0005, 0042-43]).
As to claim 12, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of wherein said detector array CCD 48 is included in a polarization sensing camera (PSC) detecting optical components 46 detecting different polarization effect, as can be seen in depicted drawing (fig. 8), (Freudenthal, [pars. 0110-114]).
As to claims 13 and 14, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of wherein at least one retarder of the plurality of retarders comprises a plurality of half-wave retarders and quarter-wave retarders (claim 13) [pars. 0061, 0089, 0092]; and wherein a half-wave retarder is paired with each of a plurality of four differently oriented linear polarizers (claim 14) (Freudenthal, figs. 1, 4, 6, 7 and 8) [pars. 0035, 0037, 0039, 0094]. Further, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Zang also teaches of wherein at least one retarder of the plurality of retarders comprises a plurality of half-wave retarders and quarter-wave retarders; and wherein a half-wave retarder is paired with each of a plurality of four differently oriented linear polarizers Zang (Zang, [pars. 0041, 0045 and 0084]).
As to claim 15, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of wherein a quarter-wave retarder is paired with each of a plurality of four differently oriented linear polarizers (Freudenthal, figs. 1, 4, 6, 7 and 8) [pars. 0035, 0037, 0039, 0094]. Further, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Zang also teaches of wherein a quarter-wave retarder is paired with each of a plurality of four differently oriented linear polarizers Zang (Zang, [pars. 0041, 0045 and 0084]).
As to claim 16, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of wherein said plurality of retarders comprises a liquid crystal 2D phase array comprising a plurality of retarders (Freudenthal, [pars. 0010, 0036]). Further, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Zang also teaches of wherein said plurality of retarders comprises a liquid crystal 2D phase array comprising a plurality of retarders Zang (Zang, [pars. 0040-41, 0045])
As to claim 17, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of wherein said liquid crystal 2D phase array comprises pixels CCD pixels configured to be set to half-wave and quarter-wave retardance (Freudenthal, [pars. 0010, 0036]) (Freudenthal, figs. 1, 4, 6, 7 and 8) [pars. 0035, 0037, 0039, 0094].
As to claim 18, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of wherein a half-wave retardance pixel is paired with each of a plurality of four differently oriented (i.e. at 0o, 90o, 45o, and 135o) linear polarizers as can be seen in depicted drawing (Freudenthal, figs. 1, 4, 6, 7 and 8) [pars. 0035, 0037, 0039, 0094]. Further, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Zang also teaches of wherein a half-wave retardance pixel is paired with each of a plurality of four differently oriented linear polarizers Zang (Zang, [pars. 0041, 0045 and 0084]).
As to claim 19, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of wherein a quarter-wave retardance pixel is paired with each of a plurality of four differently oriented (i.e. at 0o, 90o, 45o, and 135o) linear polarizers, as can be seen in depicted drawing (Freudenthal, figs. 1, 4, 6, 7 and 8) [pars. 0035, 0037, 0039, 0094]. Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Zang also teaches of wherein a quarter-wave retardance pixel is paired with each of a plurality of four differently oriented linear polarizers Zang (Zang, [pars. 0041, 0045 and 0084]).
As to claims 20 and 21, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of wherein signals from said plurality of detectors provide information for determining a Stokes vector is/are imaging Stokes parameters of the sample (Freudenthal, [pars. 0061, 0080, 0082]) (claim 20); and wherein signals from said plurality of detectors provide information for determining four Stokes parameters, So, Si, S2, S3 (claim 21) (Freudenthal, [pars. 0061, 0080, 0082]).
As to claim 24, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of wherein a nonlinear susceptibility tensor can be derived from said Stokes vector and a Mueller Matrix can be derived from said nonlinear susceptibility tensor (Freudenthal, [pars. 0041, 0043, 0089, 0090, 0092]).
As to claim 25, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of the system of a sample characterization system for interrogating a sample is included in a system for imaging polarization properties of optical-material samples (figs. 1, 4, 6, 7 and 8), as applied to claim 1, that such a system provides simultaneous imaging of both the in-plane and out-of-plane birefringence properties of a sample over a wide range of incidence angles and the system is use in determining property/ies of many optical materials during production [pars. 0002-4] and are used in high-precision instruments employed in semiconductor and other industries included in-line of a semiconductor fabrication line [par. 0007].
As to claim 27, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Zang further teaches of limitations such as, wherein the laser beam output by the laser light source incident on the sample implicitly has an optical power, intensity, or pulse energy such that the nonlinearly generated light emanating from the sample has an optical power, intensity, or pulse energy sufficient to generate detector signals from said detector array having a signal-to-noise ratio larger than 0 dB (Zang, [pars. 0035, 0045, 0052, 0056]).
As to claim 28, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Freudenthal further teaches of limitations such as, wherein the nonlinearly generated light comprises an optical frequency different from an optical frequency of the laser beam (a modulation frequency (for example, 47 kHz) that is different from the modulation frequency of the first PEM 20) [pars. 0020-21, 0039].
As to claim 29, Freudenthal when modified by Zang, Zang further teaches of limitations such as, a wavelength filter configured to remove reflection of the laser beam output by the laser light source directed to the sample and provide the nonlinear generated light resulting from the nonlinear optical interaction (Zang, [pars. 0044, 0048, 0052]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks, (see pages 5-8), filed on 09/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments:
a) Applicant argues that Applicant submits that the Office Action has not established that the combination of features recited in amended independent Claim 1 are taught or suggested by the cited art. For example, the Office Action has not established that Freudenthal individually or combined with Zhang teach or disclose or renders obvious at least: ………………………… ………………………………. ………… ………………………… ……………………………………………… ……………………….. …………………………. “wherein said laser light source is configured such that said light emanated from said sample comprises nonlinearly generated light generated via a nonlinear optical interaction of said laser beam with the sample.”, as recited in amended Claim 1 (emphasis added).
Applicant argues that The Office Action, for example, has not established where and how Freudenthal teaches or suggests a laser light source "configured such that said light emanated from said sample comprises nonlinearly generated light generated via a nonlinear optical interaction of said laser beam with the sample", as recited in the amended claim 1 (emphasis added).
Applicant argues citing portion/section of the primary reference Freudenthal disclosure that …………………. …, Freudenthal describes rays emanated from the sample that are collimated and then detected by a multi-pixel imaging device. …………………, Applicant questions where Freudenthal teaches or suggests that the light source optical components 40 are configured such that rays emanated from the sample 30 "comprises nonlinearly generated light generated via a nonlinear optical interaction of said laser beam with the sample", as recited in the amended Claim 1 (emphasis added).
Applicant argues that Zhang likewise does not remedy this deficiency. In particular, Zhang does not appear to cure the deficiency of Freudenthal with respect to a laser light source configured to produce nonlinearly generated light.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that independent Claim 1, as amended, is patentable over Freudenthal and Zhang. Therefore, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Examiner's response:
With respect to argument (a), it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that this argument is not persuasive because the rejection was made as 103 not 102 and the examiner did recognize that obviousness can only be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988) and In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
In this case, reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure, In re BODE et al, 193 USPQ 12 at 16 (CCPA, 1977) the examiner recognized that the concept of nonlinear optical interaction occurs when the optical properties (such as the refractive index or polarization density) of a material change in a non-proportional way in response to intense light, …….. and in nonlinear optics, nonlinear optical interaction occurs when high light intensities activate higher-order terms in the material's polarization expansion. Therefore, since Freudenthal clearly teaches in (Freudenthal, [pars. 0057, 0111, 0133, 0142] claim 6) of the concept of wherein polarization-modulated light beams are passed through a selected location of the sample optical element/transparent optical material wherein the beam's intensity (electric field strength) is sufficiently high, modulating the polarization of light is the primary method used to control this/these exact nonlinear interactions [pars. 0014], and high-intensity beams (like pulsed light/high intensity light/ higher harmonics) force a nonlinear response in the material's polarization density, then, it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that Freudenthal obviously teaches the concept wherein said light source is configured such that said light emanated from said sample comprises nonlinearly generated light generated via a nonlinear optical interaction of said beam with the sample.”, as recited in amended Claim 1. In addition, one of ordinary skill before the invention or at the time the invention was made would have recognized that the limitations such as wherein said light source is configured such that said light emanated from said sample comprises nonlinearly generated light generated via a nonlinear optical interaction of said beam with the sample, is within the scope and analysis of Kumar system configuration as detailed above, considering the (BRI) and in view of the reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure.
Furthermore, the examiner did recognize that Freudenthal fails to explicitly specify that the light source(s) is a laser type light source configured to output a laser beam to be directed to said sample such that light emanates from said sample but used Zang to find this limitation. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Freudenthal light source with laser light source in order to meet the concept of nonlinearly generated light generated via a nonlinear optical interaction of said laser beam with the sample, since the concept of a nonlinear optical interaction occurs when the optical properties (such as the refractive index or polarization density) of a material change in a non-proportional way in response to intense light, typically from a laser. As such, it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that this/these arguments is/are not persuasive.
In conclusion, it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that this/these arguments is/are not persuasive because the examiner did recognize that obviousness can only be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure and that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In this case, since the invention of primary reference of Freudenthal teaches and suggests the general knowledge of the concept of generating a nonlinear optical response which/that occurs when the optical properties of a material (such as its refractive index or polarization) change in a non-proportional way under the influence of an intense light field, then Freudenthal obviously teaches generating a nonlinearly generated light generated via a nonlinear optical interaction of said light (i.e. laser) beam with the sample.
For the purposes of clarity, considering the BRI, modulation of the polarization literally means changing the polarization state of a wave (such as light signal) in a controlled, time-varying way.
b) Applicant argues Dependent Claims that Although Applicant has not addressed all the issues of the dependent claims, Applicant respectfully submits that Applicant does not necessarily agree with the characterization and assessments of the dependent claims made by the Examiner, and Applicant believes that each claim is patentable on its own merits……………………………... ………………………….. ……….. …….. Therefore, Applicant respectfully requests the withdrawal of all claim rejections and prompts allowance of the claims.
Examiner's response:
With respect to argument(s) (b), it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that for the same reasons as discussed above in relation to argument(s) (b), applicant arguments regarding argument(s) (b) is/are not persuasive.
In addition, it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that this/these argument(s) is/are not persuasive because one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and/or at the time the invention was made would have fairly and reasonably recognized that the prior art does properly support a rejection of the claimed invention under 35 U.S.C. 103, and the applicant has not argued the examiner’s position about the rejection(s) regarding the dependent claims, in the previous Official action. The applicant has acquiesced. As to the newly added claims, the newly added claims are rejected as explained above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISIAKA O AKANBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877