DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,127,413. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in claims of the instant application are encompassed by claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,127,413.
Instant Application 18/885,727
Claim
U.S. Patent No. 12,127,413
Claim
1
1, 5
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
1, 5
6
6
7
7
8
8
9
9
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,004,897 in view of Yu et al. (US 2019/0165260).
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,004,897 discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a first magnetic tunneling junction (MTJ) and a second MTJ on a substrate;
a first ultra low-k (ULK) dielectric layer on the first MTJ and the second MTJ, wherein the first ULK dielectric layer comprises a first thickness;
a passivation layer on the first ULK dielectric layer, wherein the passivation layer between the first MTJ and the second MTJ; and
a second ULK dielectric layer on the passivation layer.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,004,897 does not disclose the first thickness is greater than the second thickness. However, Yu et al. disclose a device having a passivation layer (630) having a second thickness (T2), and a first ULK (620) having a first thickness (T1) on a first MTJ (stack on the left, 530,535,540,545) and a second MTJ (stack on the right, 530,353,540,545) having a first thickness, and the first thickness is greater than the second thickness. See Figures 1-17, and [0057], [0087] of Yu et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form device of U.S. Patent No. 11,004,897 having the first thickness is greater than the second thickness, such as taught by Yu et al. in order to further prevent the coupling capacitance between the first MTJ and the second MTJ.
Regarding claim 2, as similarly described above, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,004,897 and Yu et al. disclose a bottom surface of the passivation layer between the first MTJ and the second MTJ is lower than a top surface of the first MTJ.
Regarding claim 3, as similarly described above, Claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,004,897 and Yu et al. disclose a bottom surface of the passivation layer between the first MTJ and the second MTJ comprises a planar surface.
Regarding claim 4, as similarly described above, Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,004,897 and Yu et al. disclose a sidewall of the passivation layer between the first MTJ and the second MTJ comprises a planar surface.
Regarding claim 5, as similarly described above, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,004,897 and Yu et al. disclose the passivation layer on top of the first MTJ comprises a third thickness.
Regarding claim 6, as similarly described above, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,004,897 and Yu et al. disclose further comprising a first top electrode on the first MTJ and a second top electrode on the second MTJ.
Regarding claim 7, as similarly described above, Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,004,897 and Yu et al. disclose further comprising a first spacer around the first MTJ and a second spacer around the second MTJ.
Regarding claim 8, as similarly described above, Claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,004,897 and Yu et al. disclose a top surface of the first spacer is lower than a top surface of the first top electrode.
Regarding claim 9, as similarly described above, Claim 7. of U.S. Patent No. 11,004,897 and Yu et al. disclose a top surface of the second spacer is lower than a top surface of the second top electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US 2019/0165260).
Yu et al. discloses, as shown in Figures 1-15, a semiconductor device comprising:
a first magnetic tunneling junction (MTJ) (stack on the left, 530,535,540,545) and a second MTJ (stack on the right, 530,535,540,545) on a substrate (201, not shown, [0095]);
a first ultra low-k (ULK) dielectric layer (620, (SiON, SiCN, or SiOCN, [0055],[0085]) on the first MTJ and the second MTJ, wherein the first ULK dielectric layer comprises a first thickness (T1);
a passivation layer (630) on the first ULK dielectric layer, wherein the passivation layer between the first MTJ and the second MTJ comprises a second thickness (T2) and the first thickness (T1) is greater than the second thickness (T2) ([0057],[0087]); and
a second ULK dielectric layer (640, [0063],[0087]) on the passivation layer.
It is noted that the SiON, SiCN, or SiOCN layer can be read as the ultra low-k dielectric layer because the claim does not define how low is low.
Regarding claim 2, Yu et al. disclose a bottom surface of the passivation layer between the first MTJ and the second MTJ is lower than a top surface of the first MTJ.
Regarding claim 3, Yu et al. disclose a bottom surface of the passivation layer between the first MTJ and the second MTJ comprises a planar surface.
Regarding claim 4, Yu et al. disclose a sidewall of the passivation layer between the first MTJ and the second MTJ comprises a planar surface.
Regarding claim 5, Yu et al. disclose the passivation layer on top of the first MTJ comprises a third thickness (Figures).
Regarding claim 6, Yu et al. disclose further comprising a first top electrode (555) on the first MTJ and a second top electrode (555) on the second MTJ.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2019/0165260) in view of Chen et al. (PN 10,163,651).
Regarding claim 7, Yu et al. discloses the claimed invention including the semiconductor device as explained in the above rejection. Yu et al. does not disclose a first spacer around the first MTJ and a second spacer around the second MTJ. However, Chen et al. discloses a semiconductor device comprising a first spacer (126) around a first MTJ (116) and a second spacer (126) around a second MTJ (116). Note Figures of Chen et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the device of Yu et al having a first spacer around the first MTJ and a second spacer around the second MTJ, such as taught by Chen et al. in order to protect the bottom electrode, the MTJ, and the top electrode from shortage.
Regarding claim 8, Yu et al. and Chen disclose a top surface of the first spacer (126) is lower than a top surface of the first top electrode (118) [Figure 1].
Regarding claim 9, Yu et al. and Chen disclose a top surface of the second spacer (126) is lower than a top surface of the second top electrode (118) [Figure 1].
Conclusion
/HUNG K VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897