DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species A in the reply filed on 9/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-6 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/8/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 12, 14-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US 20180114834; herein “Cheng”).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses in Fig. 10 and related text a structure comprising:
a field-effect transistor including a first source/drain region (e.g. 700A, see [0043]), a second source/drain region (e.g. 700B), a first nanosheet channel layer (e.g. 104C, see [0033]), a gate conductor layer (e.g. 1000, see [0048]), a first inner spacer (e.g. 500D, see [0039]), and a second inner spacer (e.g. portion of 108 remaining in Fig. 10, see [0035]), the first nanosheet channel layer extending laterally from the first source/drain region to the second source/drain region, the gate conductor layer including a first section positioned in a space above the first nanosheet channel layer, the first inner spacer adjoining the second inner spacer, and the first inner spacer and the second inner spacer positioned laterally between the first section of the gate conductor layer and the first source/drain region (see Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng discloses wherein the first inner spacer has a surface that is in direct contact with a surface of the second inner spacer (see Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng further discloses
a semiconductor substrate (e.g. 102),
wherein the first nanosheet channel layer (104C) is positioned between the first inner spacer (500D) and the semiconductor substrate, and the first inner spacer is positioned between the second inner spacer (remining portion of 108) and the first nanosheet channel layer.
Regarding claim 7, Cheng further discloses wherein the field-effect transistor includes a second nanosheet channel layer (e.g. 104B), and the gate conductor layer includes a second section in a space between the first nanosheet channel layer and the second nanosheet channel layer (see Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng further discloses wherein the field-effect transistor includes a gate dielectric layer (1002, see [0048]) between the first inner spacer and the gate conductor layer, and the gate dielectric layer comprises a high-k dielectric material.
Regarding claim 12, Cheng further discloses wherein the first nanosheet channel layer (100C) extends in a lateral direction, and the first inner spacer (500D) and the second inner spacer (108) are stacked in a vertical direction that is orthogonal to the lateral direction see Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14, Cheng further discloses wherein the field-effect transistor includes a third inner spacer and a fourth inner spacer, and the third inner spacer adjoins the fourth inner spacer (e.g. 500D and 108 on opposite side).
Regarding claim 15, Cheng further discloses wherein the third inner spacer and the fourth inner spacer are laterally between the first section of the gate conductor layer and the second
Regarding claim 16, Cheng further discloses wherein the first section of the gate conductor layer is laterally between the second inner spacer and the fourth inner spacer (between 108 on left and 108 on right).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng further discloses wherein the first inner spacer is in direct contact with the second inner spacer, and the third inner spacer is in direct contact with the fourth inner spacer (see Fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 13, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Rachmady et al. (US 20130341704; herein “Rachmady”).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng does not explicitly disclose wherein the surface of the first inner spacer has a first surface area, and the surface of second inner spacer has a second surface area that is greater than the first surface area.
In the same field of endeavor, Rachmady teaches in Fig. 1A and related text a semiconductor structure wherein the gate conductor layer (144, see [0019]) has multiple widths (see Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cheng by having the gate conductor layer has multiple widths, as shown by Rachmady, in order to achieve the desired gate width and drive current capacity (see abstract and [0023] at least).
The combined device therefore shows the surface of the first inner spacer (Cheng: 500D; Rachmady: uppermost 112) has a first surface area, and the surface of second inner spacer (Cheng: 108; Rachmady: 110B) has a second surface area that is greater than the first surface area.
Regarding claim 13, Cheng does not explicitly disclose wherein the gate conductor layer has multiple widths.
In the same field of endeavor, Rachmady teaches in Fig. 1A and related text a semiconductor structure wherein the gate conductor layer (144, see [0019]) has multiple widths (see Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cheng by having the gate conductor layer has multiple widths, as shown by Rachmady, in order to achieve the desired gate width and drive current capacity (see abstract and [0023] at least).
Regarding claim 14, the combined device shows wherein the field-effect transistor includes a third inner spacer and a fourth inner spacer, and the third inner spacer adjoins the fourth inner spacer (Cheng e.g. 500D and 108 on opposite side).
Regarding claim 17, the combined device shows wherein the first inner spacer the third inner spacer (Cheng: 500D; Rachmady: uppermost 112) have a first width, and the second inner spacer and the fourth inner spacer (Cheng: 108; Rachmady: 110B) have a second width greater than the first width (Rachmady: see Fig. 1A).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng as applied to claim 8 above, and in view of Zhou et al. (US 20250120108; herein “Zhou”).
Regarding claims 9-11, Cheng does not disclose
wherein the first inner spacer comprises silicon dioxide;
wherein the first inner spacer comprises a first dielectric material, and the second inner spacer comprises a second dielectric material different from the first dielectric material;
wherein the first inner spacer and the second inner spacer comprise a dielectric material.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches in Fig. 17 and related text a semiconductor structure comprising
wherein the first inner spacer (bottom “SiN” adjacent gate, see [0085]) comprises silicon dioxide;
wherein the first inner spacer (bottom “SiN” adjacent gate, see [0085]) comprises a first dielectric material, and the second inner spacer (top “SiN” adjacent gate, see [0085]) comprises a second dielectric material different from the first dielectric material (top can be silicon nitride oxide, see [0085]);
wherein the first inner spacer and the second inner spacer comprise a dielectric material (see [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cheng by having the first inner spacer comprises silicon dioxide; the first inner spacer comprises a first dielectric material, and the second inner spacer comprises a second dielectric material different from the first dielectric material; the first inner spacer and the second inner spacer comprise a dielectric material, as taught by Zhou, in order to improve electrical isolation between the source/drain and the gate (see [0085]).
Conclusion
/LAUREN R BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896