DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lambert et al. (US 20160133496 A1, hereinafter Lambert’496).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lambert’496 teaches, “A substrate comprising:
a receiver substrate (104, Silicon, fig. 9, ¶ [0033]);
one or more blocks (604-1, 604-2, ‘chips 604 are made of III-V material’, ¶ [0045]) bonded to the receiver substrate (104) disposed in one or more patterns on the receiver substrate (104) being raised (by elements 904-1 and 904-2) relative to the receiver substrate (104), the one or more blocks having one or more surface regions thereon (top surface of elements 604-1, 604-2).
Regarding claim 2, Lambert’496 further teaches, “The substrate of claim 1, wherein the one or more patterns (604-1, 604-2) comprise a first pattern and a second pattern offset from the first pattern”.
Regarding claim 3, Lambert’496 further teaches, “The substrate of claim 2, wherein the blocks of the first pattern comprise a first material, and the blocks of the second pattern comprise a second material that may be the same or different from the first material (both 604-1, 604-2 are made of same material)”.
Regarding claim 7, Lambert’496 further teaches, “The substrate of claim 1, wherein the one or more surface regions (top surface of elements 604-1, 604-2) are substantially planar (fig. 9)”.
Regarding claim 8, Lambert’496 further teaches, “The substrate of claim 1, wherein the receiver substrate (104, Si) comprises silicon and the one or more blocks (604-1, 604-2, III-V) comprise a III-V semiconductor material”.
Regarding claim 10, Lambert’496 further teaches, “The substrate of claim 1, wherein the receiver substrate (104) comprises silicon and the one or more blocks (604-1, 604-2, III-V) comprise a III-V semiconductor material and an additional layer (608, metal) comprising silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, a metal, or amorphous silicon”.
Claims 1, 4-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tadaka et al. (US 20140203408 A1, hereinafter Tadaka’408).
Regarding independent claim 1, Tadaka’408 teaches, “A substrate comprising:
a receiver substrate (120, fig. 25);
one or more blocks (106) bonded to the receiver substrate (120) disposed in one or more patterns on the receiver substrate (120) being raised relative to the receiver substrate (120), the one or more blocks having one or more surface regions thereon”.
Regarding claim 4, Lambert’496 further teaches, “The substrate of claim 1, wherein the one or more patterns comprise a first pattern, a second pattern offset from the first pattern, a third pattern offset from the first and second patterns, and a fourth pattern offset from the first, second, and third patterns (fig. 25)”.
Regarding claim 5, Lambert’496 further teaches, “The substrate of claim 4, wherein the blocks of the first pattern comprise a first material; the blocks of the second pattern comprise a second material; the blocks of the third pattern comprise a third material; and the blocks of the fourth pattern comprise a fourth material; and wherein the first, second, third, and fourth materials may be the same or different (same, fig. 25)”.
Regarding claim 6, Lambert’496 further teaches, “The substrate of claim 1, wherein the one or more surface regions (top surfaces of elements 106, fig. 25) have a roughness lower (detachment of element 102) than adjacent surfaces of the receiver substrate (120)”.
Regarding claim 9, Lambert’496 further teaches, “The substrate of claim 1, wherein a height of the one or more blocks relative to the receiver substrate is from a few nanometers to a few tens of nanometers (¶ [0090])”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-16 are allowed.
Regarding independent claim 11, the prior arts of record do not anticipate or make obvious, inter alia, the feature of: a discontinuous embrittlement plane comprising localized implanted regions formed through ion implantation, the localized implanted regions disposed vertically in line with one or more patterns on the donor substrate, the localized implanted regions delimiting a surface region of the donor substrate.
Regarding independent claim 14, the prior arts of record do not anticipate or make obvious, inter alia, the feature of: a discontinuous embrittlement plane comprising localized implanted regions formed through ion implantation, the localized implanted regions disposed vertically in line with one or more patterns on the donor substrate, the localized implanted regions delimiting a surface region of the donor substrate.
The dependent claims 12-13 and 15-16 are also allowed as they depend on the allowed independent claims above.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817