DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tak et al (US Publication No. 2023/0301153) in view of Kim et al (US Publication no. 2017/0336675).
Regarding claim 1, Tak discloses a display device comprising: a first substrate Fig 20, 110; a transistor Fig 20, TFT disposed on a surface of the first substrate; a light emitting diode Fig 20, ED electrically connected to the transistor Fig 20, TFT; an encapsulation layer Fig 20, 450 disposed on the light emitting diode Fig 20, ED; a buffer layer Fig 20, 460 disposed on the encapsulation layer Fig 20, 450; a partition wall disposed on the color mixing prevention layer, the partition wall Fig 20, 320 including a first opening, a second opening, and a third opening Fig 20; a first color conversion layer Fig 20, 330R disposed in the first opening; a second color conversion layer Fig 20, 330G disposed in the second opening; and a transmission layer Fig 20, 330B ¶0069 disposed in the third opening. Tak discloses all the limitations but silent on a color mixing prevention layer. Whereas Kim discloses a color mixing prevention layer Fig 1 that includes one or more dichroic dyes ¶0088-0091 .
Tak and Kim are analogous art because they are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Tak because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tak and incorporate a polarization component to improve device performance¶0090-0091.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the one or more dichroic dyes have a major axis along which light is transmitted and a minor axis along which light is absorbed, and the major axis extends in a first direction perpendicular to the surface ¶0090-0092.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the minor axis extends in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction¶0090-0092.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses wherein the one or more dichroic dyes include at least one of a red dichroic dye, a green dichroic dye, and a blue dichroic dye¶0090-0092.
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses wherein the color mixing prevention layer is configured to absorb light having an oblique angle of incidence with the color mixing prevention layer¶0090-0092.
Regarding claim 7, Tak in view of Kim discloses wherein in a view in a direction perpendicular to the surface, the color mixing prevention layer respectively overlaps each of the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening, and does not overlap at least a portion of the partition wall Fig 20 and Fig 22.
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses, wherein in a view in a direction perpendicular to the surface, the color mixing prevention layer overlaps at least one of the first color conversion layer, the second color conversion layer, and the transmission layer Fig 1.
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses wherein in the view, the color mixing prevention layer is spaced apart from at least one of the first color conversion layer, the second color conversion layer, and the transmission layer Fig 1.
Regarding claim 10, Tak discloses a display device, comprising: a first substrate Fig 20-21, 110; a transistor Fig 20, TFT disposed on a surface of the first substrate Fig 20-21, 110; a light emitting diode Fig 20-21, ED electrically connected to the transistor Fig 20, TFT; an encapsulation layer Fig 20-21, 450 disposed on the light emitting diode; buffer layer Fig 20-21, 460 disposed on the encapsulation layer Fig 20, 450; a second substrate Fig 21, 210 overlapping the first substrate Fig 21, 110 in a direction perpendicular to the surface; a partition wall Fig 20, 320 disposed on the second substrate, the partition wall including a first opening, a second opening, and a third opening Fig 20-22; and a first color conversion layer disposed in the first opening; a second color conversion layer disposed in the second opening; and a transmission layer disposed in the third opening Fig 20-22. Tak discloses all the limitations but silent on a color mixing prevention layer. Whereas Kim discloses a color mixing prevention layer Fig 1 that includes one or more dichroic dyes ¶0088-0091 .
Tak and Kim are analogous art because they are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Tak because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tak and incorporate a polarization component to improve device performance¶0090-0091.
Regarding claim 11, Tak discloses a filling layer disposed between the partition wall and the encapsulation layer in the direction Fig 20-22.
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses wherein the color mixing prevention layer is disposed between the filling layer and the encapsulation layer in the direction Fig 1.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses wherein the color mixing prevention layer overlaps an entirety of the surface in the direction Fig 1.
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses wherein the color mixing prevention layer respectively overlaps each of the first color conversion layer, the second color conversion layer, and the transmission layer in a view in the direction Fig 1.
Regarding claim 15, Tak in view of Kim discloses wherein the color mixing prevention layer/buffer layer does not overlap at least a portion of the partition wall in the view Fig 20.
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses wherein the color mixing prevention layer overlaps at least one of the first color conversion layer, the second color conversion layer, and the transmission layer in a view in the direction Fig 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE A ENAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811