DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blackshear et al. (US PGPub 2009/0155552; herein known as Blackshear).
Regarding claim 1, Blackshear teaches (Fig. 2) a package substrate, comprising: a core (102, [0015]); a first dielectric layer (106, [0013]) on a first side (108, top) of the core; a second dielectric layer (106, [0013]) on a second side (110, bottom) of the core opposite the first side of the core; and a fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (120A, 120B, [0014]) on at least one of the first side of the core or the second side of the core.
Regarding claim 2, Blackshear teaches (Fig. 2) the package substrate of claim 1, wherein the fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (120A, 120B, [0014]) comprises a dielectric material (epoxy or ABF material, [0015]) and a fiber sheet (glass cloth, [0016]) embedded in the dielectric material ([0016]).
Regarding claim 3, Blackshear teaches (Fig. 2) the package substrate of claim 2, wherein the fiber sheet comprises an inorganic material including at least one of glass, SiO2, Al2O3, Ca, B, or Mg (glass, [0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Blackshear teaches (Fig. 2) the package substrate of claim 2, wherein the fiber sheet comprises a woven fiber sheet (glass cloth, [0016]).
Regarding claim 6, Blackshear teaches (Fig. 2) the package substrate of claim 1, wherein the fiber-reinforced dielectric layer comprises: an upper fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (120A, [0014]) on the first side of the core (108, top); and a lower fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (120B, [0014) on the second side of the core (110, bottom).
Regarding claim 7, Blackshear teaches (annotated Fig. 2 below) the package substrate of claim 6, wherein the upper fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (120A, [0014] is located on an upper surface of the first dielectric layer (106, [0013]) and further includes a fiber sheet (glass cloth, [0016]) and plurality of upper metal vias (UV, [0015]) extending through the fiber sheet (see figure).
Regarding claim 8, Blackshear teaches (Fig. 2) the package substrate of claim 7, wherein the first dielectric layer (106, [0013]) comprises a plurality of first metal interconnect structures (104, [0015]), and the plurality of upper metal vias are electrically coupled to the plurality of first metal interconnect structures (copper connection structures are shown to extend through 106 and 120A and are disclosed to electrically couple the core to external structures, [0017]).
Regarding claim 10, Blackshear teaches (annotated Fig. 2 below) the package substrate of claim 6, wherein the lower fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (120B, [0016]) is located on a lower surface (110, bottom) of the second dielectric layer (106, [0013]) and further includes a fiber sheet (glass cloth, [0016]) and a plurality of lower metal vias (LV, [0015]) extending through the fiber sheet (see figure).
Regarding claim 11, Blackshear teaches (Fig. 2) the package substrate of claim 10, wherein the second dielectric layer (106, [0013]) comprises a plurality of second metal interconnect structures (104, [0015]), and the plurality of lower metal vias are electrically coupled to the plurality of second metal interconnect structures (copper connection structures are shown to extend through 106 and 120B and are disclosed to electrically couple the core to a lower ball grid array for package connection, [0017]).
Regarding claim 13, Blackshear teaches (annotated Fig. 2 below) a package structure, comprising: a package substrate (90), comprising: a core (102, [0015]) including a plurality of through vias (TV); and an upper fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (120A, [0016]) on a first side of the core (108, top), comprising a plurality of upper metal vias (annotated Fig. 2 above, UV, [0015]) electrically coupled to the plurality of through vias ([0017]); and a semiconductor module (92, [0017]) attached to the package substrate on the first side of the core, and comprising a plurality of solder bumps (140, [0017]) contacting the plurality of upper metal vias, respectively.
Regarding claim 15, Blackshear teaches (annotated Fig. 2 above) the package structure of claim 13, further comprising: a lower fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (120B, [0016]) on a second side of the core (110, bottom), comprising a plurality of lower metal vias (annotated Fig. 2 below, LV, [0015]); and a ball grid array (BGA) attached to the package substrate on the second side of the core and electrically coupled to the plurality of through vias in the core through the plurality of lower metal vias.
Regarding claim 16, Blackshear teaches (Fig. 2) the package structure of claim 15, further comprising: a first dielectric layer (106, [0014]) between the core (102) and the upper fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (120A); and a second dielectric layer (106, [0014]) between the core (102) and the lower fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (120B).
Regarding claim 18, Blackshear teaches (Fig. 2) the package structure of claim 16, wherein the upper fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (120A, [0014]) is on an upper surface (108, top) of the first dielectric layer (106, [0013]) and comprises: a dielectric material (epoxy or ABF material, [0015]); and a fiber sheet (glass cloth, [0016]) in the dielectric material, wherein the plurality of upper metal vias in the dielectric material extend through the fiber sheet (see figure).
Regarding claim 19, Blackshear teaches (Fig. 2) the package structure of claim 16, wherein the lower fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (120B, [0014]) is on a lower surface (110, bottom) of the second dielectric layer (106, [0013]) and comprises: a dielectric material (epoxy or ABF material, [0015]); and a fiber sheet (glass cloth, [0016]) in the dielectric material, wherein the plurality of lower metal vias in the dielectric material extend through the fiber sheet (see figure).
Regarding claim 20, Blackshear teaches (Fig. 2) a method of forming a package substrate, the method comprising: forming a first dielectric layer (106, [0013]) on a first side (108, top) of a core (102, [0013]); forming a second dielectric layer (106, [0013]) on a second side (110, bottom) of the core opposite the first side of the core; and forming a fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (120A, 120B, [0013]) on at least one of the first side of the core or the second side of the core ([0013]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackshear as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US PGPub 2021/0296221; herein known as Yang).
Regarding claim 5, Blackshear teaches (annotated Fig. 2 below) the package substrate of claim 1, further comprising: a die mounting region (DMR); but does not explicitly teach a ring mounting region adjacent the die mounting region; and a separation region between the die mounting region and the ring mounting region, wherein the fiber-reinforced dielectric layer is located in the separation region.
In analogous art, Yang teaches (annotated Fig. 1J below) a ring mounting region (R2, [0019]) adjacent to the die mounting region and a separation region (SR) between the die mounting region (DMR) and the ring mounting region (the separation region is interpreted to be the space between where the die is mounted and where the ring is located).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Blackshear and of Yang to include a ring mounting region adjacent to the die mounting region and a separation region between the die mounting region and the ring mounting region in order to provide rigidity to the semiconductor package to prevent warpage (Yang, [0051]). Inclusion of the ring mounting region and separation region of Yang in the embodiment of Blackshear would necessarily result in the fiber-reinforced dielectric layer being located in the separation region, as the fiber-reinforced dielectric layer substantially spans the width of the package.
Regarding claim 14, Blackshear teaches the package structure of claim 13, but does not explicitly teach a stiffener ring around the semiconductor module on the package substrate, wherein the package substrate comprises a separation region separating the stiffener ring from the semiconductor module and the upper fiber-reinforced dielectric layer is located in the separation region.
In analogous art, Yang teaches (annotated Fig. 1J above) a stiffener ring (200, [0053]) around the semiconductor module (128A,B, [0048]) on the package substrate (10, [0051]) wherein the package substrate comprises a separation region (SR) separating the stiffener ring (200) from the semiconductor module (128A,B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Blackshear and of Yang to include a stiffener ring around the semiconductor module on the package substrate, wherein the package substrate comprises a separation region separating the stiffener ring from the semiconductor module in order to provide rigidity to the semiconductor package to prevent warpage (Yang, [0051]). Inclusion of the stiffener ring and separation region of Yang in the embodiment of Blackshear would necessarily result in the fiber-reinforced dielectric layer being located in the separation region, as the fiber-reinforced dielectric layer substantially spans the width of the package.
Claims 9, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackshear as applied to claims 6 and 16 above, and further in view of Kuwabara (US PGPub 2024/0339388; herein known as Kuwabara).
Regarding claim 9, Blackshear teaches the package substrate of claim 6, but does not explicitly teach wherein the fiber-reinforced dielectric layer further comprises an embedded upper fiber-reinforced dielectric layer embedded in the first dielectric layer. Blackshear does, however, teach wherein the first dielectric layer can be comprised of a fiber-reinforced dielectric layer.
In analogous art, Kuwabara teaches (Fig. 1) a fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (11, 21, 31, [0040]) as a part of a stack of dielectric layers. Kuwabara teaches wherein inclusion of layers 11, 21, or 31 as a fiber-reinforced dielectric layer is desirable in order to provide adequate rigidity to the package substrate ([0040]). Additionally, Kuwabara teaches wherein any of the dielectric layers can optionally not include a glass fiber, in order to facilitate formation of fine wirings or to enhance adhesion with other layers ([0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Blackshear and of Hu to include wherein the fiber-reinforced dielectric layer further comprises an embedded upper fiber-reinforced dielectric layer embedded in the first dielectric layer in order to reinforce the strength of the dielectric film for easy handling, while allowing for formation of fine wirings and adhesion with overlying layers (Kuwabara, [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Blackshear teaches the package substrate of claim 6, but does not explicitly teach wherein the fiber-reinforced dielectric layer further comprises an embedded lower fiber-reinforced dielectric layer embedded in the second dielectric layer. Blackshear does, however, teach wherein the second dielectric layer can be comprised of a fiber-reinforced dielectric layer.
In analogous art, Kuwabara teaches (Fig. 1) a fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (11, 21, 31, [0040]) as a part of a stack of dielectric layers. Kuwabara teaches wherein inclusion of layers 11, 21, or 31 as a fiber-reinforced dielectric layer is desirable in order to provide adequate rigidity to the package substrate ([0040]). Additionally, Kuwabara teaches wherein any of the dielectric layers can optionally not include a glass fiber, in order to facilitate formation of fine wirings or to enhance adhesion with other layers ([0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Blackshear and of Hu to include wherein the fiber-reinforced dielectric layer further comprises an embedded lower fiber-reinforced dielectric layer embedded in the first dielectric layer in order to reinforce the strength of the dielectric film for easy handling, while allowing for formation of fine wirings and adhesion with overlying layers (Kuwabara, [0040]).
Regarding claim 17, Blackshear teaches the package structure of claim 16, but does not explicitly teach further comprising: an embedded upper fiber-reinforced dielectric layer embedded in the first dielectric layer; and an embedded lower fiber-reinforced dielectric layer embedded in the second dielectric layer. Blackshear does, however, teach wherein the first dielectric layer can be comprised of a fiber-reinforced dielectric layer.
In analogous art, Kuwabara teaches (Fig. 1) a fiber-reinforced dielectric layer (11, 21, 31, [0040]) as a part of a stack of dielectric layers. Kuwabara teaches wherein inclusion of layers 11, 21, or 31 as a fiber-reinforced dielectric layer is desirable in order to provide adequate rigidity to the package substrate ([0040]). Additionally, Kuwabara teaches wherein any of the dielectric layers can optionally not include a glass fiber, in order to facilitate formation of fine wirings or to enhance adhesion with other layers ([0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Blackshear and of Hu to include an embedded upper fiber-reinforced dielectric layer embedded in the first dielectric layer; and an embedded lower fiber-reinforced dielectric layer embedded in the second dielectric layer in order to reinforce the strength of the dielectric film for easy handling, while allowing for formation of fine wirings and adhesion with overlying layers (Kuwabara, [0040]).
Conclusion
/EMILY FARMER/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812