Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US10475937B1 (Jones) in view of US20210288190A1 (Liu).
Regarding Claim 1, Jones discloses a sensor package structure (Fig. 2A or 4A, el. 100, Para. 7, ll. 8-9), comprising: a substrate (Fig. 2A or 4A, el. 102, Para. 7, ll. 9-10); a light-sensing chip (Fig. 2A or 4A, el. 104, Para. 6, ll. 63-66) and a light emitting chip (Fig. 2A or 4A, el. 108, Para. 6, ll. 63-66) disposed on and electrically coupled to the substrate (Fig. 2A or 4A, Para. 6, ll. 63-66), wherein a top surface of the sensor chip includes a sensing region (Para. 8, ll. 9-12); a light-permeable layer (Fig. 2A or 4A, el. 112, Para. 7, ll. 35-38) having an inner surface (Fig. 4A, el. 111, Para. 11, ll. 13-16), an outer surface (Fig. 2A, el. 113, Para. 9, ll. 16-20), and a surrounding lateral surface that is connected to the inner surface and the outer surface (Fig. 2A or 4A, where the lateral surface is the side surface of el. 112); a light block barrier (Fig. 2A or 4A, el. 110, Para. 8, ll. 4-5) having a top side that is fixed onto the inner surface of the light-permeable layer (Fig. 2A or 4A), wherein the light block barrier is arranged between the light-sensing chip and the light emitting chip (Co. 7, ll. 20-25). Jones further discloses that the package may include multiple sensor dies (Col. 8, ll. 5-7).
Jones does not disclose two sensor chips disposed on a substrate, each of which having a carrying region that surrounds a sensing region; two ringed-shaped supporting layers respectively disposed on the carrying region of the two sensor chips and respectively surrounding the sensing regions of the two sensor chips. Jones does not disclose that the inner surface of the light-permeable layer is dispose on top sides of two ring-shipped supporting layers, and each of the two ring-shaped supporting layers, the light-permeable layer, and the top surface of a corresponding one of the two sensor chips jointly define an enclosed space. Jones also does not disclose an encapsulant formed on the substrate, wherein the two sensor chips, the two ring-shaped supporting layers, the light block barrier, and the light-permeable layer are embedded in the encapsulant, and the outer surface of the light-permeable layer is at least partially exposed from the encapsulant.
Liu discloses a sensor package (Figs. 1-5, el. 100, Para. [0017]) comprising a substrate (Fig 1, el. 100, Para. [0017]), a sensor chip (Fig. 1, el. 2Para. [0017]) wherein a top surface of the sensor chip includes a sensing region (Fig. 5, el. 21, Para. [0021]) and a carrying region (Fig. 5, el. 22, Para. [0021] that surrounds the sensing region (Para. [0021]); a ring-shaped supporting layer (Fig. 2, el. 4, Para. [0023]) disposed on the carrying region of the sensor chip and surrounding the sensor region of the sensor chip (Para. [0024]); a light-permeable layer (Fig. 2, el. 5, Para. [0027]) having an inner surface (Fig. 2, el. 52, Para. [0027]), an outer surface (Fig. 2, el. 51, Para. [0027]), and a surrounding lateral surface (Fig. 2, el. 53, Para. 0027] that is connected to the inner surface and the outer surface (Para. [0027]), wherein the inner surface of the light-permeable layer is disposed on top sides of the ring-shaped supporting layer (Para. [0027]), and the ring-shaped supporting layer, the light-permeable layer and top surface of the sensor chip define an enclosed space (Para. [0027]); and an encapsulant formed on the substrate (Para. [0029]) wherein the sensor chip, ring supporting layer, and light-permeable layer are embedded in the encapsulant, and the outer surface of the light-permeable layer is at least partially exposed from the encapsulant (Para. [0028]).
First, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to replace the light-emitting chip of Jones with another sensor chip. Jones already contemplates using multiple sensor chips in the package, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would see that the second sensor can replace the light-source (note that Jones also teaches that the package need not include any light source – Col. 8, ll. 35-38).
Second, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the ring layer of Liu in the package of Jones, including having an enclosed space defined by the top of a sensor chip, the side walls of the ring layer, and the bottom surface of the light permeable surface. As disclosed by Liu, this configuration has the benefit of allowing light to scatter, thereby reducing glare (Para. [0008]).
Regarding Claim 4, Jones in view of Liu discloses the sensor package structure according to claim 1, wherein the light block barrier has two lateral surfaces that respectively face toward the two ring-shaped supporting layers and that are embedded in the encapsulant (this will come about when Jones is modified by Liu -see claim 1)
Regarding Claim 10, Jones in view of Liu discloses the sensor package structure according to claim 1, wherein a sum of heights of any one of the two ring-shaped supporting layers and a corresponding one of the two sensor chips is equal to a sum of heights of another one of the two ring-shaped supporting layers and a corresponding one of the two sensor chips (this will occur when Jones is modified by Liu by adding the ring-shaped structures to the two sensors of Jones).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Liu.
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, Jones in view of Liu discloses the sensor package structure according to claim 1.
Liu further discloses a sensor package comprising a plurality of metal wires each having a first end and a second end, the first ends are connected to the substrate, and the second ends are connected to the top surface of the sensor chip (Para. [0019-23]), and that the metal wires are embedded in the encapsulant (Para. [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to add the metal wires disclosed by Liu to the package of Jones in view of Liu. As disclosed by Liu, the addition of the metal wires allows the substrate to be electrically coupled to the sensor chip (Para. [0022]).
Further, it would have been obvious to cover the metal wires with the encapsulant. This has the well-known benefit of protecting the wires from the environment.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of US20180376041A1 (Miura).
Regarding Claim 11, Jones discloses a sensor package structure (Fig. 2A or 4A, el. 100, Para. 7, ll. 8-9), comprising: a substrate (Fig. 2A or 4A, el. 102, Para. 7, ll. 9-10); a frame (Fig. 2A, el. 106, Col. 7, ll. 10-13) formed on the substrate to jointly define a chip receiving slot (Col. 7, ll. 16-20), a light-sensing chip (Fig. 2A or 4A, el. 104, Para. 6, ll. 63-66) and a light emitting chip (Fig. 2A or 4A, el. 108, Para. 6, ll. 63-66) disposed on and electrically coupled to the substrate (Fig. 2A or 4A, Para. 6, ll. 63-66), wherein the two chips are arranged in the chip receiving slot (Fig. 2A, Col. 7, ll. 20-23); a light-permeable layer (Fig. 2A or 4A, el. 112, Para. 7, ll. 35-38) having an inner surface (Fig. 4A, el. 111, Para. 11, ll. 13-16), an outer surface (Fig. 2A, el. 113, Para. 9, ll. 16-20), and a surrounding lateral surface that is connected to the inner surface and the outer surface (Fig. 2A or 4A, where the lateral surface is the side surface of el. 112, wherein the inner surface of the light-permeable layer is disposed on the frame so as to enclose the chip receiving slod and an inner space of the chip receiving slot (Fig. 2A, Col. 7, ll. 47-50); and a light block barrier (Fig. 2A or 4A, el. 110, Para. 8, ll. 4-5) having a top side that is fixed onto the inner surface of the light-permeable layer (Fig. 2A or 4A), wherein the light block barrier is arranged between the light-sensing chip and the light emitting chip (Co. 7, ll. 20-25).
Jones does not disclose that the frame is ring-shaped.
Miura discloses a sensor package structure (Figs. 1A-B, el. 21, Para. [0015]) comprising a ring-shaped frame (Figs. 1A-B, el. 2, Para. [0016]) surrounding a sensor (Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to use the ring-shaped frame of Miura in the package of Jones. Using the ring-shaped frame has the benefit of providing more stability to uphold the light permeable layer.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Miura and Liu.
Regarding Claim 17, Jones in view of Miura discloses the sensor package structure according to Claim 11.
Jones in view of Muira does not disclose a plurality of metal wires each having a first end and a second end, wherein the metal wires are not in contact with the light block barrier and the ring-shaped frame, the first ends of the metal wires are connected to the substrate, and the second ends of the metal wires are connected to the top surfaces of the two sensor chips
Liu discloses a sensor package comprising a plurality of metal wires each having a first end and a second end, the first ends are connected to the substrate, and the second ends are connected to the top surface of the sensor chip (Para. [0019-23]), and that the metal wires are embedded in the encapsulant (Para. [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to add the metal wires disclosed by Liu to the package of Jones in view of Liu. As disclosed by Liu, the addition of the metal wires allows the substrate to be electrically coupled to the sensor chip (Para. [0022]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 9, 12-16, and 18-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 2-3, none of the prior art of record teaches, suggests or renders
obvious, either alone or in combination wherein a bottom side of the light block barrier is not fixed to the substrate.
Regarding Claim 5, none of the prior art of record teaches, suggests or renders
obvious, either alone or in combination wherein the light block barrier has two roughened lateral surfaces that respectively face toward the two ring-shaped supporting layers.
Regarding Claim 6, none of the prior art of record teaches, suggests or renders
obvious, either alone or in combination wherein the light block barrier has two end sides are flush with the surrounding lateral surface of the light permeable layer.
Regarding Claim 9, none of the prior art of record teaches, suggests or renders
obvious, either alone or in combination wherein at least one of the metal wires is embedded in the encapsulant and one of the two ring-shaped supporting layers.
Regarding Claims 12-13, none of the prior art of record teaches, suggests or renders
obvious, either alone or in combination wherein a bottom side of the light block barrier is not fixed to the substrate.
Regarding Claim 14, none of the prior art of record teaches, suggests or renders
obvious, either alone or in combination wherein the light block barrier has two roughened lateral surfaces that respectively face toward the two ring-shaped supporting layers.
Regarding Claims 15-16 none of the prior art of record teaches, suggests or renders
obvious, either alone or in combination wherein the light block barrier has two end sides are flush with the surrounding lateral surface of the light permeable layer.
Regarding Claims 18-20 none of the prior art of record teaches, suggests or renders
obvious, either alone or in combination wherein the ring-shaped frame has a ring-shaped notch recessed in an inner side thereof.
Conclusion
/ROHIT PARTHASARATHY/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899