DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. Applicant's submittal of claims 1-21 in the “Claims” filed on 09/24/2024 is acknowledged and entered by the Examiner.
This office action consider claims 1-21 pending for prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
2. Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Obara (JPH 08111448 A; hereinafter Obara), in view of Kaneko (TW 201810426 A; hereinafter Kaneko).
Regarding claim 1, Obara teaches a substrate processing apparatus (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [Abstract+], and as cited below; see Google Translation of JPH 08111448 A), comprising:
a first container mover capable of moving a container (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5);
a second container mover disposed at a position different from the first container mover and capable of moving the container (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8);
a plurality of process modules capable of processing a substrate accommodated in the container (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8);
a substrate carrier disposed between the first container mover and the second container mover, configured to be communicable with the plurality of process modules, and capable of carrying the substrate (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8);
a substrate carry robot provided in the substrate carrier and capable of carrying the substrate to the process module (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8).
But, Obara does not expressly disclose “a third container mover disposed between the first container mover and the second container mover, and capable of moving the container from the first container mover to the second container mover; and a controller”).
However, in the analogous art, Kaneko teaches a film forming device ([Abstract]; see Google Translation of TW 201810426 A), wherein a film forming apparatus includes: a first processing container and a second processing container for storing a substrate, forming a vacuum environment, and performing a film forming process; the first processing container and the first processing container on which a transfer container storing the substrate is placed; loading ports common to processing containers; freely switchable between normal pressure environment and vacuum environment, forming a loading lock chamber provided with a substrate transfer mechanism for transferring each of the substrates to the first processing container and the second processing container, and a load lock module provided to connect the first processing container and the second processing container; interposed between the load port and the load lock module, for receiving and receiving the load between the load port and the substrate transfer mechanism The substrate transfer area of the substrate under a normal pressure environment; a film forming gas supply mechanism for supplying the film forming gas to the first processing container and the second processing container independently, and forming a film on the substrate; and the first processing container, and the second processing container, each of which independently supplies a cleaning gas supply for removing a cleaning gas from the film formed by the film forming gas; a control section that outputs a control signal to control the interactive transfer of the substrate to the first processing container and the second processing container, and to supply the first processing container and the second processing container with one and the other in parallel (Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Kaneko’s a substrate transfer mechanism and control section into Obara’s apparatus, and thereby, modified Obara’s (by Kaneko) apparatus will have a third container mover (Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5) disposed between the first container mover (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8) and the second container mover (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8), and capable of moving (Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5) the container from the first container mover (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8) to the second container mover (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8); and a controller (Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Obara in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a substrate transfer mechanism and control section transferring each of the substrates to the first processing container and the second processing container and a control section (Kaneko Page 1, Claim 1) which enhance the capabilities of the film forming device with more efficient processes .
Regarding claim 2, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein the first container mover includes a first container carrier, a first container table adjacent to the third container mover, and a second container table adjacent to the substrate carrier (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 3, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 2.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein a load port is adjacent to the first container mover, and the controller(Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5). is configured to be capable of controlling the first container carrier so as to move the container supported by the load port to the first container table or the second container table (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 4, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein the second container mover includes a second container carrier, a third container table adjacent to the second container mover, and a fourth container table adjacent to the substrate carrier (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 5, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 4.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein the controller (Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5) is configured to be capable of controlling the second container carrier so as to move the container in the first container mover to the third container table via the third container mover and then cause the fourth container table to support the container (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 6, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein the third container mover is capable of carrying the container in an atmosphere independent of the substrate carrier (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 7, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein the first container mover includes a first container carrier, a first container table adjacent to the second container mover, and a second container table adjacent to the substrate carrier, and the second container mover includes a second container carrier (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5), a third container table adjacent to the second container mover, and a fourth container table adjacent to the substrate carrier, and in the second container table, the container is disposed such that a lid of the container faces the substrate carrier, and in the fourth container table, the container is disposed such that the lid of the container faces the substrate carrier (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 8, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further comprising: a rotator configured to rotate the container in a horizontal direction (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 9, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 8.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein the rotator is provided in the third container mover (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 10, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein the substrate carrier includes a plurality of the substrate carry robots, and process modules respectively in charge of the plurality of substrate carry robots are set (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 11, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein the substrate carrier includes a first substrate carry robot disposed on a front side and a second substrate carry robot disposed on a back side (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5), and the first substrate carry robot is in charge of the process module disposed on the front side, and the second substrate carry robot is in charge of the process module disposed on the back side (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 12, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 11.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein each of the plurality of process modules is capable of different processing, and a transfer area is set according to a type of the processing for the first substrate carry robot and the second substrate carry robot (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 13, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 12.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein a transfer area is set according to a time of the processing for the first substrate carry robot and the second substrate carry robot (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 14, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 12
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein the controller (Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5) is configured to be capable of, when a failure has occurred in any of the substrate carry robots (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5), performing to set so that another of the substrate carry robots is also in charge of the process module that the substrate carry robot in which the failure has occurred is in charge of (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 15, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein the substrate carrier includes a rail on which the substrate carry robot is movable, and a plurality of the substrate carry robots supported by the rail (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 16, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein the substrate carrier includes the plurality of substrate carry robots (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5), and a plurality of rails corresponding to the respective substrate carry robots and capable of supporting the respective substrate carry robots (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 17, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 16.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further teaches wherein the rails are provided so as not to overlap each other in a vertical direction (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5), and a substrate loading/unloading port of the process module is set to a height of each of the rails (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 18, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) further comprising a substrate cooling module in a space different from a space in which the substrate carry robot is stored (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5), wherein the substrate cooling module includes an elevator, and is capable of cooling and lifting the plurality of substrates (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
Regarding claim 19, Obara teaches a method of processing a substrate (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [Abstract+], and as cited below; see Google Translation of JPH 08111448 A), including:
loading a substrate into a process module (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8) among a plurality of process modules via a first container mover capable of moving a container accommodating the substrate (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8) and the substrate carrier disposed between the first container mover and a second container mover disposed at a position different from the first container mover (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8) and capable of moving the container, configured to be communicable with the plurality of process modules (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8), and capable of carrying the substrate; and
processing the substrate in the process module (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8) or loading the substrate into the process module via the first container mover (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8),
But, Obara does not expressly disclose “a third container mover disposed between the first container mover and the second container mover, the second container mover, and the substrate carrier, and processing the substrate in the process module”.
However, in the analogous art, Kaneko teaches a film forming device ([Abstract]; see Google Translation of TW 201810426 A), wherein a film forming apparatus includes: a first processing container and a second processing container for storing a substrate, forming a vacuum environment, and performing a film forming process; the first processing container and the first processing container on which a transfer container storing the substrate is placed; loading ports common to processing containers; freely switchable between normal pressure environment and vacuum environment, forming a loading lock chamber provided with a substrate transfer mechanism for transferring each of the substrates to the first processing container and the second processing container, and a load lock module provided to connect the first processing container and the second processing container; interposed between the load port and the load lock module, for receiving and receiving the load between the load port and the substrate transfer mechanism The substrate transfer area of the substrate under a normal pressure environment; a film forming gas supply mechanism for supplying the film forming gas to the first processing container and the second processing container independently, and forming a film on the substrate; and the first processing container, and the second processing container, each of which independently supplies a cleaning gas supply for removing a cleaning gas from the film formed by the film forming gas; a control section that outputs a control signal to control the interactive transfer of the substrate to the first processing container and the second processing container, and to supply the first processing container and the second processing container with one and the other in parallel (Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Kaneko’s a substrate transfer mechanism into Obara’s method, and thereby, modified Obara’s (by Kaneko) method will have a third container (Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5) mover disposed between the first container mover (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8) and the second container mover (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8), the second container mover Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8), and the substrate carrier Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8), and processing the substrate in the process module (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Obara in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a substrate transfer mechanism transferring each of the substrates to the first processing container and the second processing container and a control section (Kaneko Page 1, Claim 1) which enhance the capabilities of the film forming device with more efficient processes .
Regarding claim 20, modified Obara (by Kaneko) teaches all of the features of claim 19.
Modified Obara by (Kaneko) a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising the method of claim 19 (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5)
Regarding claim 21, Obara teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes, by a computer, a substrate processing apparatus to perform a process (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [Abstract+], and as cited below; see Google Translation of JPH 08111448 A) comprising:
loading a substrate into the process module among a plurality of process modules (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8) via a first container mover capable of moving a container accommodating the substrate (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8) and the substrate carrier disposed between the first container mover and a second container mover (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8) disposed at a position different from the first container mover and capable of moving the container (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8), configured to be communicable with the plurality of process modules, and capable of carrying the substrate; and processing the substrate in the process module (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8); or loading the substrate into the process module via the first container mover (see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8),
But, Obara does not expressly disclose “a third container mover disposed between the first container mover and the second container mover, the second container mover, and the substrate carrier, and processing the substrate in the process module”.
However, in the analogous art, Kaneko teaches a film forming device ([Abstract]; see Google Translation of TW 201810426 A), wherein a film forming apparatus includes: a first processing container and a second processing container for storing a substrate, forming a vacuum environment, and performing a film forming process; the first processing container and the first processing container on which a transfer container storing the substrate is placed; loading ports common to processing containers; freely switchable between normal pressure environment and vacuum environment, forming a loading lock chamber provided with a substrate transfer mechanism for transferring each of the substrates to the first processing container and the second processing container, and a load lock module provided to connect the first processing container and the second processing container; interposed between the load port and the load lock module, for receiving and receiving the load between the load port and the substrate transfer mechanism The substrate transfer area of the substrate under a normal pressure environment; a film forming gas supply mechanism for supplying the film forming gas to the first processing container and the second processing container independently, and forming a film on the substrate; and the first processing container, and the second processing container, each of which independently supplies a cleaning gas supply for removing a cleaning gas from the film formed by the film forming gas; a control section that outputs a control signal to control the interactive transfer of the substrate to the first processing container and the second processing container, and to supply the first processing container and the second processing container with one and the other in parallel (Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Kaneko’s a substrate transfer mechanism into Obara’s substrate processing apparatus, and thereby, modified Obara’s (by Kaneko) substrate processing apparatus will havea third container mover (Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5) disposed between the first container mover (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8) and the second container mover (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8), the second container mover (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8), and the substrate carrier (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8), and processing the substrate in the process module (Obara see Figs. 1-14; see Claims 1-2; see Pages 3-5, 6-8 in view of Kaneko Figs. 1-2; see Page 1, Claim 1; see Pages 3-5).
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Obara in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a substrate transfer mechanism transferring each of the substrates to the first processing container and the second processing container and a control section (Kaneko Page 1, Claim 1) which enhance the capabilities of the film forming device with more efficient processes.
Conclusion
/OMAR F MOJADDEDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898