DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. US 2017/0254968 A1 in view of Lu et al. US 2021/0134751 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Ding discloses:
A semiconductor package structure (Fig. 3), comprising:
an electronic device (Fig. 3 in view of Fig. 5A FOWLP); and
a photonic device (130) disposed over the electronic device,
wherein the photonic device has a first sidewall (right) and a second sidewall (left) opposite to the first sidewall, the first sidewall defines a space configured to connect to an optical component (138) and the second sidewall overlaps the electronic device in the cross-sectional view perspective.
Ding does not disclose:
the first sidewall does not overlap the electronic device in a cross-sectional view perspective.
Lu discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
A photonic device (30) where the first sidewall (right) does not overlap the electronic device (20, 60,50) in a cross-sectional view perspective and the second sidewall (left) overlaps the electronic device in the cross-sectional view perspective (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to extending the first sidewall of Ding the such that it does not overlap the electronic device to further define an alternative configuration as shown by Lu at least to allow further stability to the overall optical assembly and desired configuration options for particular applications.
(claim 5) Lu: an electronic device (20); a first and second pillar (50).
(claim 6) Lu: a conductive element (40).
(claim 7) Lu: an encapsulant (60).
(claim 9) Ding: a first conductive bump (136); a second conductive bump (119 under 136); and a third conductive bump (119).
Claims 2-4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding/Lu, as applied to claim 1, in view of Tseng et al. US 2021/0193605 A1.
Regarding claims 2-4, Ding/Lu do not disclose:
(claim 2) further comprising a redistribution layer disposed between the electronic device and the photonic device, wherein a sidewall of the redistribution layer overlaps the photonic device in the cross-sectional view perspective; (claim 3) further comprising: a first conductive bump and a second conductive bump electrically connecting the redistribution layer to the photonic device; and a non-conductive layer between the first conductive bump and the second conductive bump; and (claim 4) wherein the non-conductive layer contacts the photonic device and the redistribution layer.
Tseng discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
a redistribution layer (152) disposed over an electronic device (130); and a first conductive bump (172) and a second conductive bump (172) electrically connected to the redistribution layer for external connections (Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the redistribution layer of Tseng disposed between the electronic device and the photonic device of Ding/Lu such that a sidewall of the redistribution layer overlaps the photonic device in the cross-sectional view perspective and connected through the conductive bumps in order to allow desired routing of the electrical connections. Furthermore, although Tseng does not disclose “a non-conductive layer between the first conductive bump and the second conductive bump” such that “[it] contacts the photonic device and the redistribution layer” in the combination with Ding/Lu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to understand that such material would be known in the art to protect the bump connections from physical damage/environment and add mechanical stability to the overall assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Ding/Lu do not disclose:
further comprising a redistribution layer contacting the encapsulant and electrically connected to the first conductive pillar, the second conductive pillar, and the conductive element.
Tseng discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
further comprising a redistribution layer (152) contacting the encapsulant (140) and electrically connected to the first conductive pillar (120), the second conductive pillar (120), and the conductive element (135) (Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the redistribution layer of Tseng contacting the similar encapsulant and electrically contacting the similar first/second conductive pillars and conductive element of Ding/Lu to allow desired routing of the electrical connections between the electronic device and photonic device.
Claims 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. US 2017/0254968 A1 in view of Tseng et al. US 2021/0193605 A1.
Regarding claims 10-14, Ding discloses:
A semiconductor package structure (Fig. 3), comprising:
a photonic device (130) comprising a recess structure (recess 130 where 138 fits) configured to accommodate an optical component (138); and
an electronic device (Fig. 3 in view of Fig. 5A FOWLP) disposed under the photonic device.
Ding does not disclose:
wherein the electronic device comprises a substrate and a first conductive via passing through the substrate, the first conducive via comprises a first conductive layer, and at least a portion of the first conductive layer extends over a bottom surface of the substrate.
Tseng discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
wherein the electronic device (120, 130, 140) comprises a substrate (110b and/or 140) and a first conductive via (120) passing through the substrate, the first conducive via comprises a first conductive layer (180/870), and at least a portion of the first conductive layer extends over a bottom surface of the substrate (Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the similar conductive via structures of Tseng within the assembly of Ding to electrically connect the electronic device to the photonic device to provide a more stable structure.
(claims 11-13) Tseng: Fig. 15; showing second conductive via (120).
(claim 14) Tseng: first/second UBM (180b); and solder element (870).
Regarding claims 15-20, Ding discloses:
A semiconductor package structure (Fig. 3), comprising:
a photonic device (130) comprising a recess structure (recess 130 where 138 fits) configured to accommodate an optical component (138); and
an electronic device (Fig. 3 in view of Fig. 5A FOWLP) disposed under the photonic device.
Ding does not disclose:
wherein the electronic device comprises a substrate and a first conductive via passing through the substrate and electrically connected to the photonic device; and
a redistribution layer disposed between the photonic device and the substrate, wherein the redistribution layer is electrically connected to the first conductive via and the photonic device.
Tseng discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
wherein the electronic device (120, 130, 140) comprises a substrate (110b and/or 140) and a first conductive via (120) passing through the substrate; and
a redistribution layer (152) is electrically connected to the first conductive via (Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the similar conductive via structures and redistribution layer of Tseng within the assembly of Ding to electrically connect the electronic device to the photonic device providing a more stable structure while also allowing desired routing of the electrical connections.
(claims 16-18) Tseng: Fig. 15; showing second conductive via (120); first/second UBM (180b); and solder element (870).
(claims 19 and 20) Tseng: Fig. 15; first and second conductive traces (154a-154c) relative to the first/second UBMs (180b).
Conclusion
/ERROL V FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, AU 2893