DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0139065), Tokunaga et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0112510), and Kobayashi et al. (WO 2014/061696).
Regarding Claim 1, Chan discloses a communication system (Figure 2) comprising:
a slave device (Figure 2, item 32) that receives a power supply from a power source (Figure 2, item 30) via a first power supply switching section (Figure 2, item 202) configured to switch between a first conduction state in which a first power supply path is conducted and a first cutoff state in which the first power supply path is cut off (paragraph 0040);
a first power supply switching control section configured to receive a power supply from the power source and control an operation of the first power supply switching section (paragraphs 0040-0041; i.e., a power processing unit within switch unit 202 controls operation of the power supply switching section).
Chan does not expressly disclose wherein the slave device is a control device;
wherein the first power supply switching control section receives the power supply via a second power supply switching section configured to switch between a second conduction state in which a second power supply path is conducted and a second cutoff state in which the second power supply path is cut off;
a second power supply switching control section configured to control an operation of the second power supply switching section;
a switching transmission section configured to transmit, based on a management frame that is a communication frame including first switching information indicating whether to bring the first power supply switching section into the first conduction state and second switching information indicating whether to bring the second power supply switching section into the second conduction state, first switching instruction information indicating whether to bring the first power supply switching section into the first conduction state to the first power supply switching control section; and
a power supply control section configured to bring the second power supply switching section into either the second conduction state or the second cutoff state based on the management frame.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., devices on CAN networks), Tokunaga teaches wherein the slave device is a control device (Figure 1A, item 10b, paragraph 0019; i.e., an electronic control unit is connected to another electronic control unit 10a, which is equivalent to the claimed “first power supply switching control section” [see below]);
wherein the first power supply switching control section (Figure 1A, item 10a; i.e., the instant specification refers to a slave ECU such as ECU 10a as the claimed “first power supply switching control section”, see paragraph 0084) receives the power supply (Figure 1A, item 30) via a second power supply switching section (Figure 1A, item 22) configured to switch between a second conduction state in which a second power supply path is conducted and a second cutoff state in which the second power supply path is cut off (paragraph 0024);
a second power supply switching control section configured to control an operation of the second power supply switching section (Figure 1A, item 20, paragraph 0023).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Tokunaga’s teachings of devices on CAN networks with the teachings of Chan, for the purpose of being able to selectively control power to individual components of the communication system, thereby lowering power consumption in the system as needed.
Also in the same field of endeavor (e.g., devices on CAN networks), Kobayashi teaches a switching transmission section (Figure 3, item 43) configured to transmit, based on a management frame (paragraphs 0032 and 0037; i.e., each of the ECUs 31 and 32 transmits frames to control power; the combination of the frames are received and stored in the buffer 43b and is equivalent to the “management frame”) that is a communication frame including first switching information indicating whether to bring the first power supply switching section (Figure 5, item 61b connected to item 32) into the first conduction state and second switching information indicating whether to bring the second power supply switching section (Figure 5, item 61b connected to item 31) into the second conduction state, first switching instruction information indicating whether to bring the first power supply switching section into the first conduction state to the first power supply switching control section (abstract, paragraphs 0032 and 0044; i.e., each of the ECUs 31 and 32 transmit a frame to tell the switching transmission section 43 to turn on or off power via a corresponding switch 61b); and
a power supply control section (Figure 3, item 45, paragraph 0041) configured to bring the second power supply switching section into either the second conduction state or the second cutoff state based on the management frame (paragraphs 0037 and 0045-0046; i.e., the power supply control section 45 transmits a signal to the power switch ECU 61 to turn on or off power via the second power supply switching section 61b).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kobayashi’s teachings of devices on CAN networks with the teachings of Chan, for the purpose of providing a more efficient mechanism to control the power supply switching sections. More specifically, by using frames that convey information rather than basic command signals, more information can be included within a single signal.
Regarding Claim 2, Kobayashi teaches a switching section management table (Figure 4) in which first mounting destination information indicating a control device (Figure 5, item 61a) on which the first power supply switching section is mounted and second mounting destination information indicating a control device (Figure 5, item 61a, paragraph 0046; i.e., the control unit 61a controls both of the switches 61b) on which the second power supply switching section is mounted are set (paragraphs 0042-0043; i.e., destination information of each of the plurality ECUs in the system [which includes ECU 61] is contained in the management table),
wherein the switching transmission section is configured to transmit, upon receiving the management frame, a first switching request for requesting whether to bring the first power supply switching section into the first conduction state to the first power supply switching control section as the first switching instruction information based on the first mounting destination information of the switching section management table and the first switching information (paragraphs 0032, 0042-0043, and 0058; i.e., the switching transmission section 43 will transmit the management frame via to the ECU 61 based on information in the management table).
Regarding Claim 4, Kobayashi teaches wherein the switching transmission section is configured to transmit the management frame to the first power supply switching control section as the first switching instruction information upon receiving the management frame (abstract, paragraphs 0032 and 0044), and
the first power supply switching control section (Figure 5, item 61a, paragraph 0046) is configured to bring the first power supply switching section into either the first conduction state or the first cutoff state based on the first switching information included in the management frame upon receiving the management frame (paragraphs 0044-0046).
Regarding Claim 6, Kobayashi teaches wherein in a case where the second power supply switching section is in the second cutoff state (paragraph 0032; i.e., a first management frame could have already cut off power to the second power supply switching section 61b) and the second switching information included in the management frame indicates the second conduction state (paragraph 0032; i.e., a second management frame could cause the second power supply switching section 61b to be turned back on), the switching transmission section is configured to transmit the management frame after the second power supply switching section is in the second conduction state and the first power supply switching control section is activated (paragraph 0054; i.e., the various ECUs can be put into sleep and activated states) (paragraph 0039; i.e., frames sent from the ECUs 31 and 32 to put the switches 61b into a conducting or non-conducting state can be arbitrated and one can be sent ahead of the other; therefore, the management frame can cause the first switch 61b [connected to ECU 32] to be turned on after the second switch 61b [connected to ECU 31] has already been turned on).
Regarding Claim 7, Chan discloses wherein the communication system includes:
the slave device (Figure 2, item 32);
a zone control device (Figure 2, item 20) that is connected to the slave control device (paragraph 0039) and includes the first power supply switching section (Figure 2, item 202, paragraph 0038).
Chan does not expressly disclose wherein the slave device is a control device;
the zone control device is data-communicably connected to the slave control device;
an upstream power distribution section including the second power supply switching section; and
a central control device that is data-communicably connected to the zone control device and the upstream power distribution section,
wherein the central control device and the upstream power distribution section include the second power supply switching control section, the switching transmission section, and the power supply control section.
In the same field of endeavor, Tokunaga teaches wherein the slave device is a control device (Figure 1A, item 10b, paragraph 0019; i.e., an electronic control unit is connected to another electronic control unit 10a, which is equivalent to the claimed “first power supply switching control section”);
the zone control device (Figure 1A, item 11 within item 10a) is data-communicably connected (Figure 1A, item 100) to the slave control device (paragraph 0020);
an upstream power distribution section including the second power supply switching section (Figure 1A, item 21); and
a central control device that is data-communicably connected to the zone control device and the upstream power distribution section (Figure 1A, item 23, paragraphs 0020 and 0023);
wherein the central control device and the upstream power distribution section include the second power supply switching control section (Figure 1A, item 23).
Also in the same field of endeavor, Kobayashi teaches wherein the central control device and the upstream power distribution section (Figure 1, item 4) include the switching transmission section (Figure 3, item 43) and the power supply control section (Figure 3, item 45, paragraph 0041).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 8, Chan discloses a power supply switching device (Figure 2, item 20) in a communication system (Figure 2) including a slave device (Figure 2, item 32) that receives a power supply from a power source (Figure 2, item 30) via a first power supply switching section (Figure 2, item 202) configured to switch between a first conduction state in which a first power supply path is conducted and a first cutoff state in which the first power supply path is cut off (paragraph 0040) and control an operation of the first power supply switching section (paragraphs 0040-0041; i.e., a power processing unit within switch unit 202 controls operation of the power supply switching section).
Chan does not expressly disclose wherein the slave device is a control device;
a power supply switching control section configured to receive a power supply from the power source via a second power supply switching section configured to switch between a second conduction state in which a second power supply path is conducted and a second cutoff state in which the second power supply path is cut off;
the power supply switching device being configured to control an operation of the second power supply switching section, the power supply switching device comprising:
a switching transmission section configured to transmit, based on a management frame that is a communication frame including first switching information indicating whether to bring the first power supply switching section into the first conduction state and second switching information indicating whether to bring the second power supply switching section into the second conduction state, first switching instruction information indicating whether to bring the first power supply switching section into the first conduction state to the power supply switching control section; and
a power supply control section configured to bring the second power supply switching section into either the second conduction state or the second cutoff state based on the management frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Tokunaga teaches wherein the slave device is a control device (Figure 1A, item 10b, paragraph 0019; i.e., an electronic control unit is connected to another electronic control unit 10a, which is equivalent to the claimed “first power supply switching control section” [see below]);
a power supply switching control section (Figure 1A, item 10a; i.e., the instant specification refers to a slave ECU such as ECU 10a as the claimed “first power supply switching control section”, see paragraph 0084) configured to receive a power supply (Figure 1A, item 30) from the power source (Figure 1A, item 30) via a second power supply switching section (Figure 1A, item 22) configured to switch between a second conduction state in which a second power supply path is conducted and a second cutoff state in which the second power supply path is cut off (paragraph 0024);
the power supply switching device (Figure 1A, item 20) being configured to control an operation of the second power supply switching section (paragraph 0023).
Also in the same field of endeavor, Kobayashi teaches the power supply switching device (Figure 1, item 4) comprising:
a switching transmission section (Figure 3, item 43) configured to transmit, based on a management frame (paragraphs 0032 and 0037; i.e., each of the ECUs 31 and 32 transmits frames to control power; the combination of the frames are received and stored in the buffer 43b and is equivalent to the “management frame”) that is a communication frame including first switching information indicating whether to bring the first power supply switching section (Figure 5, item 61b connected to item 32) into the first conduction state and second switching information indicating whether to bring the second power supply switching section (Figure 5, item 61b connected to item 31) into the second conduction state, first switching instruction information indicating whether to bring the first power supply switching section into the first conduction state to the power supply switching control section (abstract, paragraphs 0032 and 0044; i.e., each of the ECUs 31 and 32 transmit a frame to tell the switching transmission section 43 to turn on or off power via a corresponding switch 61b); and
a power supply control section (Figure 3, item 45, paragraph 0041) configured to bring the second power supply switching section into either the second conduction state or the second cutoff state based on the management frame (paragraphs 0037 and 0045-0046; i.e., the power supply control section 45 transmits a signal to the power switch ECU 61 to turn on or off power via the second power supply switching section 61b).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art of record does not teach “the switching transmission section is configured to prohibit transmission of the first switching request in a case where the second switching information included in the management frame indicates the second cutoff state”.
Regarding Claim 5, the prior art of record does not teach “the switching transmission section is configured to prohibit transmission of the management frame in a case where the second switching information included in the management frame indicates the second cutoff state”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because each reference discloses a system for supplying power to a master control unit as well as plural slave control units.
/FAISAL M ZAMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175