DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 10/09/25 is
acknowledged.
Claims 6-10 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b)
as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking
claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/09/25.
Claim Objections
Claims 13, 14, and 16 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 1, 2, and 5. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is no support in disclosure indicating successively laminating magnetic layer, protective layer and lubricant layer on both surfaces of a nonmagnetic substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyoshi Tanaka (Japanese Patent: H1125452, here after Tanaka), further in view of Seiya Mori et al (Korean Patent: 20220009347, here after Mori).
Claims 1, and 13 are rejected. Tanaka teaches a method for manufacturing a magnetic recording medium, comprising: successively laminating at least a magnetic layer, a protective film, and a lubricant layer on a nonmagnetic substrate[abstract]; and
performing a treatment (UV curing) on a surface of the lubricant layer (perfluoropolyether based lubricant) by irradiation of UV light [abstract]. Tanaka does not teach irradiation of UV light by LED light source. Mori teaches curing perfluoropolyether based layer with UV light, where the UV light is from a LED light source [page 16 paragraph 2] in making magneto-optical disks [page 17 paragraph 3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Tanaka where the UV light is from LED light source, because it is suitable UV source for generate UV light for per perfluoropolyether based layers. The examiner takes official notice that although UV treatment does not directly cause heating, however it causes breaking chemical bonds, which can cause a molecule to vibrate and increase its temperature, and UV absorbed by a substance and converted into heat energy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Tanaka and Mori and UV radiation causes heating the lubricant layer, because UV absorbed by lubricant generates heat. Tanaka teaches UV is in ambient condition therefore heat treatment is performed under an approximately atmospheric environment.
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected as Tanaka teaches the light emitted from the LED light source has (a center) wavelength shorter than 500 nm, and the (center) wavelength is 260 nm [page 4 lines 15-20] which in fact excludes a wavelength range of 170 nm to 190 nm.
Claim 3 is rejected as Tanaka teaches UV is in ambient condition therefore heat
treatment is performed under an approximately atmospheric pressure.
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected as Tanaka teaches the UV treatment(heat) is
Performed about 0.1-30 minutes [page 4 lines 15-18]. Although Tanaka does not teach UV (heat) treatment within 60 seconds. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of
obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have
selected the portion of [overlapping range] that corresponds to the claimed range. In re
Malagari, 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of
Tanaka and Mori where the treatment is within 60 seconds, because it would have been
obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of overlapping range that corresponds to the claimed range.
Claim 15 is rejected as Tanaka teaches UV light is directly irradiated on the lubricant layer (UV is to cure the lub Layer and should irradiate directly on lub layer otherwise will be absorb by other layers) [abstract, 0005].
Claim 17 is rejected. Tanaka teaches a method for manufacturing a magnetic recording medium, comprising: successively laminating at least a magnetic layer, a protective film, and a lubricant layer on a nonmagnetic substrate[abstract]; and
performing a treatment (heat and UV curing) on a surface of the lubricant layer (perfluoropolyether based lubricant) [abstract]. Tanaka does not teach irradiation of UV light by LED light source. Mori teaches curing perfluoropolyether based layer with UV light, where the UV light is from a LED light source [page 16 paragraph 2] in making magneto-optical disks [page 17 paragraph 3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Tanaka where the UV light is from LED light source, because it is suitable UV source for generate UV light for per perfluoropolyether based layers. The examiner takes official notice that although UV treatment does not directly cause heating, however it causes breaking chemical bonds, which can cause a molecule to vibrate and increase its temperature, and UV absorbed by a substance and converted into heat energy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Tanaka and Mori and UV radiation causes heating the lubricant layer, because UV absorbed by lubricant generates heat. Tanaka teaches immediately after laminating the lubricant layer on the nonmagnetic substrate heat treatment preformed (heat and UV curing leads to heat) [abstract].
Claim 18 is rejected as Tanaka teaches the light emitted from the LED light source has (a center) wavelength shorter than 500 nm, and the (center) wavelength is 260 nm [page 4 lines 15-20] which in fact excludes a wavelength range of 170 nm to 190 nm.
Claim 19 is rejected. Tanaka teaches UV is in ambient condition therefore heat treatment is performed under an approximately atmospheric environment.
Claim 20 is rejected as Tanaka teaches UV is in ambient condition therefore heat
treatment is performed under an approximately atmospheric pressure.
Claim 21 is rejected as Tanaka teaches UV light is directly irradiated on the lubricant layer (UV is to cure the lub Layer and should irradiate directly on lub layer otherwise will be absorb by other layers) [abstract, 0005].
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi Tani et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2020/0395045, here after Tani), further in view of Seiya Mori et al (Korean Patent: 20220009347, here after Mori).
Claim 11 is rejected. Tani teaches a method for manufacturing a magnetic recording medium, comprising: successively laminating magnetic layers, protective films, and lubricant layers on first and second surfaces (both surfaces) of a nonmagnetic substrate(glass) opposite to each other [abstract, 0110, fig. 2], and performing a treatment (UV curing) on both surfaces of the lubricant layers (perfluoropolyether based lubricant) by irradiation of UV light(on first and second opposing the first and second surfaces of the substrate) [abstract, 0012, 0013, fig. 1 ]. Tani does not teach irradiation of UV light by LED light source. Mori teaches curing perfluoropolyether based layer with UV light, where the UV light is from a LED light source [page 16 paragraph 2] in making magneto-optical disks [page 17 paragraph 3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Tani where the UV lights is from LED light sources, because it is suitable UV source for generate UV light for per perfluoropolyether based layers. The examiner takes official notice that although UV treatment does not directly cause heating, however it causes breaking chemical bonds, which can cause a molecule to vibrate and increase its temperature, and UV absorbed by a substance and converted into heat energy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Tani and Mori and UV radiation causes heating the lubricant layer, because UV absorbed by lubricant generates heat. Tani teaches UV is in ambient condition therefore heat treatment is performed under an approximately atmospheric environment.
Claim 12 is rejected as Tani teaches UV light is directly irradiated on the lubricant layer (UV is to cure the lub Layer and should irradiate directly on lub layer otherwise will be absorb by other layers) [also see fig, 1].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/05/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues Tanaka does not teach heat treatment with UV, however as discussed in claim rejection UV curing it causes breaking chemical bonds, which can cause a molecule to vibrate and increase its temperature, and UV absorbed by a substance and converted into heat energy.
The applicant argues Tanaka teaches UV curing under nitrogen environment and not atmospheric environment. The examiner disagrees; performing UV treatment in nitrogen, argon or vacuum atmosphere is preferred embodiment of Tanaka, and it is when large amount of activated ozone is produce, therefore in other embodiment rather than preferred embodiment or when lubricate layer is not very thick to produce large amount of ozone UV exposure can be at ambient embodiment similar to heating at oxidation atmosphere(0015).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718