DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-11 and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210332673 A1 to Fripp in view of US 20130020088 A1 to Dyer, Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) and US 20040168829 A1 to Hess.
(Note: Independent claims are addressed first so that like claims can be grouped together)
Regarding claim 1: Fripp discloses 1. A multilateral lateral bore completion (Abstract), comprising:
a tubular 24l having a first end and a second end;
a transition joint 28 coupled to the first end of the tubular, the transition joint configured to extend out into a main wellbore.(Figs 1a,1b, 2a [0009-0011], Figure 2a clearly shows 28 extending out into the main wellbore)
first and second packers located on a radial exterior surface of the tubular (Figure 1a), the first and second packers configured to have a radially extended state to engage with a wellbore tubular and separate the tubular into first and second production zones (Figure 1a); and
an expandable metal anchor 50B, 50B positioned on the radial exterior surface of the tubular and transition joint configured to extend out into the main wellbore (Figure 2a clearly shows 28 extending out into the main wellbore), the expandable metal anchor including a metal configured to expand in response to hydrolysis to axially and rotationally fix the tubular with respect to the wellbore tubular ([0008]-[0011], [0021]; claim 1; and figures 1A, 2A-2B)
However Fripp is not explicit about the packers having a radially retracted state, a first interval control valve located in the tubular in the first production zone and a second interval control valve located in the tubular in the second production zone, or explicitly where the expandable metal anchor is configured to rotationally fix the tubular with respect to the wellbore tubular is “prior to the transition joint being washed over..”
AAPA teaches that it is well-known that packers have a retracted state and an expanded state, so as to allow the packer to be placed in a wellbore prior to expansion and sealing with an exterior tubular, such as casing.
Consequently It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp, such that the packers have a retracted state for deployment of the tubular into the well prior to radially extending them, as this is a well-known feature of wellbore packers.
Dyer teaches a completion for a wellbore (Figure 1) )with a section of tubing having packers(210,212) and interval control valves 220,222 in the tubular.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp and include a first interval control valve located in the tubular in the first production zone and a second interval control valve located in the tubular in the second production zone, in view of Dyer, so as to allow control of fluid into or out of the formation [0056].
While the Examiner notes that Fripp does not clearly disclose expandable metal anchor being expanded (and thus rotationally fixed by the expandable metal anchor) prior to the transition joint being washed over, Fripp does clearly show the joint prior to being washed over (Figure 2A) and washed over (Figure 2B) and shows what appears to be a mill, or washover tool on the far left of figure 2A.
Hess teaches a multilateral junction liner 22 positioned into a lateral 24 and cemented in prior to running a washover tool 34 to trim the upper end 26 of the liner that extends into the parent wellbore.[0015-0016].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp, such that the anchoring sealing means was activated prior to running a washover tool, in view of Hess, so that the upper end of the liner is cut off [0016] while it is held securely in place by the anchoring material.
Furthermore, It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp to such that his system was configured to expand the expandable metal anchor prior to operating the washover tool to remove the portion of the joint 28 and anchor 50 as obvious to try- choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (configured to expand and fix prior to washover, configured to expand and fix after washover), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11: Fripp discloses 11. A well system 20, comprising:
a main wellbore located within a subterranean formation;
a lateral wellbore extending from the main wellbore; and
a multilateral lateral bore completion located in the lateral wellbore, the multilateral lateral bore completion including: (Figure 1a)
a tubular 241 having a first end and a second end;
a transition joint 28 coupled to the first end of the tubular, the transition joint configured to extend out into a main wellbore.(Figs 1a,1b, 2a [0009-0011], Figure 2a clearly shows 28 extending out into the main wellbore)
first and second packers located on a radial exterior surface of the tubular (Figure 1a), the first and second packers configured to have a radially extended state to engage with a wellbore tubular and separate the tubular into first and second production zones (Figure 1a); and
an expandable metal anchor 50B, 50B positioned on the radial exterior surface of the tubular (Figure 2a) and transition joint configured to extend out into the main wellbore (Figure 2a clearly shows 28 extending out into the main wellbore), the expandable metal anchor including a metal configured to expand in response to hydrolysis to axially and rotationally fix the tubular with respect to the wellbore tubular. ([0008]-[0011], [0021]; claim 1; and figures 1A, 2A-2B)
However Fripp is not explicit about the packers having a radially retracted state, a first interval control valve located in the tubular in the first production zone and a second interval control valve located in the tubular in the second production zone or where the system is configured to rotationally fix the tubular with respect to the wellbore tubular is “prior to the transition joint being washed over..”
AAPA teaches that it is well-known that packers have a retracted state and an expanded state, so as to allow the packer to be placed in a wellbore prior to expansion and sealing with an exterior tubular, such as casing.
Consequently It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp, such that the packers have a retracted state for deployment of the tubular into the well prior to radially extending them, as this is a well-known feature of wellbore packers.
Dyer teaches a completion for a wellbore (Figure 1) )with a section of tubing having packers(210,212) and interval control valves 220,222 in the tubular.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp and include a first interval control valve located in the tubular in the first production zone and a second interval control valve located in the tubular in the second production zone, in view of Dyer, so as to allow control of fluid into or out of the formation [0056].
While the Examiner notes that Fripp does not clearly disclose expandable metal anchor being expanded (and thus rotationally fixed by the expandable metal anchor) prior to the transition joint being washed over, Fripp does clearly show the joint prior to being washed over (Figure 2A) and washed over (Figure 2B) and shows what appears to be a mill, or washover tool on the far left of figure 2A.
Hess teaches a multilateral junction liner 22 positioned into a lateral 24 and cemented in prior to running a washover tool 34 to trim the upper end 26 of the liner that extends into the parent wellbore.[0015-0016].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp, such that the anchoring sealing means was activated prior to running a washover tool, in view of Hess, so that the upper end of the liner is cut off [0016] while it is held securely in place by the anchoring material.
Furthermore, It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp to such that his system was configured to expand the expandable metal anchor prior to operating the washover tool to remove the portion of the joint 28 and anchor 50 as obvious to try- choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (configured to expand and fix prior to washover, configured to expand and fix after washover), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 21: Fripp discloses 21. A method for forming a well system 20, comprising:
forming a main wellbore within a subterranean formation;
forming a lateral wellbore off of the main wellbore; and
positioning a multilateral lateral bore completion in the main wellbore, the multilateral lateral bore completion (Figure 1a) including:
a tubular 241 having a first end and a second end;
a transition joint 28 coupled to the first end of the tubular, the transition joint configured to extend out into a main wellbore.(Figs 1a,1b, 2a [0009-0011], Figure 2a clearly shows 28 extending out into the main wellbore)
first and second packers located on a radial exterior surface of the tubular (Figure 1a), the first and second packers configured to have a radially extended state to engage with a wellbore tubular and separate the tubular into first and second production zones (Figure 1a); and
an expandable metal anchor 50B, 50B positioned on the radial exterior surface of the tubular (Figure 2a) and transition joint configured to extend out into the main wellbore (Figure 2a clearly shows 28 extending out into the main wellbore), the expandable metal anchor including a metal configured to expand in response to hydrolysis to axially and rotationally fix the tubular with respect to the wellbore tubular. ([0008]-[0011], [0021]; claim 1; and figures 1A, 2A-2B)
However Fripp is not explicit about the packers having a radially retracted state, a first interval control valve located in the tubular in the first production zone and a second interval control valve located in the tubular in the second production zone or where the system is configured to rotationally fix the tubular with respect to the wellbore tubular is “prior to the transition joint being washed over..”
AAPA teaches that it is well-known that packers have a retracted state and an expanded state, so as to allow the packer to be placed in a wellbore prior to expansion and sealing with an exterior tubular, such as casing.
Consequently It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp, such that the packers have a retracted state for deployment of the tubular into the well prior to radially extending them, as this is a well-known feature of wellbore packers.
Dyer teaches a completion for a wellbore (Figure 1) )with a section of tubing having packers(210,212) and interval control valves 220,222 in the tubular.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp and include a first interval control valve located in the tubular in the first production zone and a second interval control valve located in the tubular in the second production zone, in view of Dyer, so as to allow control of fluid into or out of the formation [0056].
While the Examiner notes that Fripp does not clearly disclose expandable metal anchor being expanded (and thus rotationally fixed by the expandable metal anchor) prior to the transition joint being washed over, Fripp does clearly show the joint prior to being washed over (Figure 2A) and washed over (Figure 2B) and shows what appears to be a mill, or washover tool on the far left of figure 2A.
Hess teaches a multilateral junction liner 22 positioned into a lateral 24 and cemented in prior to running a washover tool 34 to trim the upper end 26 of the liner that extends into the parent wellbore.[0015-0016].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp, such that the anchoring sealing means was activated prior to running a washover tool, in view of Hess, so that the upper end of the liner is cut off [0016] while it is held securely in place by the anchoring material.
Furthermore, It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp to such that his system was configured to expand the expandable metal anchor prior to operating the washover tool to remove the portion of the joint 28 and anchor 50 as obvious to try- choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (configured to expand and fix prior to washover, configured to expand and fix after washover), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 8 and 18: Fripp discloses the claimed invention except 8. The multilateral lateral bore completion as recited in claim 5, wherein the first packer is a first feedthrough packer, and further wherein a control line extends from the control line coupler through the first feedthrough packer to the first interval control valve.
Dyer teaches a completion for a wellbore (Figure 1) )with a section of tubing having packers(210,212) and interval control valves 220,222 in the tubular with a control line 350 feeding through the packers to the control valves.(Figure 3a-3c)
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp such that the first packer is a first feedthrough packer, and further wherein a control line extends from the control line coupler through the first feedthrough packer to the first interval control valve, in view of Dyer, so as to allow activation of the control valves [0090].
Regarding claims 9 and 19: Fripp discloses the claimed invention except 9. The multilateral lateral bore completion as recited in claim 8, wherein the second packer is a second feedthrough packer, and further wherein the control line extends from the control line coupler through the first feedthrough packer and the second feedthrough packer to the second interval control valve.
Dyer teaches a completion for a wellbore (Figure 1) )with a section of tubing having packers(210,212) and interval control valves 220,222 in the tubular with a control line 350 feeding through the packers to the control valves. (Figure 3a-3c)
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp such that the second packer is a second feedthrough packer, and further wherein the control line extends from the control line coupler through the first feedthrough packer and the second feedthrough packer to the second interval control valve., in view of Dyer, so as to allow activation of the control valves [0090].
Regarding claims 10 and 20: Fripp discloses wherein the expandable metal anchor is configured to go from metal to micron-scale particles that are larger and lock together.[0011-0016].
Regarding claim 22: Fripp discloses 22. The method as recited in claim 21, further including subjecting the expandable metal anchor to reactive fluid [0011]], the reactive fluid causing the metal of the expandable metal anchor to expand in response to hydrolysis to form an expanded metal anchor fixing the multilateral lateral bore completion in the lateral wellbore. ([0010-0016], figure 2b)
Claim(s) 5-7 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210332673 A1 to Fripp in view of US 20130020088 A1 to Dyer, and further in view of US 20210140276 A1 to Steele.
Regarding claims 5 and 15: Fripp discloses the claimed invention except further including a control line coupler located on the tubular between the first packer and the expandable metal anchor.
Steel teaches multilateral lateral bore completion 10 (Figure 1a, 1b,7, 8) with control lines 100 and control lines couplers (ETMs 108, ) mounted on a junction assembly of a lateral.(See for example figure 14)
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp and include a control line coupler located on the tubular between the first packer and the expandable metal anchor, in view of Steele, so as to receive/transmit control, data, and/or power signals from/to lower completion equipment in the lateral wellbores. (Abstract)
Regarding claims 6 and 16: Fripp discloses the claimed invention except the claimed invention except wherein the control line coupler is an inductive coupler.
Steel teaches multilateral lateral bore completion 10 (Figure 1a, 1b,7, 8) with control lines 100 and control lines couplers (ETMs 108, 220) mounted on a junction assembly of a lateral.(See for example figure 14), where the coupler is and inductive coupler [0041]
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp and include an inductive control line coupler in view of Steele, so as to receive/transmit control, data, and/or power signals from/to lower completion equipment in the lateral wellbores. (Abstract)
Regarding claims 7 and 17: Fripp discloses the claimed invention except wherein the control line coupler is a wet mate coupler.
Steel teaches multilateral lateral bore completion 10 (Figure 1a, 1b,7, 8) with control lines 100 and control lines couplers (ETMs 108) mounted on a junction assembly of a lateral.(See for example figure 14), where the coupler is and hydraulic coupler ([0102] interpreted as a wet mate coupler)
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Fripp and include an hydraulic control line coupler in view of Steele, so as to receive/transmit control, data, and/or power signals from/to lower completion equipment in the lateral wellbores. (Abstract)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 1/12/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendments to include the limitations directed at the expandable metal anchor being configured to rotationally fix the tubular with respect to the wellbore prior to the transition joint being washed over are noted.
Applicant argues that this limitation is not taught by Fripp or Dyer. The Examiner agrees, and the rejection is modified to address the new limitations.
Fripp shows in his figures 2A and 2B, before and after images of the joint. The before is prior to an expandable metal anchor being expanded, and shows the transition joint extending into the mother wellbore. Additionally a mill or washover tool is depicted. The after image shows the expandable metal anchor, in the expanded state, and the transition joint “trimmed”. The examiner notes that Fripp does not give an order of events of which happens first, the expanding, or the trimming. As best understood from the prior art, when installing a liner into a lateral junction, the liner is fixed in place, traditionally by cement, and a “washover tool” is deployed to trim off any material extending into the mother wellbore. US 20040168829 A1 to Hess in introduced to the above rejections to teach this aspect and that fixing the liner prior to trimming out make sense, so as to stabilize the liner. Additionally, If one where to disagree, there appears to be only two choices for the order of operations and it would have been obvious to try either order.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN A MACDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674