DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
(claim 1, lines 10-11) “the radial exterior surface of the transition joint” should be changed to “a radial exterior surface of the transition joint”.
(claim 2, line 3) “a radial exterior surface of the tubular” should be changed to “the radial exterior surface of the tubular”.
(claim 11, lines 15-16) “the radial exterior surface of the transition joint” should be changed to “a radial exterior surface of the transition joint”.
(claim 12, line 3) “a radial exterior surface of the tubular” should be changed to “the radial exterior surface of the tubular”.
(claim 21, line 4) “in the main wellbore” should be changed to “in the lateral wellbore”.
(claim 21, lines 15-16) “the radial exterior surface of the transition joint” should be changed to “a radial exterior surface of the transition joint”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel (US 7,866,414) and further in view of Fripp et al. (US 2021/0332673).
As concerns claim 1, Patel shows a multilateral lateral bore completion, comprising: a tubular (60) having a first end and a second end (Fig. 1); first and second packers (64, 64) located on a radial exterior surface of the tubular, the first and second packers configured to move from a radially retracted state to a radially extended state to engage with a wellbore tubular and separate the tubular into first and second production zones (Fig. 1); a first interval control valve (66) located in the tubular in the first production zone (Fig. 1) and a second interval control valve located in the tubular in the second production zone (col 6, ln 11-20); and a transition joint (69) coupled to the first end of the tubular (Fig. 1), the transition joint configured to extend out into a main wellbore (12). Patel discloses the claimed invention except for an expandable metal anchor positioned on a radial exterior surface of the transition joint, the expandable metal anchor including a metal configured to expand in response to hydrolysis to axially and rotationally fix the transition joint with respect to the wellbore tubular. Fripp teaches an expandable metal anchor (50B) positioned on a radial exterior surface of a transition joint (28), the expandable metal anchor including a metal configured to expand in response to hydrolysis to axially and rotationally fix the transition joint with respect to a wellbore tubular (Fig. 2A & 2B; paragraph 0010 & 0011). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Patel, as taught by Fripp, to include an expandable metal anchor for the expected benefit of axially and rotationally fixing the transition joint with respect to the wellbore tubular. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that positioning an expandable metal anchor on a radial exterior surface of the transition joint would have provided predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the expected result of this configuration improves versatility/adaptability/efficiency of the multilateral lateral bore completion design.
As concerns claims 2 and 12, the combination teaches wherein the expandable metal anchor is a first expandable metal anchor (Fripp: 50B). The combination discloses the claimed invention except for a second expandable metal anchor positioned on the radial exterior surface of the tubular. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized a second expandable metal anchor positioned on the radial exterior surface of the tubular for the expected benefit of providing redundancy and/or increasing the holding power to fix the lateral bore completion with respect to the wellbore tubular. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that positioning a second expandable metal anchor on the radial exterior surface of the tubular would have provided predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claims 3 and 13, Patel shows a control line coupler (34A) located on the tubular between the first packer and the expandable metal anchor (Fig. 1).
As concerns claims 4 and 14, Patel shows wherein the control line coupler is an inductive coupler (34A).
As concerns claims 5 and 15, Patel shows wherein the control line coupler is a wet mate coupler (col 2, ln 16-24).
As concerns claims 6 and 16, Patel shows wherein the first packer is a first feedthrough packer (64), and further wherein a control line (67) extends from the control line coupler through the first feedthrough packer to the first control valve (Fig. 1).
As concerns claims 7 and 17, Patel shows wherein the second packer is a second feedthrough packer (64), and further wherein the control line (67) extends from the control line coupler through the first feedthrough packer and the second feedthrough packer to the second interval control valve (Fig. 1).
As concerns claims 8 and 18, Patel shows wherein the transition joint has a transition joint diameter and the tubular has a tubular diameter, and further wherein the transition joint diameter is greater than the tubular diameter (Fig. 1).
As concerns claims 9 and 19, the combination teaches first and second end rings on opposing ends of the expandable metal anchor (Fripp: Fig. 3; paragraph 0017).
As concerns claims 10 and 20, the combination teaches wherein the expandable metal anchor is configured to go from metal to micron-scale particles that are larger and lock together (Fripp: paragraph 0010 & 0011).
As concerns claim 11, Patel shows a well system, comprising: a main wellbore (12) located within a subterranean formation (Fig. 1); a lateral wellbore (16) extending from the main wellbore (Fig. 1); and a multilateral lateral bore completion located in the lateral wellbore (Fig. 1), the multilateral lateral bore completion including: a tubular (60) having a first end and a second end (Fig. 1); first and second packers (64, 64) located on a radial exterior surface of the tubular, the first and second packers configured to move from a radially retracted state to a radially extended state to engage with a wellbore tubular and separate the tubular into first and second production zones (Fig. 1); a first interval control valve (66) located in the tubular in the first production zone (Fig. 1) and a second interval control valve located in the tubular in the second production zone (col 6, ln 11-20); and a transition joint (69) coupled to the first end of the tubular (Fig. 1), the transition joint configured to extend out into a main wellbore (12). Patel discloses the claimed invention except for an expandable metal anchor positioned on a radial exterior surface of the transition joint, the expandable metal anchor including a metal configured to expand in response to hydrolysis to axially and rotationally fix the transition joint with respect to the wellbore tubular. Fripp teaches an expandable metal anchor (50B) positioned on a radial exterior surface of a transition joint (28), the expandable metal anchor including a metal configured to expand in response to hydrolysis to axially and rotationally fix the transition joint with respect to a wellbore tubular (Fig. 2A & 2B; paragraph 0010 & 0011). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Patel, as taught by Fripp, to include an expandable metal anchor for the expected benefit of axially and rotationally fixing the transition joint with respect to the wellbore tubular. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that positioning an expandable metal anchor on a radial exterior surface of the transition joint would have provided predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the expected result of this configuration improves versatility/adaptability/efficiency of the multilateral lateral bore completion design.
As concerns claim 21, Patel shows a method for forming a well system, comprising: forming a main wellbore (12) within a subterranean formation (Fig. 1); forming a lateral wellbore (16) off of the main wellbore (Fig. 1); and positioning a multilateral lateral bore completion in the lateral wellbore (Fig. 1), the multilateral lateral bore completion including: a tubular (60) having a first end and a second end (Fig. 1); first and second packers (64, 64) located on a radial exterior surface of the tubular, the first and second packers configured to move from a radially retracted state to a radially extended state to engage with a wellbore tubular and separate the tubular into first and second production zones (Fig. 1); a first interval control valve (66) located in the tubular in the first production zone (Fig. 1) and a second interval control valve located in the tubular in the second production zone (col 6, ln 11-20); and a transition joint (69) coupled to the first end of the tubular (Fig. 1), the transition joint configured to extend out into a main wellbore (12). Patel discloses the claimed invention except for an expandable metal anchor positioned on a radial exterior surface of the transition joint, the expandable metal anchor including a metal configured to expand in response to hydrolysis to axially and rotationally fix the transition joint with respect to the wellbore tubular. Fripp teaches an expandable metal anchor (50B) positioned on a radial exterior surface of a transition joint (28), the expandable metal anchor including a metal configured to expand in response to hydrolysis to axially and rotationally fix the transition joint with respect to a wellbore tubular (Fig. 2A & 2B; paragraph 0010 & 0011). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Patel, as taught by Fripp, to include an expandable metal anchor for the expected benefit of axially and rotationally fixing the transition joint with respect to the wellbore tubular. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that positioning an expandable metal anchor on a radial exterior surface of the transition joint would have provided predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the expected result of this configuration improves versatility/adaptability/efficiency of the multilateral lateral bore completion design.
As concerns claim 22, the combination teaches subjecting the expandable metal anchor to reactive fluid, the reactive fluid causing the metal of the expandable metal anchor to expand in response to hydrolysis to form an expanded metal anchor fixing the transition joint in the lateral wellbore (Fripp: Fig. 2A & 2B; paragraph 0010 & 0011).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hepburn et al. (US 2006/0266531) shows a sealing material provided on a transition joint, wherein the sealing material swells when exposed to fluid in the well.
/MATTHEW R BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672