DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7, 9, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the projection" in each of lines 2-3, 3-4, 4-5, and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the infrared image light signals" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that this should perhaps be “the infrared image optical signals”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the optical waveguide substrate" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the projection" in each of lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the projection" in each of lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hodelin (US 2019/0129162 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Hodelin discloses a front sighting device comprising a housing (Fig. 5), and an infrared image assembly (101 & 102 & 502) and an optical waveguide assembly (103-106 & 504 & 506) provided in the housing (paragraphs 0040 & 0054 & Figs. 1 & 5), the optical waveguide assembly connected to the infrared image assembly; wherein a visible light channel (Fig. 1 - 202 & Fig. 5 - lower part of 506) and an infrared light channel (201 & 502) are formed in the housing, and the visible light channel and the infrared light channel are parallel to each other (paragraphs 0040 & 0054 & Figs. 1 & 5); wherein the infrared image assembly is provided in the infrared light channel, when infrared light signals from a target scene enter the infrared light channel, the infrared image assembly is configured to receive the infrared light signals, convert the infrared light signals into electrical signals, and send the electrical signals to the optical waveguide assembly (103-106 & 504 & 506 & paragraphs 0040 & 0054: thermal imager 502; Figs. 1 & 5); wherein the optical waveguide assembly is located on a transmission path of visible light signals (202) in the visible light channel (Fig. 1 - 202 & Fig. 5 - lower part of 506); the optical waveguide assembly is configured to transmit the visible light signals (202) incident into the visible light channel to a rear end of the visible light channel, and further receive the electrical signals to form a corresponding infrared image (104 & 504), transmit the infrared image in the form of optical signals within the optical waveguide assembly, and finally reflect the infrared image optical signals to the rear end of the visible light channel for fusion with the visible light signals transmitted to the rear end of the visible light channel before entering a human eye (paragraphs 0040 & 0054 & Figs. 1 & 5).
With respect to claim 15, Hodelin discloses a combined sighting system, comprising a white-light scope and a front sighting device, wherein the front sighting device is mounted in front of the white-light scope, and a white light optical axis of the white-light scope is located on the same straight line as the visible light optical axis of the front sighting device (paragraphs 0040 & 0054 & Figs. 1 & 5); wherein the front sighting device comprises a housing (Fig. 5), and an infrared image assembly (101 & 102 & 502) and an optical waveguide assembly (103-106 & 504 & 506) provided in the housing (paragraphs 0040 & 0054 & Figs. 1 & 5), the optical waveguide assembly connected to the infrared image assembly; wherein a visible light channel (Fig. 1 - 202 & Fig. 5 - lower part of 506) and an infrared light channel (201 & 502) are formed in the housing, and the visible light channel and the infrared light channel are parallel to each other (paragraphs 0040 & 0054 & Figs. 1 & 5); wherein the infrared image assembly is provided in the infrared light channel, when infrared light signals from a target scene enter the infrared light channel, the infrared image assembly is configured to receive the infrared light signals, convert the infrared light signals into electrical signals, and send the electrical signals to the optical waveguide assembly (103-106 & 504 & 506 & paragraphs 0040 & 0054: thermal imager 502; Figs. 1 & 5); and wherein the optical waveguide assembly is located on a transmission path of visible light signals (202) in the visible light channel (Fig. 1 - 202 & Fig. 5 - lower part of 506); the optical waveguide assembly is configured to transmit the visible light signals (202) incident into the visible light channel to a rear end of the visible light channel, and further receive the electrical signals to form a corresponding infrared image (104 & 504), transmit the infrared image in the form of optical signals within the optical waveguide assembly, and finally reflect the infrared image optical signals to the rear end of the visible light channel for fusion with the visible light signals transmitted to the rear end of the visible light channel before entering a human eye (paragraphs 0040 & 0054 & Figs. 1 & 5).
With respect to claim 16, Hodelin discloses a front sighting device comprising: a housing defining therein a visible light channel (Fig. 1 - 202 & Fig. 5 - lower part of 506) and an infrared light channel (201 & 502), the visible light channel having a first end from which visible light signals from a target scene are incident into the visible light channel and a second end opposite to the first end; an infrared image assembly (101 & 102 & 502) arranged in the infrared light channel, the infrared image assembly configured to receive infrared light signals incident into the infrared light channel from the target scene and convert the infrared light signals into electrical signals to be processed for forming an infrared image; and an optical waveguide assembly (103-106 & 504 & 506) arranged in the visible light channel between the first end and the second end, the optical waveguide assembly configured to transmit the visible light signals incident into the visible light channel from the first end to the second end of the visible light channel, the optical waveguide assembly further configured to transmit the infrared image in the form of optical signals within the optical waveguide assembly and reflect the infrared image optical signals to the second end of the visible light channel for fusion with the visible light signals transmitted to the second end of the visible light channel (paragraphs 0040 & 0054 & Figs. 1 & 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodelin (US 2019/0129162 A1) as applied to claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 8, Hodelin discloses wherein the housing comprises a first barrel portion and a second barrel portion for forming the visible light channel therein (Figs. 1 & 5); the first barrel portion is positioned so that the visible light is incident into the visible light channel via the first barrel portion. Hodelin does not specifically disclose the optical waveguide assembly is obliquely mounted in the second barrel portion, and the second barrel portion is provided with a protective window at one end away from the first barrel portion. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Hodelin to have the optical waveguide assembly be obliquely mounted in the second barrel portion, and the second barrel portion is provided with a protective window at one end away from the first barrel portion, as a matter of design choice, depending on the specific configuration of the components and to provide for protection.
With respect to claim 9, Hodelin does not specifically disclose wherein the housing comprises an annular flange extending inwards from the junction of the first barrel portion and the second barrel portion, the second barrel portion defines a through hole adjacent to the infrared light channel, the through hole communicates the visible light channel with the infrared light channel, the through hole is provided for a cable connecting the optical waveguide assembly and the infrared image assembly to pass therethrough; the optical waveguide substrate comprises an end adjacent to the through hole and fixed on the annular flange, and another end fixed on a side of the second barrel portion away from the through hole. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Hodelin to have the housing comprise an annular flange extending inwards from the junction of the first barrel portion and the second barrel portion, the second barrel portion defines a through hole adjacent to the infrared light channel, the through hole communicates the visible light channel with the infrared light channel, the through hole is provided for a cable connecting the optical waveguide assembly and the infrared image assembly to pass therethrough; the optical waveguide substrate comprises an end adjacent to the through hole and fixed on the annular flange, and another end fixed on a side of the second barrel portion away from the through hole, as a matter of design choice.
With respect to claim 10, Hodelin does not specifically disclose wherein the optical waveguide substrate is at 45 degrees to the visible light optical axis. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Hodelin to have the optical waveguide substrate be at 45 degrees to the visible light optical axis, as a matter of design choice.
With respect to claim 11, Hodelin does not specifically disclose wherein the front sighting device further comprises an adapter, one end of the adapter is connected to the end of the housing away from an end where the visible light is incident, and the other end is provided with an opening for connection to a scope so as to install the front sighting device at a front end of the scope. However, Hodelin teaches the front sighting device is connected to a scope (paragraph 0054). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Hodelin to have the front sighting device further comprise an adapter, one end of the adapter is connected to the end of the housing away from an end where the visible light is incident, and the other end is provided with an opening for connection to a scope so as to install the front sighting device at a front end of the scope, to provide for a way to connect the front sighting device to a scope.
With respect to claim 12, Hodelin does not specifically disclose wherein the adapter comprises a fixing end, a connecting end, and an adjustment structure provided on an outer side of the connecting end, and a side wall of the connecting end is provided with a slot extending along the axial direction; the adjustment structure comprises a first engaging part, a second engaging part, and an adjustment member, wherein the first engaging part and the second engaging part are respectively provided at opposite sides of the slot, and the adjustment member is adjustably connected between the first engaging part and the second engaging part, so as to adjust the width of the slot and thereby adjust the inner diameter of the connecting end. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Hodelin to have this adapter configuration, as a matter of design choice, to provide for adjustment means.
With respect to claims 13-14, Hodelin does not specifically disclose wherein the front sighting device further includes a shock-absorbing bracket, the shock-absorbing bracket is provided on a side of the housing away from the infrared image assembly, and is configured to install the front sighting device at a front end of a scope; wherein the shock-absorbing bracket is detachably provided on the housing, the shock-absorbing bracket is provided with an elastic member, and the elastic deformation direction of the elastic member is the same as the direction of the visible light optical axis. A shock-absorbing bracket is well known to those of ordinary skill in the art for the obvious function of reducing shock effects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Hodelin to have the front sighting device further include a shock-absorbing bracket, the shock-absorbing bracket is provided on a side of the housing away from the infrared image assembly, and is configured to install the front sighting device at a front end of a scope; wherein the shock-absorbing bracket is detachably provided on the housing, the shock-absorbing bracket is provided with an elastic member, and the elastic deformation direction of the elastic member is the same as the direction of the visible light optical axis, as a matter of design choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art discloses a front sighting device comprising a housing, and an infrared image assembly and an optical waveguide assembly provided in the housing, the optical waveguide assembly connected to the infrared image assembly. However, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the optical waveguide assembly comprises an imaging module, an optical waveguide substrate, and a mirror array provided within the optical waveguide substrate, the imaging module configured to receive the electrical signals to form and display the infrared image; wherein the optical waveguide substrate comprises a first surface facing an end of the visible light channel where the visible light is incident and a second surface opposite to the first surface; the mirror array comprises a plurality of beam splitters arranged at intervals between the first surface and the second surface, such that when the infrared image enters the optical waveguide substrate in the form of optical signals, the infrared image optical signals are sequentially transmitted by multiple rounds of total reflection between the first surface and the second surface of the optical waveguide substrate; wherein, when each beam splitter receives the light from the total reflection, a portion of the light is reflected out of the optical waveguide substrate and emitted from the second surface, and another portion of the light is transmitted to enter a next round of total reflection, until the last beam splitter reflects all the received light out of the optical waveguide substrate, as claimed in claim 2. Claims 3-5 are allowable by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Prior art discloses a front sighting device comprising: a housing defining therein a visible light channel and an infrared light channel; an infrared image assembly arranged in the infrared light channel; and an optical waveguide assembly arranged in the visible light channel between the first end and the second end. However, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the optical waveguide assembly comprises: an optical waveguide substrate comprising a first surface facing the first end of the visible light channel and a second surface opposite to the first surface; and a mirror array arranged within the optical waveguide substrate for transmitting the infrared image, the mirror array comprising multiple beam splitters arranged at intervals between the first surface and the second surface along a direction in which the infrared image is transmitted within the optical waveguide substrate and configured to sequentially transmit the infrared image in the form of optical signals by multiple rounds of total reflection between the first surface and the second surface of the optical waveguide substrate; when each beam splitter receives the light from the total reflection, a portion of the light is reflected out of the optical waveguide substrate from the second surface to the second end of the visible light channel, and another portion of the light is transmitted to enter a next round of total reflection, until the last beam splitter reflects all the received light out of the optical waveguide substrate, as claimed in claim 17. Claim 18 is allowable by virtue of its dependency on claim 17.
Conclusion
/JURIE YUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884
July 23, 2026