DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-18 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/4/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2/4/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moran et al. (US 2011/0100957).
Claims 1 and 5-6: Moran teaches a process for chemically processing a substrate, comprising the steps of: applying a first liquid (325) onto a substrate (Abst.; ¶ 0030) wherein the first liquid forms a coating (Abst.; ¶¶ 0030, 0060) and limiting the depositing (i.e. claimed chemical processing) brought about by the first liquid to a predetermined region by applying a second liquid which displaces the first liquid (Abst; ¶ 0030).
Claim 7: Moran teaches spraying the first (¶ 0065) and second liquids (¶ 0079).
Claims 8-11: Moran teaches that the second liquid overlaps with and fully surrounds the first liquid (see, e.g., Fig. 3B).
Claim 12: Moran teaches that the surface is an optical element (¶ 0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moran in light of Tang et al. (US 2005/0225877).
Claim 13: Moran teaches that a suitable substrate is an optical elements, such as a lens (¶¶ 0032, 0057), but fails to discuss a shape or a use. Tang teaches a patterned lens and explains that a suitable shape is spherical (¶ 0073). The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected spherical as the shape for the optical element in Moran with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moran in light of Kierey et al. (US 2019/0033723).
Claim 14: Moran fails to teach an end use for the optical lens. Kierey teaches the use of an optical lens in a projection exposure apparatus for lithography (Abst.). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have used the lens of Moran in a projection exposure apparatus with the predictable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Zanetto (US 2011/0049428) teaches a process of applying a first liquid to a pipe and then diluting and/or neutralizing the first liquid with a second liquid to inhibit reactions (¶ 0003). Zanetto, however, fails to teach or suggest that the first liquid is limited to a predetermined region.
Tanaka et al. (US 2002/0008082) teaches a process similar to claim 1 except that, in Tanaka, the second fluid is not a liquid.
None of the prior art on record, taken individually or in combination, fairly teaches or suggests all the limitations of claims 2-4.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712