DETAILED ACTION
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The Abstract does not contain “a method of making…” please, revise.
Please, change “a semiconductor device has” to - -A semiconductor device and a method of making a semiconductor device each includes - -.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 of the instant application (18/902,287) provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of co-pending Application No. 17/452,855 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 1-2 of the instant application 18/902,287, claim 1 of the co-pending of the application 17/452,855 comprising all the limitations that encompass all the limitations of claims 1-2 of the instant application 18/902,287.
The term EMC (epoxy molding compound) bump is equivalent or the same of polymer bump.
Regarding claim 5 of the instant application 18/902,287, claim 2 of the co-pending of the application 17/452,855 comprising all the limitations that encompass all the limitations of claim 6 of the instant application 18/902,287.
Regarding claim 6 of the instant application 18/902,287, claim 6 of the co-pending of the application 17/452,855 comprising all the limitations that encompass all the limitations of claim 6 of the instant application 18/902,287.
Regarding claims 7-8, and 13 of an instant application 18/902,287, claim 1 of the co-pending of the application 17/452,855 comprising all the limitations that encompass all the limitations of claims 7-8, and 13 of the instant application 18/902,287.
Regarding claim 11 of the instant application 18/902,287, claim 2 of the co-pending of the application 17/452,855 comprising all the limitations that encompass all the limitations of claim 6 of the instant application 18/902,287.
Regarding claim 12 of the instant application 18/902,287, claim 6 of the co-pending of the application 17/452,855 comprising all the limitations that encompass all the limitations of claim 6 of the instant application 18/902,287.
Regarding claims 7-8, and 13 of an instant application 18/902,287, claim 7 of the co-pending of the application 17/452,855 comprising all the limitations that encompass all the limitations of claims 7-8, and 13 of the instant application 18/902,287.
Regarding claim 12 of the instant application 18/902,287, claim 11 of the co-pending of the application 17/452,855 comprising all the limitations that encompass all the limitations of claim 12 of the instant application 18/902,287.
Regarding claims 14-15 of the instant application 18/902,287, claim 14 of the co-pending of the application 17/452,855 comprising all the limitations that encompass all the limitations of claims 14-15 of the instant application 18/902,287.
Regarding claims 20-21, and 25 of the instant application 18/902,287, claim 14 of the co-pending of the application 17/452,855 comprising all the limitations that encompass all the limitations of claims 20-21, and 25 of the instant application 18/902,287.
Regarding claims 20-21, and 25 of the instant application 18/902,287, claims 20-21 of the co-pending of the application 17/452,855 comprising all the limitations that encompass all the limitations of claims 20-21, and 25 of the instant application 18/902,287.
Regarding claims 22-23 of the instant application 18/902,287, claim s 22-23 of the co-pending of the application 17/452,855 comprising all the limitations that encompass all the limitations of claims 22-23 of the instant application 18/902,287.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. 2020/0161252) in view of Kapusta (U.S. Patent 10,163,773).
Regarding claim 1 and 14, Yang discloses a semiconductor device and its making method as shown in figures 3a-3d comprising:
providing an antenna PCB (150) including an antenna (190) formed as part of a conductive layer of the antenna PCB;
disposing a semiconductor package (210) over the antenna PCB (150), wherein the semiconductor package includes a shielding layer (180) formed over the semiconductor package; and
forming a [[polymer]] conductive bump (182) on the antenna PCB directly over the antenna.
Yang does not specifically disclose the bump is made from polymer and is electrical insulating.
Kapusta teaches electronic packages (10) comprising a polymer bump (62)
is electrical insulating (column 10, line 15+).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Kapusta employed in the device of Wang in
order to provide excellent mechanical and thermal bonding structure.
As to claims 7, 13 and 20, 25, Yang discloses a semiconductor device and its making method, as shown in figures 3a-3d comprising:
providing a PCB (150) including an antenna (190);
disposing a semiconductor package (210) over the PCB; and
forming a [[polymer]] conductive bump (182) on the PCB (150) over the antenna.
Yang does not specifically disclose the bump is made from polymer and is electrical insulating.
Kapusta teaches electronic packages (10) comprising a polymer bump (62)
is electrical insulating (column 10, line 15+).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Kapusta employed in the device of Wang in
order to provide excellent mechanical and thermal bonding structure.
Regarding claims 2, 8, 15, and 21, Yang as modified by Kapusta further including forming a shielding layer (180) over the antenna PCB (150).
Regarding claims 3, 9, 16, 22, Yang as modified by Kapusta discloses the semiconductor package (210) includes a double-sided system-in-package (SiP) module.
Regarding claims 4, 10, 17, and 23, Yang as modified by Kapusta teaches the polymer bump (62) includes a high dielectric constant (column 10, lines 15-23).
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 18, Yang as modified by Kapusta teaches the polymer bump (62) is molded onto the PCB (20, 58).
Regarding claims 6, 12, 19, and 24, Yang as modified by Kapusta discloses a conductive bump (216) between the semiconductor package (210) and antenna PCB (150).
/TUAN T DINH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847