DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, in the reply filed on March 18, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden. This is not found persuasive because Applicants' attention is drawn to the fact that the search for method claims requires the identification of processing steps, while the search for apparatus claims requires the identification of structural elements. The method and apparatus claims are differently classified, which introduces additional search burden. Applicants' arguments that the search of one invention must necessarily result in a search for the other one has been considered, but is not found persuasive insofar as the searches are not co-extensive and additional search would of necessity be required for the combination of inventions.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 18, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2002/0190737 to Maekawa et al. in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2003/0138644 to Khandros et al., U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2003/0092365 to Grube and U.S. Patent No. 4,165,251 to Matsumoto et al.
As to claims 1 and 4, Maekawa discloses a maintenance device comprising: a cleaning assembly comprising a cleaning plate and a cleaning material capable of cleaning a probe card (see Maekawa Fig. 3 and paragraph [0033] disclosing base plate 3 and cleaning material 4 and 5) wherein the cleaning assembly is capable of cleaning a surface of the probe card by containing the cleaning material with the surface of the probe card (see Maekawa Figs. 2 and 3 and paragraph [0034]). Maekawa further discloses that a roller can be used to apply the cleaning material in the manufacturing of the cleaning sheet (read as the cleaning material is able to be applied onto a surface of the cleaning plate by rolling and compressing via the flattening roller) (see Maekawa paragraph [0077]).
Maekawa does not explicitly disclose a removal roller wherein the cleaning material is removed from the cleaning plate by the removal roller after the completion of cleaning. Khandros and Grube discloses that it is known in the art that the cleaning material gets dirty and needs to be replaced (see Khandros paragraphs [0053]-[0056]; Grube paragraph [0056]). Matsumoto discloses that it is known to use a removal roller to remove a film from a support base (see Matsumoto col. 4, lines 4-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a removal roller as disclosed by Matsumoto in order to remove the used/dirty cleaning material and replace it with fresh cleaning material as suggested by Khandros/Grube where Maekawa discloses the application of the cleaning material to the base plate as discussed above.
As to claims 2 and 3, the combination of Maekawa, Khandros, Grube and Matsumoto discloses a take-and-release structure for taking and releasing the cleaning material and wherein the surface of the removal roller is provided with a plurality of protrusions for removing the cleaning material (see Matsumoto Fig. 1 disclosing that the roller has bristles and Fig. 7 where the removal roller takes and releases the material from the support; col. 3, lines 4-24 and col. 4, lines 4-34).
As to claim 5, the combination of Maekawa, Khandros, Grube and Matsumoto discloses that the cleaning assembly is capable of moving vertically to make the cleaning plate drive the cleaning material from bottom to top to contact a bottom side of the probe card for cleaning (see Maekawa Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0088]-[0091]).
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714