DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending and currently under examination and the subject matter of the present Office Action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/08/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement was considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6-7, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “A liquid antimicrobial” which appears to be missing the word “composition” after “antimicrobial”.
Claim 6 refer to potassium cation in a concentration of at least 0.6 mol per mol of acetate; Claim 7 requires bacteriocin in a concentration of 5-30 mg per mol of acetate. Concentrations are not typically written in mass per mol of another component. In chemistry, concentration is the abundance of a solute divided by the total volume or mass of a mixture, which is not the case for these 2 claims. Applicant is either reciting a ratio or an amount in comparison to another amount in a different unit, which is confusing.
Claim 13 uses the term “then” multiple times to indicate succeeding steps. This term is not typically used in claims as it makes the claims appear narrative.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards ; as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it lists components a), b), c), and f). As such, there is a question as to whether “f)” is a typographical error or if elements d) and e) are missing. Furthermore, the last line in Claim 1 recites “wherein the antimicrobial composition”, which is an incomplete phrase, suggesting that there are limitations that may have been omitted. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim is unclear making it indefinite and rejected.
Because Claim 9 requires the application of the composition in Claim 1, the claim is also rejected. All claims depending from Claims 1 and 9 are also rejected for indefiniteness.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 depends from Claim 1, and requires the potassium cation to be at least 0.6 mol per mol of acetate, however, Claim 1 requires that the cation is at least 0.7 mol per mol of acetate. As such, Claim 6 fails to further limit but rather broadens the scope of Claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wilhoit, D. (US 5,573,797).
Wilhoit discloses an antimicrobial composition comprising a Streptococcus-derived or Pediococcus-derived bacteriocin or synthetic equivalent antibacterial agent in combination with a chelating agent, and methods of protecting foodstuff (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 1, Wilhoit teaches examples of various test solutions and concentrations of antimicrobial nisin and pediocin (Table 1a). Table 1 shows the pH of the solutions range from 4.0 to 7.3, which overlaps with the claimed range (Examples 5-28). Regarding component a), the nisin/pediocin bacteriocin concentration ranges from 1 ppm to 125 ppm, which overlaps with the claimed range in Claims 1-2 (Examples 5-28).
Regarding component b), Wilhoit teaches 0.8% Na2EDTA and 3% Na3EDTA, reading on the acetate feature (Tables 1a, 1b, and 2). By Examiner’s calculation 3% Na3EDTA is equivalent to 0.1 mol/L. However, Wilhoit also teaches that more than 3% of the chelating agent may be used (Col. 8, lines 40-42). Finding workable or optimal ranges is generally understood as within the capabilities of the ordinary artisan. See Pfizer Inc. v. Apotex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (discovery of an optimum value of a variable in a known process is usually obvious.). The idea that optimizing an ordinary variable does not by itself constitute a patentable advance was also stated in In re Geisler, 43 USPQ2d 1362: “…“it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Only if the “results of optimizing a variable” are “unexpectedly good” can a patent be obtained for the claimed critical range. Note MPEP §2144.05(II). Likewise, optimization of a range or other variable within the claims flows from the “normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known.” In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382.
Regarding component c), Wilhoit Na3EDTA, which has 3 mols of sodium cation to 4 acetate in EDTA, i.e. about 0.75 mol cation per mol acetate (Table 2). The chelating agents and bacteriocin are prepared with deionized water, and the tests solutions in Table 2 were all water based, which renders the f) component obvious (Col. 17, lines 27-31; Col. 21, lines 29-31).
Because Wilhoit teaches pediocin, Claims 3-4 are obvious.
Regarding Claims 5-6, Wilhoit teaches 0.8% Na2EDTA and 3% Na3EDTA, reading on the acetate feature (Tables 1a, 1b, and 2). Regarding the potassium cation claimed, Wilhoit teaches the chelating agents inter alia EDTA are commonly used as salts of alkali metal or alkaline earth salts such as sodium, potassium or calcium or quaternary ammonium salts (Col. 5, line 63; Col. 7, lines 4-7).
Regarding Claim 7, Wilhoit teaches 3% Na3EDTA, which is equivalent to 0.1 mol/L EDTA (Tables 1a, 1b, and 2); and bacteriocin concentration ranges from 1 ppm to 125 ppm, which is equivalent to 1-125 mg/L (Examples 5-28). Therefore, at 1 mg bacteriocin and 0.1 mol EDTA, the bacteriocin is 10 mg per mol acetate.
Regarding Claim 8, the compositions of Wilhoit comprises the bacteriocin at 0.0001%-0.0125%, and the chelating agent inter alia sodium EDTA at 0.8% or 3%, and the rest is water if there are no optional additives included, as such, the chelating agent constitute at least 98% of the dry matter (Tables 1a, 1b, and 2).
Regarding Claims 9 and 11, Wilhoit expressly teaches coating frankfurters by immersion in the test solutions (Col. 24, lines 25-27; Col. 25, 30-36).
Regarding Claim 10 and 14, Wilhoit teaches its composition may be employed with fish (Col. 23, lines 32-50). As such, one skilled in the art would be motivated to simply substitute the meat/frankfurter with fish based on Wilhoit’s teaching that the compositions are also useful for fish.
Regarding Claim 12 and 15, Wilhoit expressly teaches submerging frankfurters in the test liquid for 30 seconds, and holding the frankfurter vertically to drain for another 30 seconds, which reads on the 1 minute, and also teaches washing with sterile buffer, which reads on the aqueous liquid (Col. 20, lines 40-56; Examples 29-43).
Regarding Claim 13, Wilhoit teaches that use of the combination of nisin and Na3EDTA produced a surprising and unexpected reduction in both average plate counts for Listeria and total aerobic bacteria for the two day test period (Col. 23, lines 11-23; Table 2).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wilhoit, D. (US 5,573,800), Wilhoit, D. (US 5,573,801).
/JANICE Y SILVERMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1792