DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Boer et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 20110193574, from hereinafter “Boer”).
In regards to claim 1, Boer teaches a sensor substrate for a charged particle optical device (abstract) comprising at least one distance sensor configured to generate a measurement signal representative of a distance between the distance sensor and a facing surface of a target (see, i.e., paragraph 0020) and at least one charged particle optical component (paragraph 0020 teaches a projection lens system, also see FIG. 4 and paragraphs 0073-0074).
In regards to claim 2, Boer teaches a plurality of distance sensors (see FIG. 4 and paragraphs 0073-0077).
In regards to claim 3, Boer teaches that the distance sensors are positioned surrounding the at least one charged particle optical component (FIGS. 16A-16B, deflector/lens stack 132, sensors 30, paragraphs 0126-0128).
In regards to claim 4, Boer teaches that the plurality of distance sensors are positioned equidistantly from an origin and/or adjacent distance sensors being separated by similar distances (FIGS. 16A-16B, deflector/lens stack 132, sensors 30, paragraphs 0126-0128).
In regards to claim 5, Boer teaches that the distance sensor is proximate to the at least one charged particle optical component (FIGS. 16A-16B, deflector/lens stack 132, sensors 30, paragraphs 0126-0128).
In regards to claim 6, Boer teaches that a sensing surface of the distance sensor and a main surface of the charged particle optical component are configured, when in operation to face a target (FIGS. 16A-16B, deflector/lens stack 132, sensors 30, wafer 9, table 134 paragraphs 0126-0128).
In regards to claim 7, Boer teaches that a sensing surface of the distance sensor and a main surface of the charged particle optical component are parallel to each other (FIGS. 16A-16B, deflector/lens stack 132, sensors 30, wafer 9, table 134 paragraphs 0126-0128).
In regards to claim 8, Boer teaches that the sensing surface of the distance sensor and the main surface of the particle optical component are in the same plane (FIGS. 16A-16B, deflector/lens stack 132, sensors 30, wafer 9, table 134 paragraphs 0126-0128).
In regards to claim 9, Boer teaches that the distance sensor comprises at least part of an isolating element (see, i.e., the abstract, that teaches insulating components).
In regards to claim 10, Boer teaches that the distance sensor comprises a sensing electrode (abstract).
In regards to claim 11, Boer teaches that the sensing electrode is configured to be supported by the isolating element (see paragraph 0007, an insulating layer separates the electrode from the housing).
In regards to claim 12, Boer teaches that at least part of the circuitry of the sensor substrate is positioned in the isolating element (see paragraphs 0012-0015 at least).
In regards to claim 13, Boer teaches that the circuitry in a portion of the isolating element associated with the at least one distance sensor is the circuitry of the at least one distance sensor (paragraphs 0012-0015 at least).
In regards to claim 14, Boer teaches that each portion corresponds in shape to a shape of the distance sensor (see FIGS. 1A-1B, 6A-9C that all illustrate shapes).
In regards to claim 15, Boer teaches that the distance sensor is a capacitive sensor (see the abstract and title).
In regards to claim 16, Boer teaches that the charged particle optical component comprises a signal detector configured, when in operation, to detect charged particle emitted from the target (FIGS. 16A-16B, deflector/lens stack 132, sensors 30, wafer 9, table 134 paragraphs 0126-0128).
In regards to claim 17, Boer teaches that the charged particle optical component teaches at least part of at isolating element (paragraphs 0100-0102, 0108-0110, 0112, 0115-0116, 0119, 0123-0124, 0133 and 0144-0147).
In regards to claim 18, Boer teaches that the charged particle optical element comprises one or more detector electrodes (FIGS. 16A-16B, deflector/lens stack 132, sensors 30, wafer 9, table 134 paragraphs 0126-0128).
In regards to claim 19, Boer teaches that the detector is configured to face, when in operation, the target (FIGS. 16A-16B, deflector/lens stack 132, sensors 30, wafer 9, table 134 paragraphs 0126-0128).
In regards to claim 20, Boer teaches that at least one aperture is defined through the sensor substrate for passage of the at least one beam towards the target (FIGS. 16A-16B, deflector/lens stack 132, sensors 30, wafer 9, table 134 paragraphs 0126-0128).
Conclusion
/NICOLE M IPPOLITO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881