DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Patent Application filed 10/7/2024 wherein claims 1-11 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the United Kingdom on 10/30/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 2316523.6 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “there is a minimum of five (5) clocking positions between at least one of the second circumferential array, the third circumferential array, and the fourth circumferential array, and the first circumferential array” (Claim 1, lines 20-22), “the third circumferential array has a minimum quantity of five (5) clocking positions relative to the second circumferential array” (Claim 2, lines 4-6), “the fourth circumferential array has a minimum quantity of five (5) clocking positions relative to the third circumferential array” (Claim 3, lines 4-6), “the fifth circumferential array has a minimum of quantity of five (5) clocking positions relative to the second circumferential array” (Claim 5, lines 4-6), “the third circumferential array has a minimum quantity of five (5) clocking positions relative to the fifth circumferential array” (Claim 6, lines 4-6), “the fifth circumferential array has a minimum quantity of five (5) clocking positions relative to the first circumferential array” (Claim 7, lines 4-6), “there is a minimum of five (5) clocking positions between at least one of the second circumferential array, the third circumferential array, and the fourth circumferential array, and the first circumferential array” (Claim 10, lines 21-24), and “there is a minimum quantity of five (5) clocking positions between the fifth circumferential array and the first circumferential array” (Claim 11, lines 15-17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“with a one burner” (Claim 1, line 14) is believed to be in error for - - with one burner - -;
“and the fourth circumferential array, and the first circumferential array” (Claim 1, lines 21-22) is believed to be in error for - - and the fourth circumferential array with the first circumferential array - -;
“with a one vane” (Claim 10, lines 14-15) is believed to be in error for - - with one vane - -;
“comprise, in axial flow sequence, in axial flow sequence, the second” (Claim 11, lines 5-6) is believed to be in error for - - comprise, in axial flow sequence, the second - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a second circumferential array of NHPNGV high-pressure nozzle guide vanes" in lines 5-6 without reciting a first circumferential array of NHPNGV high-pressure nozzle guide vanes. It is unclear how many circumferential arrays of NHPNGV high-pressure nozzle guide vanes are required by the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a third circumferential array of NLPNGV low-pressure nozzle guide vanes" in lines 7-8 without reciting a first and second circumferential arrays of NLPNGV low-pressure nozzle guide vanes. It is unclear how many circumferential arrays of NLPNGV low-pressure nozzle guide vanes are required by the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a fourth circumferential array of NOGV outlet guide vanes" in lines 8-9 without reciting a first, second, and third circumferential arrays of NOGV outlet guide vanes. It is unclear how many circumferential arrays of NOGV outlet guide vanes are required by the claim.
Claims 2-9 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above based on their dependency to claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a fifth circumferential array of NIPNGV intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes" in lines 2-3 without reciting a first, second, third, and fourth circumferential arrays of NIPNGV intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes. It is unclear how many circumferential arrays of NIPNGV intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes are required by the claim.
Claims 5-7 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above based on their dependency to claim 4.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the fan diameter DFAN" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a second circumferential array of NHPNGV high-pressure nozzle guide vanes" in lines 7-8 without reciting a first circumferential array of NHPNGV high-pressure nozzle guide vanes. It is unclear how many circumferential arrays of NHPNGV high-pressure nozzle guide vanes are required by the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a third circumferential array of NLPNGV low-pressure nozzle guide vanes" in lines 9-10 without reciting a first and second circumferential arrays of NLPNGV low-pressure nozzle guide vanes. It is unclear how many circumferential arrays of NLPNGV low-pressure nozzle guide vanes are required by the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a fourth circumferential array of NOGV outlet guide vanes" in lines 10-11 without reciting a first, second, and third circumferential arrays of NOGV outlet guide vanes. It is unclear how many circumferential arrays of NOGV outlet guide vanes are required by the claim.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason above based on their dependency to claim 10.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a fifth circumferential array of NIPNGV intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes" in lines 1-2 without reciting a first, second, third, and fourth circumferential arrays of NIPNGV intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes. It is unclear how many circumferential arrays of NIPNGV intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes are required by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kupratis (US 2009/0000271) in view of Pieussergues et al. (US 2009/0266080) and Tardif et al. (US 2016/0177835).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Kupratis teaches (Figures 1-7) a gas turbine engine (500), the gas turbine engine (500) comprising, in axial flow sequence (see Figure 5),
a compressor assembly (580), a combustor assembly (598), a turbine assembly (602, 604, 606, 608, 610, 612, 614), and an exhaust assembly (at 620), and
the turbine assembly (602, 604, 606, 608, 612, 614) comprising, in axial flow sequence (see Figure 5), a second circumferential array of NHPNGV high-pressure nozzle guide vanes (602), a high pressure turbine assembly (604), a third circumferential array of NLPNGV low-pressure nozzle guide vanes (610), a low-pressure turbine assembly (612), and a fourth circumferential array of NOGV outlet guide vanes (614).
Kupratis does not teach the combustor assembly comprising a first circumferential array of NBURN burner assemblies, a clocking position being defined by a relative circumferential orientation of the first circumferential array with any one of the second circumferential array, the third circumferential array, and the fourth circumferential array, in which a one vane in any one of the second circumferential array, is aligned directly with a one burner in the first circumferential array, and wherein, a quantity of burner assemblies (NBURN) are positioned in the first circumferential array, and a quantity of guide vanes (NHPNGV, NLPNGV, NOGV) are positioned in at least one of the second circumferential array, the third circumferential array, and the fourth circumferential array respectively, such that there is a minimum quantity of five (5) clocking positions between at least one of the second circumferential array, the third circumferential array, and the fourth circumferential array, and the first circumferential array.
Pieussergues teaches (Figures 1-5) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (10) having a first circumferential array of burner assemblies (36), a clocking position being defined by a relative circumferential orientation of the first circumferential array (the array of burner assemblies 36) with a circumferential array of nozzle guide vanes (64), in which one vane (64) of the circumferential array of nozzle guide vanes (64) is aligned directly with a one burner (36) in the first circumferential array (see Figures 1-4), and wherein, a quantity of burner assemblies (36) are positioned in the first circumferential array (see Figures 1-4), and a quantity of guide vanes (64) are positioned in a circumferential array (see Figures 1-4), such that there is a quantity of clocking positions (see Figures 1-4) between the circumferential array of vanes (64) and the circumferential array of burners (36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kupratis to have the combustor assembly comprise a first circumferential array of burner assemblies, a clocking position being defined by a relative circumferential orientation of burner assemblies with a circumferential array of vanes, in which a one vane in the circumferential array of vanes is aligned directly with a one burner in the first circumferential array, wherein a quantity of burner assemblies are positioned in the first circumferential array, and a quantity of guide vanes are positioned in another circumferential array, such that there is a quantity of clocking positions between the circumferential array of vanes and the circumferential array of burners, as taught by Pieussergues, so that the vanes are exposed to the same thermal conditions in operation (Paragraph 0026 of Pieussergues). Although Pieussergues teaches that the number of nozzle vanes is equal to k times the number of injectors, where k is an integer (see Paragraphs 0006 and 0026), Kupratis in view of Pieussergues does not teach at least five burners such that there are a minimum of five clocking positions.
Tardif teaches (Figures 1-7) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (56) including fuel nozzles (86), where the usual number of fuel nozzles (86), and associated guide vanes (100), is between 10 and 30 (see Paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kupratis in view of Pieussergues to have between 10 and 30 fuel nozzles and associated guide vanes, as taught by Tardif, such that there would be a minimum quantity of five clocking positions between the vanes and burners since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Regarding Claim 2, Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. As discussed above, Kupratis teaches a quantity of high-pressure nozzle guide vanes (602) and a quantity of low-pressure nozzle guide vanes (610) and Pieussergues teaches (Figures 1-5) a quantity of clocking positions (see Figures 1-4) between the circumferential array of vanes (64) and the circumferential array of burners (36), wherein the number of nozzle vanes in the circumferential array is equal to k times the number of injectors in the circumferential array, where k is an integer (see Paragraphs 0006 and 0026). Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the quantity of high-pressure nozzle guide vanes (NHPNGV) positioned in the second circumferential array, and the quantity of low-pressure nozzle guide vanes (NLPNGV) positioned in the third circumferential array are such that the third circumferential array has a minimum quantity of five (5) clocking positions relative to the second circumferential array.
Tardif teaches (Figures 1-7) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (56) including fuel nozzles (86), where the usual number of fuel nozzles (86), and associated guide vanes (100), is between 10 and 30 (see Paragraph 0031) and further teaches that any vane stage of the turbine section can be clocked relative to the fuel nozzles (see Paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif to have the high-pressure nozzle guide vane stage and the low-pressure nozzle guide vane stage have a minimum quantity of five clocking positions, as taught by Tardif, in order to expose the vanes to the same temperature conditions in operation (Paragraph 0010 of Pieussergues) and to reduce vibration of the blade located downstream of the vane (Paragraph 0035 of Tardif).
Regarding Claim 3, Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. As discussed above, Kupratis teaches a quantity of low-pressure nozzle guide vanes (610) and a quantity of outlet guide vanes (614) and Pieussergues teaches (Figures 1-5) a quantity of clocking positions (see Figures 1-4) between the circumferential array of vanes (64) and the circumferential array of burners (36), wherein the number of guide vanes in the circumferential array is equal to k times the number of injectors in the circumferential array, where k is an integer (see Paragraphs 0006 and 0026). Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the quantity of low-pressure nozzle guide vanes positioned in the third circumferential array, and the quantity of outlet guide vanes positioned in the fourth circumferential array are such that the fourth circumferential array has a minimum quantity of five (5) clocking positions relative to the third circumferential array.
Tardif teaches (Figures 1-7) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (56) including fuel nozzles (86), where the usual number of fuel nozzles (86), and associated guide vanes (100), is between 10 and 30 (see Paragraph 0031) and further teaches that any vane stage of the turbine section can be clocked relative to the fuel nozzles (see Paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif to have the low-pressure nozzle guide vane stage and the outlet guide vane stage have a minimum quantity of five clocking positions, as taught by Tardif, in order to expose the vanes to the same temperature conditions in operation (Paragraph 0010 of Pieussergues) and to reduce vibration of the blade located downstream of the vane (Paragraph 0035 of Tardif).
Regarding Claim 4, Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kupratis further teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein the turbine assembly (602, 604, 606, 608, 610, 612, 614)) further comprises a fifth circumferential array of NIPNGV intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes (606) and an intermediate-pressure turbine assembly (608), the turbine assembly (602, 604, 606, 608, 610, 612, 614) now comprising, in axial flow sequence (see Figure 5), the second circumferential array of NHPNGV high-pressure nozzle guide vanes (602), the high-pressure turbine assembly (604), the fifth circumferential array of NIPNGV intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes (606), the intermediate-pressure turbine assembly (608), the third circumferential array of NLPNGV low-pressure nozzle guide vanes (610), the low-pressure turbine assembly (612), and the fourth circumferential array of NOGV outlet guide vanes (614).
Regarding Claim 5, Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. As discussed above, Kupratis teaches a quantity of high-pressure nozzle guide vanes (602) and a quantity of intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes (606) and Pieussergues teaches (Figures 1-5) a quantity of clocking positions (see Figures 1-4) between the circumferential array of vanes (64) and the circumferential array of burners (36), wherein the number of guide vanes in the circumferential array is equal to k times the number of injectors in the circumferential array, where k is an integer (see Paragraphs 0006 and 0026). Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the quantity of high-pressure nozzle guide vanes positioned in the second circumferential array, and the quantity of intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes positioned in the fifth circumferential array are such that the fifth circumferential array has a minimum quantity of five (5) clocking positions relative to the second circumferential array.
Tardif teaches (Figures 1-7) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (56) including fuel nozzles (86), where the usual number of fuel nozzles (86), and associated guide vanes (100), is between 10 and 30 (see Paragraph 0031) and further teaches that any vane stage of the turbine section can be clocked relative to the fuel nozzles (see Paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif to have the high-pressure nozzle guide vane stage and the intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vane stage have a minimum quantity of five clocking positions, as taught by Tardif, in order to expose the vanes to the same temperature conditions in operation (Paragraph 0010 of Pieussergues) and to reduce vibration of the blade located downstream of the vane (Paragraph 0035 of Tardif).
Regarding Claim 6, Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. As discussed above, Kupratis teaches a quantity of intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes (606) and a quantity of low-pressure nozzle guide vanes (610) and Pieussergues teaches (Figures 1-5) a quantity of clocking positions (see Figures 1-4) between the circumferential array of vanes (64) and the circumferential array of burners (36), wherein the number of guide vanes in the circumferential array is equal to k times the number of injectors in the circumferential array, where k is an integer (see Paragraphs 0006 and 0026). Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the quantity of intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes positioned in the fifth circumferential array, and the quantity of low-pressure nozzle guide vanes positioned in the third circumferential array are such that the fifth circumferential array has a minimum quantity of five (5) clocking positions relative to the third circumferential array.
Tardif teaches (Figures 1-7) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (56) including fuel nozzles (86), where the usual number of fuel nozzles (86), and associated guide vanes (100), is between 10 and 30 (see Paragraph 0031) and further teaches that any vane stage of the turbine section can be clocked relative to the fuel nozzles (see Paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif to have the high-pressure nozzle guide vane stage and the intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vane stage have a minimum quantity of five clocking positions, as taught by Tardif, in order to expose the vanes to the same temperature conditions in operation (Paragraph 0010 of Pieussergues) and to reduce vibration of the blade located downstream of the vane (Paragraph 0035 of Tardif).
Regarding Claim 7, Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the quantity of burner assemblies positioned in the first circumferential array and the quantity of intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes positioned in the fifth circumferential array are such that the fifth circumferential array has a minimum quantity of five clocking positions relative to the first circumferential array.
Pieussergues teaches (Figures 1-5) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (10) having a first circumferential array of burner assemblies (36), a clocking position being defined by a relative circumferential orientation of the first circumferential array (the array of burner assemblies 36) with a circumferential array of nozzle guide vanes (64), in which one vane (64) of the circumferential array of nozzle guide vanes (64) is aligned directly with a one burner (36) in the first circumferential array (see Figures 1-4), and wherein, a quantity of burner assemblies (36) are positioned in the first circumferential array (see Figures 1-4), and a quantity of guide vanes (64) are positioned in a circumferential array (see Figures 1-4), such that there is a quantity of clocking positions (see Figures 1-4) between the circumferential array of vanes (64) and the circumferential array of burners (36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kupratis to have the combustor assembly comprise a first circumferential array of burner assemblies, a clocking position being defined by a relative circumferential orientation of burner assemblies with a circumferential array of vanes, in which a one vane in the circumferential array of vanes is aligned directly with a one burner in the first circumferential array, wherein a quantity of burner assemblies are positioned in the first circumferential array, and a quantity of guide vanes are positioned in another circumferential array, such that there is a quantity of clocking positions between the circumferential array of vanes and the circumferential array of burners, as taught by Pieussergues, so that the vanes are exposed to the same thermal conditions in operation (Paragraph 0026 of Pieussergues). Although Pieussergues teaches that the number of nozzle vanes is equal to k times the number of injectors, where k is an integer (see Paragraphs 0006 and 0026), Kupratis in view of Pieussergues does not teach at least five burners such that there are a minimum of five clocking positions.
Tardif teaches (Figures 1-7) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (56) including fuel nozzles (86), where the usual number of fuel nozzles (86), and associated guide vanes (100), is between 10 and 30 (see Paragraph 0031). Tardif further teaches (Figures 1-7) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (56) including fuel nozzles (86), where the usual number of fuel nozzles (86), and associated guide vanes (100), is between 10 and 30 (see Paragraph 0031) and further teaches that any vane stage of the turbine section can be clocked relative to the fuel nozzles (see Paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif to have the intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vane array and the burner array have a minimum quantity of five clocking positions, as taught by Tardif, in order to expose the vanes to the same temperature conditions in operation (Paragraph 0010 of Pieussergues) and to reduce vibration of the blade located downstream of the vane (Paragraph 0035 of Tardif).
Regarding Claim 8, Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kupratis further teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein the gas turbine engine (500) further comprises a fan assembly (550), the fan assembly (550) being positioned axially upstream of (see Figure 5) the compressor assembly (580).
Regarding Claim 9, Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kupratis further teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein the fan assembly (550) has two or more fan stages (552, 554), at least one of the fan stages (552, 554) comprising a plurality of fan blades defining the fan diameter DFAN (see Figure 5).
Regarding Independent Claim 10, Kupratis teaches (Figures 1-7) a method for determining clocking positions for a combustor (598) and turbine (602, 604, 606, 608, 610, 612, 614) of a gas turbine engine (500), the method comprising the steps of:
providing, in axial flow sequence (see Figure 5), a compressor assembly (580), a combustor assembly (598), a turbine assembly (602, 604, 606, 608, 610, 612, 614), and an exhaust assembly (620), and
arranging the turbine assembly (602, 604, 606, 608, 610, 612, 614) to comprise, in axial flow sequence (see Figure 5), a second circumferential array of high-pressure nozzle guide vanes (602), a high pressure turbine assembly (604), a third circumferential array of low-pressure nozzle guide vanes (610), a low-pressure turbine assembly (612), and a fourth circumferential array of outlet guide vanes (614).
Kupratis does not teach arranging the combustor assembly to comprise a first circumferential array of NBURN burner assemblies, defining a clocking position as a relative circumferential orientation of the first circumferential array with any one of the second circumferential array, the third circumferential array, and the fourth circumferential array, in which a one vane in any one of the second circumferential array, is aligned directly with a one burner in the first circumferential array, and positioning a quantity of burner assemblies (NBURN) in the first circumferential array, and a quantity of guide vanes (NHPNGV, NLPNGV, NOGV) in at least one of the second circumferential array, the third circumferential array, and the fourth circumferential array respectively, such that there is a minimum quantity of five (5) clocking positions between at least one of the second circumferential array, the third circumferential array, and the fourth circumferential array, and the first circumferential array.
Pieussergues teaches (Figures 1-5) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (10) having a first circumferential array of burner assemblies (36), a clocking position being defined by a relative circumferential orientation of the first circumferential array (the array of burner assemblies 36) with a circumferential array of nozzle guide vanes (64), in which one vane (64) of the circumferential array of nozzle guide vanes (64) is aligned directly with a one burner (36) in the first circumferential array (see Figures 1-4), and wherein, a quantity of burner assemblies (36) are positioned in the first circumferential array (see Figures 1-4), and a quantity of guide vanes (64) are positioned in a circumferential array (see Figures 1-4), such that there is a quantity of clocking positions (see Figures 1-4) between the circumferential array of vanes (64) and the circumferential array of burners (36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kupratis to have the combustor assembly comprise a first circumferential array of burner assemblies, a clocking position being defined by a relative circumferential orientation of burner assemblies with a circumferential array of vanes, in which a one vane in the circumferential array of vanes is aligned directly with a one burner in the first circumferential array, wherein a quantity of burner assemblies are positioned in the first circumferential array, and a quantity of guide vanes are positioned in another circumferential array, such that there is a quantity of clocking positions between the circumferential array of vanes and the circumferential array of burners, as taught by Pieussergues, so that the vanes are exposed to the same thermal conditions in operation (Paragraph 0026 of Pieussergues). Although Pieussergues teaches that the number of nozzle vanes is equal to k times the number of injectors, where k is an integer (see Paragraphs 0006 and 0026), Kupratis in view of Pieussergues does not teach at least five burners such that there are a minimum of five clocking positions.
Tardif teaches (Figures 1-7) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (56) including fuel nozzles (86), where the usual number of fuel nozzles (86), and associated guide vanes (100), is between 10 and 30 (see Paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kupratis in view of Pieussergues to have between 10 and 30 fuel nozzles and associated guide vanes, as taught by Tardif, such that there would be a minimum quantity of five clocking positions between the vanes and burners since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Regarding Claim 11, Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kupratis further teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein the turbine assembly (602, 604, 606, 608, 610, 612, 614)) further comprises a fifth circumferential array of NIPNGV intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes (606) and an intermediate-pressure turbine assembly (608), wherein the method comprises the step of arranging the turbine assembly (602, 604, 606, 608, 610, 612, 614) to comprise, in axial flow sequence (see Figure 5), the second circumferential array of NHPNGV high-pressure nozzle guide vanes (602), the high-pressure turbine assembly (604), the fifth circumferential array of NIPNGV intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes (606), the intermediate-pressure turbine assembly (608), the third circumferential array of NLPNGV low-pressure nozzle guide vanes (610), the low-pressure turbine assembly (612), and the fourth circumferential array of NOGV outlet guide vanes (614).
Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif does not teach, as discussed so far, positioning the quantity of burner assemblies in the first circumferential array and the quantity of intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vanes positioned in the fifth circumferential array, such that there is a minimum quantity of five clocking positions between the fifth circumferential array, and the first circumferential array.
Pieussergues teaches (Figures 1-5) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (10) having a first circumferential array of burner assemblies (36), a clocking position being defined by a relative circumferential orientation of the first circumferential array (the array of burner assemblies 36) with a circumferential array of nozzle guide vanes (64), in which one vane (64) of the circumferential array of nozzle guide vanes (64) is aligned directly with a one burner (36) in the first circumferential array (see Figures 1-4), and wherein, a quantity of burner assemblies (36) are positioned in the first circumferential array (see Figures 1-4), and a quantity of guide vanes (64) are positioned in a circumferential array (see Figures 1-4), such that there is a quantity of clocking positions (see Figures 1-4) between the circumferential array of vanes (64) and the circumferential array of burners (36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kupratis to have the combustor assembly comprise a first circumferential array of burner assemblies, a clocking position being defined by a relative circumferential orientation of burner assemblies with a circumferential array of vanes, in which a one vane in the circumferential array of vanes is aligned directly with a one burner in the first circumferential array, wherein a quantity of burner assemblies are positioned in the first circumferential array, and a quantity of guide vanes are positioned in another circumferential array, such that there is a quantity of clocking positions between the circumferential array of vanes and the circumferential array of burners, as taught by Pieussergues, so that the vanes are exposed to the same thermal conditions in operation (Paragraph 0026 of Pieussergues). Although Pieussergues teaches that the number of nozzle vanes is equal to k times the number of injectors, where k is an integer (see Paragraphs 0006 and 0026), Kupratis in view of Pieussergues does not teach at least five burners such that there are a minimum of five clocking positions.
Tardif teaches (Figures 1-7) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (56) including fuel nozzles (86), where the usual number of fuel nozzles (86), and associated guide vanes (100), is between 10 and 30 (see Paragraph 0031). Tardif further teaches (Figures 1-7) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) having a combustor assembly (56) including fuel nozzles (86), where the usual number of fuel nozzles (86), and associated guide vanes (100), is between 10 and 30 (see Paragraph 0031) and further teaches that any vane stage of the turbine section can be clocked relative to the fuel nozzles (see Paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kupratis in view of Pieussergues and Tardif to have the intermediate-pressure nozzle guide vane array and the burner array have a minimum quantity of five clocking positions, as taught by Tardif, in order to expose the vanes to the same temperature conditions in operation (Paragraph 0010 of Pieussergues) and to reduce vibration of the blade located downstream of the vane (Paragraph 0035 of Tardif).
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741