DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7 and 8 recite “wherein a thickness of the first covering member…is a same as a thickness of the second covering member…” contains a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a first thickness which covers the portion of the inner peripheral surface is thicker than a second thickness which covers the end surface on the downstream side.” This limitation is indefinite because it is not clear what the first thickness and the second thickness are thickness of.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakakibara, et. al. (US 20220359149 A1; from IDS filed 10/08/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Sakakibara teaches an electromagnetic lens (magnetic field lens 13, Fig. 4, [0021]) comprising:
a coil (coil 132, [0021], Fig. 4);
a yoke (upper magnetic path 131 and lower magnetic path 133, [0021], Fig. 4), made of magnetic material ([0021]), configured to include an upper wall on an upstream side with respect to an advancing direction of a primary electron beam passing (top side of 131 in Fig. 4), an outer peripheral wall (right side of 133 in Fig. 4), an inner peripheral wall (left side of 131 in Fig. 4), and one of a lower wall (bottom side of 133 in Fig. 4) in which a gap is formed on a downstream side with respect to the advancing direction of the primary electron beam (gap between 131 and 133 of 13 where 22 is located in Fig. 4) and an inclined wall in which a gap is formed on a downstream side with respect to the advancing direction of the primary electron beam, configured to let the primary electron beam pass through a space surrounded by the inner peripheral wall (electron beam 11 passes through space surrounded by left side of 131, [0021], Fig. 4), and configured to surround the coil by the upper wall, the outer peripheral wall, the inner peripheral wall, and the one of the lower wall and the inclined wall (Fig. 4); and
a cover, made of a non-magnetic conductor (non-magnetic metal electrode 22, [0029], Fig. 4), configured to contact and cover an end surface of the yoke on the downstream side with respect to the advancing direction of the primary electron beam (22 contacts and covers an end surface of 131 and 133 of 13, Fig. 4), the end surface including a corner portion on an inner peripheral side (the interpreted end surface includes a corner portion on an inner peripheral side—see Fig. 4 which shows 22 contacting the left corners of 131 and 133 which are on an inner peripheral side).
Sakakibara does not explicitly teach wherein a corner portion of the cover is formed to have a curved surface, however altering the corner portion of the cover to be formed to have a curved surface is a change in shape that is not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. MPEP 2144.04 IV. B. teaches “In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).” The prior art renders the claim obvious because the disclosure is absent demonstration of the criticality of the particular shape. The disclosure merely restates the claim language (See [0048]) without detailing the significance of the curved surface of the corner portion of the cover. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. for more information.
Regarding claim 10, Sakakibara teaches a scanning electron microscope (scanning electron microscope, [0002], [0031], Fig. 5) comprising:
an electromagnetic lens (magnetic field lens 13, Fig. 4, [0021]) configured to include
a coil (coil 132, [0021], Fig. 4),
a yoke (upper magnetic path 131 and lower magnetic path 133, [0021], Fig. 4), made of magnetic material ([0021]), which includes an upper wall on an upstream side with respect to an advancing direction of a primary electron beam passing (top side of 131 in Fig. 4), an outer peripheral wall (right side of 133 in Fig. 4), an inner peripheral wall (left side of 131 in Fig. 4), and one of a lower wall (bottom side of 133 in Fig. 4) in which a gap is formed on a downstream side with respect to the advancing direction of the primary electron beam (gap between 131 and 133 of 13 where 22 is located in Fig. 4) and an inclined wall in which a gap is formed on a downstream side with respect to the advancing direction of the primary electron beam, which is configured to let the primary electron beam pass through a space surrounded by the inner peripheral wall (electron beam 11 passes through space surrounded by left side of 131, [0021], Fig. 4), and which surrounds the coil by the upper wall, the outer peripheral wall, the inner peripheral wall, and the one of the lower wall and the inclined wall (Fig. 4), and
a cover, made of a non-magnetic conductor (non-magnetic metal electrode 22, [0029], Fig. 4), which contacts and covers an end surface of the yoke on the downstream side with respect to the advancing direction of the primary electron beam (22 contacts and covers an end surface of 131 and 133 of 13, Fig. 4), the end surface of the yoke including a corner portion on an inner peripheral side (the interpreted end surface includes a corner portion on an inner peripheral side—see Fig. 4 which shows 22 contacting the left corners of 131 and 133 which are on an inner peripheral side),
a stage configured to place thereon a target object which is to be irradiated with the primary electron beam having passed through the electromagnetic lens (sample stage 14, [0021], Figs. 4-5); and
a detector configured to detect a secondary electron beam emitted from the target object (multi-detectors 26, [0032], Fig. 5).
Sakakibara does not explicitly teach wherein a corner portion of the cover is formed to have a curved surface, however altering the corner portion of the cover to be formed to have a curved surface is a change in shape that is not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. MPEP 2144.04 IV. B. teaches “In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).” The prior art renders the claim obvious because the disclosure is absent demonstration of the criticality of the particular shape. The disclosure merely restates the claim language (See [0048]) without detailing the significance of the curved surface of the corner portion of the cover. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. for more information.
Regarding claim 11, Sakakibara teaches an electron beam inspection apparatus(scanning electron microscope, [0002], [0031], Fig. 5) comprising:
an electromagnetic lens (magnetic field lens 13, Fig. 4, [0021]) configured to include
a coil (coil 132, [0021], Fig. 4),
a yoke (upper magnetic path 131 and lower magnetic path 133, [0021], Fig. 4), made of magnetic material ([0021]), which includes an upper wall on an upstream side with respect to an advancing direction of a primary electron beam passing (top side of 131 in Fig. 4), an outer peripheral wall (right side of 133 in Fig. 4), an inner peripheral wall (left side of 131 in Fig. 4), and one of a lower wall (bottom side of 133 in Fig. 4) in which a gap is formed on a downstream side with respect to the advancing direction of the primary electron beam (gap between 131 and 133 of 13 where 22 is located in Fig. 4) and an inclined wall in which a gap is formed on a downstream side with respect to the advancing direction of the primary electron beam, which is configured to let the primary electron beam pass through a space surrounded by the inner peripheral wall (electron beam 11 passes through space surrounded by left side of 131, [0021], Fig. 4), and which surrounds the coil by the upper wall, the outer peripheral wall, the inner peripheral wall, and the one of the lower wall and the inclined wall (Fig. 4), and
a cover, made of a non-magnetic conductor (non-magnetic metal electrode 22, [0029], Fig. 4), which contacts and covers an end surface of the yoke on the downstream side with respect to the advancing direction of the primary electron beam (22 contacts and covers an end surface of 131 and 133 of 13, Fig. 4), the end surface of the yoke including a corner portion on an inner peripheral side (the interpreted end surface includes a corner portion on an inner peripheral side—see Fig. 4 which shows 22 contacting the left corners of 131 and 133 which are on an inner peripheral side),
a stage configured to place thereon a target object which is to be irradiated with the primary electron beam having passed through the electromagnetic lens (sample stage 14, [0021], Figs. 4-5); and
a detector configured to detect a secondary electron beam emitted from the target object (multi-detectors 26, [0032], Fig. 5).
Sakakibara does not explicitly teach wherein a corner portion of the cover is formed to have a curved surface, however altering the corner portion of the cover to be formed to have a curved surface is a change in shape that is not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. MPEP 2144.04 IV. B. teaches “In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).” The prior art renders the claim obvious because the disclosure is absent demonstration of the criticality of the particular shape. The disclosure merely restates the claim language (See [0048]) without detailing the significance of the curved surface of the corner portion of the cover. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. for more information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3and 5-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
LAURA E TANDY
Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881