DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng (2005/0035460).
Re claim 1, Tseng discloses providing a substrate (100); forming an impurity region (113) in the substrate; forming a first dielectric layer (120) on the substrate; forming an opening (130) along the first dielectric layer (120) to expose the impurity region (113) (Fig. 2); conformally forming a layer (150) of first material in the opening; forming a layer of filler material (160) on the layer of first material to completely fill the opening (Fig. 3); and performing a planarization process until the top surface of the first dielectric layer is exposed to turn the layer of first material into an intervening film and the layer of filler material into a filler layer (Fig. 3~ [0044]); wherein the intervening film (150) comprises a U-shaped cross-sectional profile and silicon carbide ([0043]).
Re claim 2, Tseng discloses further comprising forming a first barrier film (140) between the impurity region and the intervening film; wherein the first barrier film comprises titanium, tantalum, or a combination thereof ([0041]~ Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Leng (2022/0393105), and further in view of Booth, JR. et al. (2012/0118619).
Re claim 3, Tseng does not disclose further comprising forming a second barrier film between the first barrier film and the intervening film; wherein the second barrier film comprises titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, or a combination thereof.
Leng et al. disclose further comprising forming a second barrier film (259) between the first barrier film (282) and the intervening film; wherein the second barrier film comprises tantalum nitride, or a combination thereof ([0061]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a barrier film of the claimed materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Re claim 4, the combination does not disclose further comprising forming a third barrier film between the intervening film and the filler layer; wherein the third barrier film comprises titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, or a combination thereof; wherein the intervening film, the first barrier film, the second barrier film, and the third barrier film configure a liner structure on the impurity region.
Booth, JR. et al. disclose further comprising forming a third barrier film (52L) between the intervening film (50L) and the filler layer (70L); wherein the third barrier film comprises titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, or a combination thereof ([0038]); wherein the intervening film, the first barrier film, the second barrier film, and the third barrier film configure a liner structure on the impurity region (in the combination of the references).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Tseng, Leng et al. and Booth, Jr. to add the barrier of Booth, Jr. in the combination to prevent diffusion of dopant and/or material through the layers.
Re claim 5, Tseng discloses wherein the filler layer comprises copper, tungsten, or a combination thereof ([0044]).
Re claim 6, Tseng discloses wherein the impurity region (113) comprises n-type dopants or p-type dopants ([0037]~ s/d dopants).
Re claim 7, Tseng discloses wherein the impurity region (113) comprises epitaxial material ([0042]).
Re claim 8, Tseng discloses wherein the first dielectric layer comprises silicon dioxide or fluorosilicate glass ([0038]).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 9,202,758 B1 discloses a similar method of fabricating a semiconductor device.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 October 13, 2026