DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 108535270.
Claim 1
CN 108535270 discloses a measurement machine (See Fig. 1) comprising: a holding section (Fig. 4, Ref. 26; bearing plate) where a measurement target (Page 2, Para. 3, display screen “substrate” held on bearing plate which is used to feed the substrate to different stations) is held; a measurement unit (Fig. 2, Ref. 40; code reading mechanism) provided at a position facing the holding section (Fig. 1, Ref. 26; bearing plate and substrate are facing the code reading mechanism Ref. 40 when feed to the code reading mechanism) and comprising a sensor (Fig. 2, Ref. 42; code reader), the sensor (Fig. 2, Ref. 42) being configured to perform a measurement process (reading code) on the measurement target (substrate); a frame (Fig. 1, Ref. 10; frame); and a plurality of arms (See Fig. 2 below, multiple vertical arms) that couples the frame (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) with the measurement unit (Fig. 1, Ref. 40).
[AltContent: textbox (Arms, z-axis)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim 2
CN 108535270 discloses that a direction extending from the measurement unit (Fig. 1, Ref. 40) toward the measurement target (substrate on Ref. 26) is defined as a Z direction (See Fig. 2), a direction orthogonal to the Z direction (z-axis) is defined as an X direction (See x-axis in Fig. 2), and a direction extending from the frame (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) toward the measurement unit (Fig. 2, Ref. 40) and being orthogonal to the X direction (x-axis) and the Z direction (z-axis) is defined as a Y direction (See Fig. 2, Ref. Y-axis), the plurality of arms comprise a plurality of Z-axis support arms (See Fig. 2 above “arms, z-axis) arranged along the Z direction and a plurality of X-axis support arms (Fig. 2, Ref. 44, guiding rods) arranged along the X direction (x-axis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108535270 in view of Bonora (2019/0240831).
Claim 6
CN 108535270 substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show the plurality of arms are each configured so that a length of the arm in a longitudinal direction is extendable and contractable. Bonora (2019/0240831) shows that it is known to provide a plurality of arms (Fig. 2A, Ref. S1, S2) are each configured so that a length of the arm in a longitudinal direction is extendable and contractable (Fig. 2A, Ref. R)(Para. 0003) for a holding device. It would have been obvious to combine the device of CN 108535270 with the arm device of Bonora (2019/0240831) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing an arms device that can handle load bearing, therefore providing a smoother movement of the arms under different load requirements.
Claim 7
CN 108535270 substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show an the plurality of arms each comprise an arm with an elongated shape, and an arm fixing mechanism provided at least one of an end of the arm close to the frame or another end of the arm close to the measurement unit in a longitudinal direction of the arm, and the arm fixing mechanism comprises, a fixed piece fixed to the frame or the measurement unit, an arm support part that pivotally supports the arm, and an adjustment section which couples the fixed piece with the arm support part and by which a position of the arm support part is moved toward and away from the fixed piece along the longitudinal direction of the arm. Bonora (2019/0240831) shows that it is known to provide the plurality of arms (Fig. 2A, Ref. S1, S2) each comprise an arm with an elongated shape (Fig. 2A, Ref. L1), and an arm fixing mechanism (Fig. 2A, Ref. 251B; rotatable shoulder joint) provided at least one of an end of the arm close to the frame (Fig. 2A, Ref. 210, tower) or another end of the arm close to the measurement unit in a longitudinal direction of the arm, and the arm fixing mechanism comprises, a fixed piece fixed (Fig. 2A, Ref. 251B) to the frame (Fig. 2A, Ref. 210) or the measurement unit, an arm support part (Fig. 2A, Ref. 252B) that pivotally supports the arm (Fig. 2A, Ref. 221A, 221B), and an adjustment section (Fig. 2A, Ref. 215, gear box) which couples the fixed piece (Fig. 2A, Ref. 251B) with the arm support part (Fig. 2A, Ref. 252B) and by which a position of the arm support part (Fig. 2, Ref. 252B) is moved toward and away from the fixed piece (Fig. 2, Ref. 251B) along the longitudinal direction of the arm (Fig. 2A, Ref. S1, S2) for a holding device. It would have been obvious to combine the device of CN 108535270 with the arms of Bonora (2019/0240831) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing an arms device that can be precisely positioned at different positions over an area, therefore providing more accurate control for positioning the arms when holding an object for improved measuring results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious the measurement unit comprises a first measurement unit and a second measurement unit, the first measurement unit being disposed at a position facing a first surface of the measurement target held by the holding section, the second measurement unit being disposed at a position facing a second surface of the measurement target held by the holding section, the second surface being opposite to the first surface, and each of the first measurement unit and the second measurement unit is coupled with the frame by the plurality of arms, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claim 1, 2. Claims 4-5 would be allowed by the virtue of dependency on the allowable subject matter of claims 1-3.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 March 11, 2026