This office action is in response to the application filed on 10/15/2024. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 10-12 and 15-16 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,258,040 B2 in view of Yin et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0117034 A1, herein Yin).
Regarding claims 1, 13-14 and 16, claim 1 of US 11,258,040 B2 says “the display device comprising: a display panel including thin-film transistors for driving light emitting elements; and a polarizing member which is disposed on a first surface of the display panel, wherein a first through hole which penetrates the display panel and the polarizing member in a thickness direction is defined in the display panel and the polarizing member, a hole coating layer is disposed directly on a polarizing member's inner wall that defines the first through hole, the hole coating layer is disposed in a same layer as the thin-film transistors in a cross-sectional view, and the display panel is disposed in a different layer from the polarizing member in the cross-sectional view”.
Claim 1 of US 11,258,040 B2 does not specifically state “wherein an inner wall of the first through hole and an inner wall of the second through hole are aligned to each other in a first direction in which the first through hole and the second through hole extend.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yin discloses a display device comprising: a display panel ([0063], Ref. No. 141) including thin-film transistors ([0008], [0078], Ref. No. 406) for driving light emitting elements and a first through hole ([0063], Figs. 4, 16, it is the opening or through hole that layer 403a forms); a polarizing member ([0078], Ref. No. 402a) disposed on a surface of the display panel and including a second through hole (Figs. 4, 16, it is the opening or through hole that layer 402a forms); a resin layer ([0108], Figs. 4, 16, Ref. No. 1611) on an inner wall of the second through hole; wherein the resin layer is disposed in a same layer as the thin-film transistors in a cross-sectional view, and the display panel is disposed in a different layer from the polarizing member in the cross-sectional view (Figs. 4, 16).
Therefore, given the teachings of Yin, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying US 11,258,040 B2 in view of Yin by having the inner wall of the first through hole and an inner wall of the second through hole aligned to each other in a first direction.
Regarding claims 2 and 18, claim 2 of US 11,258,040 B2 in view of Yin teaches this limitation.
Regarding claims 3, 15 and 17, claim 3 of US 11,258,040 B2 discloses this limitation.
Regarding claim 4, Yin teaches this limitation ([0078], [0063], Figs. 4, 16, The first through hole is the opening or through hole that layer 403a forms, and the second through hole is the opening or through hole that layer 402a forms.).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 19-20, claims 4-5 of US 11,258,040 B2 disclose these limitations respectively.
Regarding claims 7-8, claim 10 of US 11,258,040 B2 discloses this limitation.
Regarding claim 9, claims 11-12 of US 11,258,040 B2 disclose these limitations respectively.
Regarding claim 10, claim 15 of US 11,258,040 B2 discloses this limitation.
Regarding claim 11, claim 16 of US 11,258,040 B2 discloses this limitation.
Regarding claim 12, claim 17 of US 11,258,040 B2 discloses this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "wherein the transparent bonding layer comprises a second through hole overlapping the first through hole". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 states “polarizing member disposed on a surface of the display panel and including a second through hole overlapping the first through hole”. It is not clear if the second through hole of claim 11 is the same or different from the second through hole of claim 1. Claim 12 is included likewise as it depends from claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0186688 A1), herein Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a display device comprising: a display panel ([0025], Fig. 5, Ref. No. 10) including a first through hole ([0030], [0047], Fig. 5, Ref. No. 172); a polarizing member (Fig. 5 and [0030]-[0031], Ref. No. 17) disposed on a surface of the display panel and including a second through hole ([0027], Ref. No. 212) overlapping the first through hole, wherein an inner wall of the first through hole and an inner wall of the second through hole are aligned to each other in a first direction (See Fig. 5, the first direction is considered to be the vertical direction that extends from the backlight module 20 to the display panel 10) in which the first through hole and the second through hole extend, and a cover layer ([0025], [0037] and Fig. 5, Ref. Nos. 41, 51) covering the inner wall of the first through hole and the inner wall of the second through hole (See. Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the cover layer is in direct contact with the inner wall of the first through hole and the inner wall of the second through hole ([0025], [0037] and Fig. 5, Ref. Nos. 41, 51).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the cover layer has a uniform thickness on the inner wall of the first through hole and the inner wall of the second through hole ([0025], [0037] and Fig. 5, Ref. No. 41).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the inner wall of the first through hole and the inner wall of the second through hole is flat in the first direction ([0025], [0037] and Fig. 5, Ref. No. 41).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the cover layer comprises black resin ([0033] and Fig. 5, Ref. No. 41; It is very common to use a black resin composition as a black ink, particularly for forming a light-shielding or black matrix layer in a display device, because the resin provides both the desired black appearance and the film forming properties needed for reliable deposition and pattern formation.).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the cover layer comprises clear resin ([0033] and Fig. 5, Ref. No. 41; It is common in the display art to use a resin-based adhesive or glue as a transparent/clear resin layer for covering components of a display panel, while maintaining optical transparency and providing reliable adhesion.).
Claims 1 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yin et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0117034 A1, herein Yin).
Regarding claim 1, Yin discloses a display device comprising: a display panel ([0063], Ref. No. 141) including a first through hole ([0063], Figs. 4, 16, it is the opening or through hole that layer 403a forms); a polarizing member ([0078], Ref. No. 402a) disposed on a surface of the display panel and including a second through hole (Figs. 4, 16, it is the opening or through hole that layer 402a forms) overlapping the first through hole, wherein an inner wall of the first through hole and an inner wall of the second through hole are aligned to each other in a first direction (Figs. 4, 16, the first direction is considered to be the vertical direction that extends from the layer 404 to layer 401) in which the first through hole and the second through hole extend, and a cover layer ([0108], Figs. 4, 16, Ref. No. 1611) covering the inner wall of the first through hole and the inner wall of the second through hole (See. Figs. 4, 16).
Regarding claim 13, Yin discloses a display device comprising: a display panel ([0063], Ref. No. 141) including thin-film transistors ([0008], [0078], Ref. No. 406) for driving light emitting elements and a first through hole ([0063], Figs. 4, 16, it is the opening or through hole that layer 403a forms); a polarizing member ([0078], Ref. No. 402a) disposed on a surface of the display panel and including a second through hole (Figs. 4, 16, it is the opening or through hole that layer 402a forms); a resin layer ([0108], Figs. 4, 16, Ref. No. 1611) on an inner wall of the second through hole; wherein the resin layer is disposed in a same layer as the thin-film transistors in a cross-sectional view, and the display panel is disposed in a different layer from the polarizing member in the cross-sectional view (Figs. 4, 16).
Regarding claim 14, Yin discloses the display device of claim 13, wherein the resin layer is further disposed on an inner wall of the first through hole ([0108], Figs. 4, 16, Ref. No. 1611).
Regarding claim 15, Yin discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the resin layer has a uniform thickness on the inner wall of the first through hole and the inner wall of the second through hole ([0108], Figs. 4, 16, Ref. No. 1611).
Regarding claim 16, Yin discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the inner wall of the first through hole and the inner wall of the second through hole are aligned to each other in a first direction (the first direction is considered to be either the vertical direction or the horizontal interface direction) in which the first through hole and the second through hole extend ([0063], Figs. 4, 16).
Regarding claim 17, Yin discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the resin layer covers whole surfaces of the inner wall of the first through hole and the inner wall of the second through hole ([0108], Figs. 4, 16, Ref. No. 1611).
Regarding claim 18, Yin discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the resin layer is in direct contact with the inner wall of the first through hole and the inner wall of the second through hole ([0108], Figs. 4, Ref. No. 1611).
Regarding claim 19, Yin discloses the display device of claim 13, wherein the resin layer comprises black resin ([0015]).
Regarding claim 20, Yin discloses the display device of claim 13, wherein the resin layer comprises clear resin ([0015]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Cheng (Pub. No. US 2019/0306295 A1).
Regarding claims 7-8, Chen does not specifically show further comprising a window member disposed on a surface of the polarizing member, wherein the window member comprises a window base and a print layer which is disposed on the window base, overlaps the first through hole, and at least partially exposes the first through hole.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cheng teaches a display device, comprising a window member ([0113] and Figs. 5-8, Ref. No. 201) which is disposed on a surface of the polarizing member, wherein the window member comprises a window base and a print layer ([0111] and Figs. 5-8, Ref. No. 211) which is disposed on the window base, overlaps the first through hole, and at least partially exposes the first through hole (Figs. 3-8 and paragraphs [0095], [0111]-[0112]) to increase the display area of the display screen when a size of the mobile terminal does not change ([0103]).
Therefore, given the teachings of Cheng, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Chen in view of Cheng by employing the window member.
Regarding claim 10, Cheng in view of Chen teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a transparent bonding layer ([0111] and Figs. 5-8, Ref. No. 211) which is interposed between the polarizing member and the window member (Cheng: Figs. 3-8 and paragraphs [0095], [0111]-[0112] and Chen: Figs. 3, 5 and paragraphs [0013], [0032]-[0033]).
Regarding claims 11-12, Cheng in view of Chen teaches the display device of claim 15, wherein the transparent bonding layer comprises a second through hole overlapping the first through hole, wherein an inner wall of the second through hole protrudes inward from an inner wall of the first through hole (Cheng: Figs. 3-8 and paragraphs [0095], [0111]-[0112] and Chen: Figs. 3, 5 and paragraphs [0013], [0032]-[0033]).
Prior Art
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. For example:
Kikuchi et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0142242 A1) discloses a display device comprising: a display panel ([0016], Ref No. 11) including a first through hole ([0017], Figs. 2, 4, Ref. No. 14); a polarizing member ([0016], Figs. 2, 4, Ref. No. 12) disposed on a surface of the display panel and including a second through hole ([0033], Figs. 2, 4, Ref. No. 25) overlapping the first through hole, wherein an inner wall of the first through hole and an inner wall of the second through hole are aligned to each other in a first direction (See Figs. 2, 4, the first direction is considered to be the horizontal direction that extends in the interface of panel 11 and polarizing plate 12) in which the first through hole and the second through hole extend.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is rejected under the double patenting rejection described above, but would be allowable if amended, or a timely filed terminal disclaimer may be used to overcome the obviousness-type double patenting rejection over the prior patent.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 9, the prior art of record alone or in combination do not teach or fairly suggest, in combination with other elements of the claim, an inner side surface of the print layer protrudes inward from the first through hole, and the hole coating layer overlaps the print layer.
Conclusion
September 23, 2026
/MALIHEH MALEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813