DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,137,590. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a species claim anticipates a generic claim; therefore, the claims of the patent anticipate the examined claims.
Claims being examined
Patented claims (from US 12,137,590)
1
1 & 2
2
1
3
6
4
4
5
1
6
7
7
8
8
9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (2023/0189570) in view of Yuan et al. (2022/0165829).
Re claim 1, Lin discloses (Fig. 7) a bus electrode (110); a first electrode (15) electrically insulated from the bus electrode; a bank layer (16) exposing a portion of the first electrode and a portion of the bus electrode and covering an edge of the first electrode and an edge of the bus electrode (Fig. 7); an insulating pattern layer (113) arranged on the bus electrode, wherein the insulating pattern layer comprises a first opening (161) overlapping the bus electrode (110); an intermediate layer (17) arranged on the first electrode (15), the bus electrode (110), and the bank layer (16), wherein the intermediate layer (17) comprises a second opening (13) overlapping the first opening (161~ Fig. 8); and a second electrode (18) arranged on the intermediate layer (17) and corresponding to the first electrode (15) and the bus electrode (110), wherein the second electrode (18) contacts the bus electrode (110) through the second opening (13) and the first opening (161).
Lin does not disclose a common voltage line and wherein the bus electrode electrically connected to the common voltage line.
Yuan et al. disclose comprising a common voltage line electrically connected to the bus electrode ([0015]).
It would have been within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lin and Yuan et al. to enable the voltage line configuration of Yuan et al. to be added to Lin's device to be made with the same configuration in order to reduce an equivalent resistance of the voltage line and reducing a loss of signals transmitted by the voltage line.
Lin does not disclose wherein the insulating pattern includes an inorganic material.
It is well known in the art before Applicant's effective filing date to use an inorganic material for an insulating layer or pattern in a display device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant's effective filing date to use an inorganic material for the insulating pattern for its own intended purpose.
Re claim 2, One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited width through routine experimentation to achieve a desired exposure of the layers and/or device beneath the openings.
In addition, the selection of width, it's obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process conditions by routine experimentation with a limited number of species of result effective variables. These claims are prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996)(claimed ranges or a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill or art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1995) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed width or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen width or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen width is critical. In re Woodruf, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Re claim 3, Lin discloses wherein the bank layer (16) comprises a bank opening corresponding to the bus electrode (110), and a width of the bank opening is greater than each of the width of the first opening and the width of the second opening (Fig.7).
Re claim 4, Lin discloses wherein the second electrode (18) contacts an upper surface of the intermediate layer (17), an upper surface of a portion of the insulating pattern layer (113) surrounding an edge of the first opening, and an upper surface of the bus electrode (110) (Fig. 1).
Re claim 5, Lin discloses wherein the first opening overlaps the second opening (Fig. 1).
Re claims 7 and 8, Yuan et al. disclose a common voltage line electrically connected to the bus electrode, wherein the common voltage line is electrically connected to at least one auxiliary pattern that overlaps the common voltage line and is arranged on a different layer from the common voltage line ([0015], [0117]); further comprising an auxiliary line extending in a direction crossing the common voltage line (Fig. 13).
Re claim 9, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the invention to add an adjacent common voltage line, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Notwithstanding, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular configuration because applicant has not disclosed that the configuration/dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension/configuration. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Re claim 10, Lin discloses wherein an outer edge of the insulating pattern layer (113) is covered with the bank layer (16).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Yuan et al. as applied to claims 1-5 and 7-10 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (2014/0239262).
The combination does not disclose wherein the bus electrode and the first electrode are disposed on a same layer, and include a same material.
Kim et al. disclose wherein the first electrode (171) and the bus electrode (190) are located on a same layer and include a same material.
It would have been within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lin, Yuan et al. and Kim et al. to enable the electrodes to be made of the same material and on the same layer of Lin to be the same according to the teachings of Kim et al. because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to alternative suitable materials for the disclosed etch stop material of Lee et al. and art recognized suitability for an intended purpose has been recognized to be motivation to combine. See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE MANDALA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 October 14, 2026