DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species b, claims 21-22, 25 and 27-32 in the reply filed on 3/30/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 23-24 and 26 are directed to non-elected invention and therefore withdrawn.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 22, 25, 27-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 11164745 by Saly taken with KR 20180136730, hereinafter KR 370 and US Patent Application Publication 20170256402 by Kaufman-Osborn et al.
Claim 1: Saly discloses a film forming method for forming an object film on a substrate (Figure and accompanying text), the method comprising: providing the substrate including an a first material formed on a surface of a first area (column 4, lines 54-65), and a layer of a second material formed on a surface of a second area, the second material being different from the first material (column 4, lines 54-65), forming an SAM on the first surface relative to the second surface by supplying a SAM precursor (column 4, lines 12-50).
Saly discloses a metal layer and dielectric layer and selective blocking and discloses the substrate can be subject to a pretreatment process including reduction (column 3, lines 118-22); however, fails to disclose the oxidation prevention layer as claimed and removal of such. However, KR 370 discloses for selective deposition of surfaces that include Cu, including a oxidation prevention layer to protect the Cu and removing the oxidation prevention layer prior to selective deposition (“the treatment process may remove native oxide layers present on the first metal-based surface”, “ the treatment may remove a passivation layer or hydrocarbon layer that may be present on the second metal-based surface, for example, the treatment may remove the BTA layer present on the Cu surface . In some embodiments, a passivation layer on the Cu surface, such as a BTA layer, may have been deposited to protect the Cu surface from oxidation during other processing steps”) and therefore having a BTA/native oxide layer on the Cu layer would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to protect the Cu surface during other process steps as suggested by KR 370. KR 370 explicitly discloses the protective oxidation prevention layer must be removed prior to selective deposition (“a passivation layer must be removed prior to the selective deposition process.”) and therefore removing of such would have been obvious to provide a surface for selective deposition.
As for oxidizing the surface, Kaufman-Osborn et al. discloses exposing the substrate to the hydroxyl moiety (including air, water, oxygen) prior to SAM deposition for selective deposition (0038, 0041) and discloses the alternative for pulsing the oxidizer and SAM precursor (i.e. after removing the native oxide layer, oxidizing the surface) (0038). Kaufman-Osborn et al. discloses such providing the benefits of increasing the packed orientation of the SAM (0037) and having improved blocking properties (0049). Therefore, taking the references collectively, it would have been obvious to have modified Saly to use the oxidizing treatment to provide the benefits as outlined by Kaufman-Osborn et al., specifically, improved SAM blocking properties.
As for the gaseous SAM, Kaufman-Osborn et al. discloses liquid or gas SAM deposition (0034) and using gas would have been obvious as predictable.
Claim 22: KR 370 discloses removing the oxidation prevention layer via a hydrogen gas treatment (“gas comprising H .sub.2 may be used in the first surface treatment process”) and discloses such heating to a temperature (“The temperature during the surface treatment is, for example, from about room temperature to about 400”). Kaufman-Osborn et al. discloses hydroxyl moiety treatment and heating to a temperature (“ temperature of between about 25° C. and about 400° C.”, 0043). Therefore, taking the references collectively it would have been obvious to have removed the antioxidation layer and form the hydroxyl moieties at a first and second temperature respectively with a reasonable expectation of predictable results as both are taught as being performed at a heated temperature. The examiner notes the collection of prior art fails to explicitly disclose the second temperature is less then the first temperature; however, the temperature is taught as a result effective variable directly affecting the treatment and it would have been obvious to have determined the optimum temperature through routine experimentation to reap the benefits of removal of the oxidation prevention layer and the hydroxyl moiety treatment. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Additionally, the ranges of the treatment overlap the claimed relationship and therefore make obvious such. Finally, the first and second temperature relationship is a selection of a finite number of predictable solution (first and second temperature are equal, first temperature is higher, second temperature is higher) and the claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options with his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
Claim 25: As noted with respect to claim 22, KR 370 discloses removing the oxidation prevention layer using hydrogen atmosphere at a temperature. Additionally, Kaufman-Osborn et al. discloses using hydrogen atmosphere for the formation of the oxide layer (“Hydrogen gas and oxygen gas may also be utilized in combination to form hydroxyl moieties”) and therefore using a hydrogen atmosphere for the removal and the oxidation would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, the temperature is a made obvious for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 22.
Claim 27: Saly discloses selective deposition onto a first surface versus a second surface, wherein the first surface can be metal and second surface can be dielectric, including silicon oxide (column 4, lines 60-64) and discloses blocking deposition onto the first surface (i.e. metal) and thereafter depositing a material onto the second surface (i.e. SiO2-). Saly discloses the metal can be copper (column 4, lines 5-10) and therefore using copper and blocking such would have been obvious as Saly discloses blocking a metal and also discloses metals include copper.
Claim 28 Saly discloses silicon included materials (column 4, lines 60-64). Kaufman-Osborn et al. discloses silicon (0022, 0023).
Claim 29: Saly discloses using known SAM compounds and selecting such based-on head and tail groups with affinity for the blocked surface (column 2, lines 12-35). Kaufman-Osborn et al. discloses thiol (0029) and using the known SAM compound would have been obvious as predictable in the process of Saly.
Claim 30: Saly discloses deposition onto the second layer (column 7, line 64 to Column 8, line 5). Kaufman-Osborn et al. discloses forming a film on the surface of the second layer (0036).
Claim 31-32: KR 370 discloses the oxidation prevention layer, including BTA, or native oxide layer, prior to selective deposition (“the treatment process may remove native oxide layers present on the first metal-based surface”, “ the treatment may remove a passivation layer or hydrocarbon layer that may be present on the second metal-based surface, for example, the treatment may remove the BTA layer present on the Cu surface . In some embodiments, a passivation layer on the Cu surface, such as a BTA layer, may have been deposited to protect the Cu surface from oxidation during other processing steps”) and therefore having a BTA/native oxide layer on the Cu layer would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to protect the Cu surface during other process steps as suggested by KR 370.
Conclusion
/DAVID P TUROCY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718