DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1.1
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach object detection method, at least a part of the object being located in a subject under examination, the object detection method comprising (see abstract, ¶ 52: detecting invasive device or catheter): obtaining volumetric image data generated by scanning a region of interest of the subject by an imaging device (see abstract, ¶¶ 52-53, 25: 3D imaging of subject and invasive device such as catheter using MRI); converting the volumetric image data into feature projection images, the feature projection images comprising three orthogonal plane feature projection images (see ¶¶ 25, 92: projecting the 3D image onto orthogonal planes); detecting coordinates of the object in each of the three orthogonal plane feature projection images to obtain corresponding projection coordinates of the object in respective coordinate systems of the three orthogonal plane feature projection images (see ¶¶ 93-94: detects position of the catheter or distinctive points on each of the images); and obtaining global coordinates of the object in a global coordinate system of the imaging device on the basis of the projection coordinates of the object (see abstract, ¶¶ 92-94: 3D position and direction of catheter determined).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teach object detection method according to claim 1, wherein the object comprises a rotating body having two-dimensional features (see abstract, ¶¶ 52-53, 76: catheter having 2D features such as marks or distinctive points).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teach object detection method according to claim 1, wherein the object comprises a needle, an endoscope, an implant, a catheter, a guide wire, a dilator, an ablator, and/or a contrast agent (see ¶ 53: catheter).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teach object detection method according to claim 1, wherein the feature projection images comprise one or more of the following items: a max intensity projection image, an average intensity projection image, a min intensity projection image, a standard deviation projection image, and a combination of two or more thereof (see ¶ 92: maximum intensity projection).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teach object detection method according to claim 1, wherein the three orthogonal planes are an axial plane, a sagittal plane, and a coronal plane of the subject (see ¶¶ 92-93, 25: projection onto three orthogonal planes).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teach object detection method according to claim 8, wherein the displaying comprises displaying a trajectory of the object (see ¶¶ 92-94, 52, 75: direction of the catheter or invasive object, displaying tracking results; see fig. 3: display monitor).
With regard to claim 10, see discussion of claim 1. D1 further teach a processor and memory (see ¶¶ 50-51, fig. 3).
With regard to claims 11-14 and 18, see discussion of claims 2-5 and 9, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
With regard to claim 8, D1 teach object detection method according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach further comprising: performing multi-oblique plane reconstruction on the basis of the global coordinates to display an overall appearance of the object and the region of interest in a reconstructed image, however Examiner takes Official Notice to the fact that performing multi-oblique plane reconstruction is extremely well known in the art before the effective filing date and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate known teachings into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced visualization of objects of interest.
With regard to claim 17, see discussion of claim 8.
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Pertinent Art
Gluncic2 teach projection images and locating an object.
Moriya3 teach projecting images into a first and second plane and determining coordinates of an object in the projection images.
Conclusion
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 US Publication No. 2004/0092813.
2 US Publication No. 2016/0228034.
3 US Patent No. 8,547,377.