Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 01/03/25. Claims 20-40 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 01/03/25, (2) 01/15/25 have been received and are being considered.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 20, 22, 24-27, 29, 31-34, 36, 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 as being unpatentable over Matsuura (US 20100109001 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Matsuura discloses:
a pair of electrodes(see its paragraph [0003], disclosing pair of electrodes); and
a light-emitting layer comprising a first organic compound (see para [0004] disclosing ITO),
a second organic compound(see para [0013] disclosing 4,4'-biphenylenediamine derivative), and
a phosphorescent compound, between the pair of electrodes (see para [0030] disclosing compound),
wherein the first organic compound is a heterocyclic compound(see para [0031] disclosing carbizole), wherein the second organic compound is a compound in which a 3-position of a carbazole ring is bonded to a substituent (see para [0031] disclosing carbizole),
wherein the phosphorescent compound is an organometallic complex comprising a ligand and a central metal, wherein an oxygen in the ligand is directly bonded to the central metal (see paras [0027] and [0028] disclosing Diketone derivatives etc.), and
wherein an emission spectrum of a thin film of a mixed material of the first organic compound and the second organic compound overlaps with an absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound (see para [0032] disclosing wavelength overlap).
Regarding claim 22, Matsuura and Kadoma disclose the light-emitting element according to claim 20, wherein a peak of the emission spectrum of the thin film of the mixed material overlaps with the longest-wavelength side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound(see para [0032] disclosing wavelength overlap).
Regarding claim 24, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 20 wherein a difference between an energy value of a peak of the emission spectrum of the thin film of the mixed material and an energy value of a peak of the longest-wavelength-side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound is 0.3 eV or less (this office action notes that the overlap in phosphorescent compound is matched in Matsuura, with minimal difference in energy value).
Regarding claim 25, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 20 wherein a difference between an energy value of a peak of the emission spectrum of the thin film of the mixed material and an energy value of a peak of the longest-wavelength-side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound is 0.2 eV or less(this office action notes that the overlap in phosphorescent compound is matched in Matsuura, with minimal difference in energy value).
Regarding claim 26, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 20 wherein a difference between an energy value of a peak of the emission spectrum of the thin film of the mixed material and an energy value of a peak of the longest-wavelength-side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound is 0.1 eV or less(this office action notes that the overlap in phosphorescent compound is matched in Matsuura, with minimal difference in energy value).
Regarding claim 27, Matsuura discloses a light-emitting element comprising:
a pair of electrodes(see its paragraph [0003], disclosing pair of electrodes); and
a light-emitting layer comprising a first organic compound(see para [0004] disclosing ITO),
a second organic compound(see para [0013] disclosing 4,4'-biphenylenediamine derivative), and
a phosphorescent compound, between the pair of electrodes(see para [0030] disclosing compound),
wherein the first organic compound is a heterocyclic compound(see para [0031] disclosing carbizole),
wherein the second organic compound is a compound in which a first carbazole is directly bonded to a second carbazole ring, wherein the phosphorescent compound is an organometallic complex comprising a ligand and a central metal(see para [0031] disclosing carbizole),
wherein an oxygen in the ligand is directly bonded to the central metal (see paras [0027] and [0028] disclosing Diketone derivatives etc.), and
wherein an emission spectrum of a thin film of a mixed material of the first organic compound and the second organic compound overlaps with an absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound(see para [0032] disclosing wavelength overlap).
Regarding claim 29, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 20, wherein a peak of the emission spectrum of the thin film of the mixed material overlaps with the longest-wavelength side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound(see para [0032] disclosing wavelength overlap).
Regarding claim 31, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 20 wherein a difference between an energy value of a peak of the emission spectrum of the thin film of the mixed material and an energy value of a peak of the longest-wavelength-side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound is 0.3 eV or less (this office action notes that the overlap in phosphorescent compound is matched in Matsuura, with minimal difference in energy value).
Regarding claim 32, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 20 wherein a difference between an energy value of a peak of the emission spectrum of the thin film of the mixed material and an energy value of a peak of the longest-wavelength-side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound is 0.2 eV or less(this office action notes that the overlap in phosphorescent compound is matched in Matsuura, with minimal difference in energy value).
Regarding claim 33, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 20 wherein a difference between an energy value of a peak of the emission spectrum of the thin film of the mixed material and an energy value of a peak of the longest-wavelength-side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound is 0.1 eV or less (this office action notes that the overlap in phosphorescent compound is matched in Matsuura, with minimal difference in energy value).
Regarding claim 34, Matsuura disclose a light-emitting element comprising:
a pair of electrodes(see its paragraph [0003], disclosing pair of electrodes); and
a light-emitting layer comprising a first organic compound(see para [0004] disclosing ITO),
a second organic compound(see para [0013] disclosing 4,4'-biphenylenediamine derivative), and
a phosphorescent compound, between the pair of electrodes(see para [0030] disclosing compound),
wherein the first organic compound is a heterocyclic compound(see para [0031] disclosing carbizole),
wherein the second organic compound is a compound in which a 3-position of a first carbazole is bonded to a 3-position of a second carbazole ring(see para [0031] disclosing carbizole),
wherein the phosphorescent compound is an organometallic complex comprising a ligand and a central metal(see para [0031] disclosing carbizole),
wherein an oxygen in the ligand is directly bonded to the central metal(see paras [0027] and [0028] disclosing Diketone derivatives etc.), and
wherein an emission spectrum of a thin film of a mixed material of the first organic compound and the second organic compound overlaps with an absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound(see para [0032] disclosing wavelength overlap).
Regarding claim 36, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 34 wherein a peak of the emission spectrum of the thin film of the mixed material overlaps with the longest-wavelength side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound(see para [0032] disclosing wavelength overlap).
Regarding claim 38, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 34 wherein a difference between an energy value of a peak of the emission spectrum of the thin film of the mixed material and an energy value of a peak of the longest-wavelength-side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound is 0.3 eV or less(this office action notes that the overlap in phosphorescent compound is matched in Matsuura, with minimal difference in energy value).
Regarding claim 39, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according claim 34 wherein a difference between an energy value of a peak of the emission spectrum of the thin film of the mixed material and an energy value of a peak of the longest-wavelength-side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound is 0.2 eV or less(this office action notes that the overlap in phosphorescent compound is matched in Matsuura, with minimal difference in energy value).
Regarding claim 40, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 34 wherein a difference between an energy value of a peak of the emission spectrum of the thin film of the mixed material and an energy value of a peak of the longest-wavelength-side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound is 0.1 eV or less(this office action notes that the overlap in phosphorescent compound is matched in Matsuura, with minimal difference in energy value).
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 21, 23, 28, 30, 35, 37, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Matsuura and further in view of Kadoma (US 20110285276 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 20 but does not disclose wherein a level of a triplet excitation energy of the mixed material of the first organic compound and the second organic compound is higher than a level of a triplet excitation energy of the phosphorescent compound.
However, Kadoma is directed towards LED devices and at least at para [0012] discloses wherein a level of a triplet excitation energy of the mixed material of the first organic compound and the second organic compound is higher than a level of a triplet excitation energy of the phosphorescent compound (see the relation of higher triplet excitation energy than phosphor, in para [0012]).
Matsuura and Kadoma are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to combine Matsuura and Kadoma. Matsuura and Kadoma may be combined by forming the device of Matsuura with the excitation energy of Matsuura in order to increase light emitting efficiency, see para [0016].
Regarding claim 23, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 20 Kadoma discloses wherein a peak of the longest-wavelength side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound is in a range from 490 nm to 530 nm (see para [0118] discloses green).
Matsuura and Kadoma are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to combine Matsuura and Kadoma. Matsuura and Kadoma may be combined by forming the device of Matsuura with the excitation energy of Matsuura in order to increase light emitting efficiency, see para [0016].
Regarding claim 28, Matsuura disclose the light-emitting element according to claim 27 wherein a level of a triplet excitation energy of the mixed material of the first organic compound and the second organic compound is higher than a level of a triplet excitation energy of the phosphorescent compound.
However, Kadoma is directed towards LED devices and at least at para [0012] discloses wherein a level of a triplet excitation energy of the mixed material of the first organic compound and the second organic compound is higher than a level of a triplet excitation energy of the phosphorescent compound (see the relation of higher triplet excitation energy than phosphor, in para [0012]).
Matsuura and Kadoma are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to combine Matsuura and Kadoma. Matsuura and Kadoma may be combined by forming the device of Matsuura with the excitation energy of Matsuura in order to increase light emitting efficiency, see para [0016].
Regarding claim 30, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 27, according to wherein a peak of the longest-wavelength side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound is in a range from 490 nm to 530 nm (see para [0118] discloses green).
Matsuura and Kadoma are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to combine Matsuura and Kadoma. Matsuura and Kadoma may be combined by forming the device of Matsuura with the excitation energy of Matsuura in order to increase light emitting efficiency, see para [0016].
Regarding claim 35, Matsuura discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 34 but does not disclose wherein a level of a triplet excitation energy of the mixed material of the first organic compound and the second organic compound is higher than a level of a triplet excitation energy of the phosphorescent compound.
However, Kadoma is directed towards LED devices and at least at para [0012] discloses wherein a level of a triplet excitation energy of the mixed material of the first organic compound and the second organic compound is higher than a level of a triplet excitation energy of the phosphorescent compound (see the relation of higher triplet excitation energy than phosphor, in para [0012]).
Matsuura and Kadoma are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to combine Matsuura and Kadoma. Matsuura and Kadoma may be combined by forming the device of Matsuura with the excitation energy of Matsuura in order to increase light emitting efficiency, see para [0016].
Regarding claim 37, Matsuura and Kodoma disclose the light-emitting element according to claim 34 wherein a peak of the longest-wavelength side absorption band in the absorption spectrum of the phosphorescent compound is in a range from 490 nm to 530 nm(see para [0118] discloses green).
Conclusion
/EDWARD CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893