Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2024 and 5/28/2025 were filed before the first action on the merits. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A flight control device configured to control… (claims 1-10, 13)
A maintaining determination unit configured to…determine (claims 1-3, 6, 10)
An output adjustment unit configured to…perform output adjustment (claims 1-3, 5-7)
A driving continuation unit configured to…continue driving (claims 2, 5, 10)
An excessively-large-output determination unit configured to…determine (claims 3, 5)
A decrease continuation unit configured to…continue driving (claims 3-4)
A driving stop unit configured to continuously continue driving (claim 6)
An evacuation request unit configured to request (claims 7-9)
A landing request unit configured to request (claim 8)
A search request unit configured to request (claim 9)
A stop determination unit configured to determine (claim 10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20180072430 by Misfeldt (hereinafter “Misfeldt”).
Regarding claim 1, Misfeldt teaches A flight control device configured to control driving of a plurality of flight-motors to maintain an electric flight vehicle, which includes the flight-motors, at a stable attitude, see for example paragraphs [0021] and [0029]-[0030], where the system seeks minimize changes in thrust or altitude for multi-rotor aircraft.
the flight control device comprising: a maintaining determination unit configured to, when an abnormality occurs in the flight-motors, determine whether the electric flight vehicle is capable of maintaining the stable attitude for at least one of a state in which, among the flight-motors, an abnormal motor, in which the abnormality occurs, stops driving or a state in which the abnormal motor continues driving; see for example paragraphs [0029]-[0030] and [0032]-[0033], where the system detects a motor abnormality that could result in a change in thrust or altitude.
and an output adjustment unit configured to, based on determination that the electric flight vehicle is capable of maintaining the stable attitude, perform output adjustment of, among the flight-motors, at least one of a normal motor, in which the abnormality does not occur, or the abnormal motor to maintain the electric flight vehicle at the stable attitude. See again paragraphs [0029]-[0030], [0032]-[0033], and [0039], where upon detecting a motor abnormality the system proceeds to compensate for it in order to minimize changes in thrust and in altitude by either ramping down or deactivating the abnormal motor while also compensating for its thrust in the functional motors.
Claims 11-13 have similar limitations to claim 1 above, and are therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 6, Misfeldt teaches wherein the output adjustment unit includes a driving stop unit configured to stop driving of the abnormal motor, when the maintaining determination unit determines that the electric flight vehicle is capable of maintaining the stable attitude in the state in which the abnormal motor stops driving. See again paragraphs [0029]-[0030], [0032]-[0033], and [0039], where upon detecting a motor abnormality the system can compensate for it in order to minimize changes in thrust and in altitude by deactivating the abnormal motor while also compensating for its change in thrust using the functional motors.
Regarding claim 7, Misfeldt teaches a system further comprising: an evacuation request unit configured to request evacuation of the electric flight vehicle, when the electric flight vehicle is not capable of flying while maintaining at the stable attitude even when the output adjustment unit performs the output adjustment. See for example paragraph [0030], where the aircraft can determine an appropriate flight plan based on the state of the failed motor, including an emergency landing.
Regarding claim 9, Misfeldt teaches wherein the evacuation request unit includes a search request unit configured to request a search for a landing possible location, at which the electric flight vehicle is capable of landing, when the landing possible location does not exist below the electric flight vehicle or when the electric flight vehicle is not capable of maintaining the stable attitude in a case where the electric flight vehicle vertically lands. See for example paragraph [0030], where the aircraft can determine an appropriate flight plan based on the state of the failed motor, including an emergency landing, reading at least on search[ing] for a landing possible location…when the electric flight vehicle is not capable of maintaining the stable attitude in a case where the electric flight vehicle vertically lands.
Regarding claim 10, Misfeldt teaches wherein the maintaining determination unit includes a stop determination unit configured to determine whether the electric flight vehicle is capable of maintaining the stable attitude in the state in which the abnormal motor stops driving, and a continuation determination unit configured to determine whether the electric flight vehicle is capable of maintaining the stable attitude in the state in which the abnormal motor continues driving. See again paragraphs [0029]-[0030], [0032]-[0033], and [0039], where upon detecting a motor abnormality the system proceeds to compensate for it in order to minimize changes in thrust and in altitude by either ramping down or deactivating the abnormal motor while also compensating for its thrust in the functional motors, and in paragraph [0037] the compensatory thrust maintains stable flight throughout the process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misfeldt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US20220130264 by Krawiec et al. (hereinafter “Krawiec”).
Regarding claim 2, Misfeldt does not explicitly teach, but Krawiec suggests wherein the output adjustment unit includes a driving continuation unit configured to, as the output adjustment, continue driving of the abnormal motor, when the maintaining determination unit determines that the electric flight vehicle is not capable of maintaining the stable attitude in the state in which the abnormal motor stops driving. See for example paragraph [0053], where the system can determine that the aircraft can maintain altitude in spite of a damaged (abnormal) motor by using the partial thrust of the damaged motor.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-rotor aircraft compensation system of Misfeldt with the altitude maintaining system of Krawiec with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to maintain the altitude and flight of an aircraft in spite of an abnormal motor.
Regarding claim 3, Misfeldt teaches further comprising: an excessively-large-output determination unit configured to, excessively large. See for example paragraph [0028], where the system will take corrective action for a motor whose output speed is higher than expected, and can reduce power to the motor. See also paragraph [0033], where corrective action can be reduction in power rather than turning off the motor.
Misfeldt does not explicitly teach that the system should, when the maintaining determination unit determines that the electric flight vehicle is not capable of maintaining the stable attitude in the state in which the abnormal motor stops driving, determine whether an output of the abnormal motor is excessively large.
However, Krawiec suggests that the system should, when the maintaining determination unit determines that the electric flight vehicle is not capable of maintaining the stable attitude in the state in which the abnormal motor stops driving, determine whether an output of the abnormal motor is excessively large. See for example paragraph [0053], where the system can determine that the aircraft can maintain altitude in spite of a damaged (abnormal) motor by using the partial thrust of the damaged motor.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-rotor aircraft compensation system of Misfeldt with the altitude maintaining system of Krawiec with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to maintain the altitude and flight of an aircraft in spite of an abnormal motor.
Regarding claim 5, Misfeldt teaches wherein the output adjustment unit includes a continuous driving unit configured to continuously continue driving of the abnormal motor, when the excessively-large-output determination unit determines that the output is not excessively large. See for example paragraph [0028], where the system will take corrective action for a motor whose output speed is lower than expected, and can reduce power to the motor. See also paragraph [0033], where corrective action can be reduction in power rather than turning off the motor.
Regarding claim 8, Misfeldt teaches wherein the evacuation request unit includes a landing request unit configured to request the electric flight vehicle to vertically land at a landing possible location, at which the electric flight vehicle is capable of landing, when the landing possible location exists below the electric flight vehicle . See for example paragraph [0030], where the aircraft can determine an appropriate flight plan based on the state of the failed motor, including an emergency landing.
Misfeldt does not explicitly teach landing when the electric flight vehicle is capable of maintaining the stable attitude in a case where the electric flight vehicle vertically lands.
However, Krawiec suggests landing when the electric flight vehicle is capable of maintaining the stable attitude in a case where the electric flight vehicle vertically lands. See for example paragraphs [0092], where the aircraft can land at an emergency landing location with a stable attitude.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-rotor aircraft compensation system of Misfeldt with the altitude maintaining system of Krawiec with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to maintain the altitude and flight of an aircraft in spite of an abnormal motor.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misfeldt in view of Krawiec as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US20100027979 by Matsunaga et al. (hereinafter “Matsunaga”).
Regarding claim 4, Misfeldt teaches wherein the decrease continuation unit is configured to . See for example paragraph [0028], where the system will take corrective action for a motor whose output speed is higher than expected, and can reduce power to the motor. See also paragraph [0033], where corrective action can be reduction in power rather than turning off the motor.
Misfeldt does not explicitly teach running the motor intermittently to reduce its output.
However, Matsunaga suggests intermittently driving an abnormal motor to decrease its output. See for example paragraphs [0010]-[0013], where the system intermittently outputs a PWM voltage in order to reduce the output speed of the motor to match the target speed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-rotor aircraft compensation system of Misfeldt, modified by the altitude maintaining system of Krawiec, with the intermittent motor system of Matsunaga with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to reduce the rotational speed of a motor by simply applying a voltage intermittently.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US20190263275 by Baba et al. teaching intermittent driving of a vehicle motor.
US20190256191 by Suzuki et al. teaching a multi-rotor control system that compensates for motor failure.
US20220340260 by Krzywon teaching mitigation of propeller failure in aircraft.
/JORDAN T SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666