DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(2) as being anticipated by Teixeira De Queiros (U.S. Patent 11,605,571) submitted by the applicant, hereafter TDQ.
As to claim 1, TDQ discloses an electronic device (500) as shown in figure 5, comprising:
a carrier (202);
a first electronic component (204) disposed over the carrier;
a second electronic component (206) disposed over the carrier; and
an encapsulant (207) encapsulating the first and second electronic components (204, 206),
a device (506) disposed under the carrier (202),
wherein the encapsulant (207) has a first region, a second region, and a third region, the first region has a substantially flat surface covering the first and second electronic components (204, 206) and continuously extending from the first electronic component to the second electronic component, the second region and the third region (the outer side not cover the components (204, 206)) are at elevations different from that of the substantially flat surface with respect to the carrier (202), and at least one of the second region and third region is free from vertically overlapping the device (506) in a cross-sectional view.
Claim(s) 5-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (U.S. Patent 10,937,741), submitted by the applicant.
As to claim 5, Yang discloses an electronic device (200) as shown in figures 3c-3d, comprising:
a carrier (140); and
an encapsulant (170) disposed over the carrier (140), wherein the encapsulant (170) has a top surface which covers first to third electronic components (202, 212, 204),
and wherein the third electronic component (204) is disposed between the first and second electronic components (202, 212) in a cross-sectional view, and a height of a top surface of the third electronic component (204) is less than a height of a top surface of the first electronic component (202) and a height of a top surface of the second electronic component (212) with respect to the carrier.
As to claim 6, Yang discloses the top surface of the encapsulant (170) is a substantially flat surface (the flat top surface in contact to a shielding layer 256) covering the first to third electronic component (202, 212, 204).
As to claim 7, Yang further comprising; a connector (114 or 160, 182) disposed under the carrier (140).
As to claim 8, Yang discloses a thickness of the connector (160, 182) is greater than a portion of a thickness of the encapsulant (170).
As to claim 9, Yang further comprising: a device (104) disposed under the carrier (140), wherein the device and the connector are arranged side by side.
As to claim 10, Yang discloses a bottom of the device (1040 is at an elevation different from a bottom of the connector (160, 182) with respect to the carrier.
As to claim 11, Yang discloses the connector (160, 182) is electrically coupled to the device (104) by the carrier.
As to claim 12, Yang discloses a gap (space) between the device (104) and the connector (160, 182) vertically overlaps the first electronic component.
As to claims 13-14, Yang discloses the device (104) is exposed (on the bottom side) by the carrier (140) and a lateral surface (side surface) of the device (104) is exposed by the carrier.
As to claim 15, Yang discloses an electronic device (200) as shown in figures 3c-3d, comprising:
a carrier (140);
a first electronic component (202), a second electronic component (212), and a third electronic component (204) disposed over the carrier (140) and arranged side by side; and
an encapsulant (170) disposed over the carrier (140), wherein the encapsulant (170) has a first region covering the first to third electronic components (202, 212, 204), the first region has a substantially uniform thickness, and wherein in a cross-sectional view, a first distance between a lateral surface of the first electronic component and a first lateral surface of the first region of the encapsulant adjacent to the lateral surface of the first electronic component is less than a second distance between a lateral surface of the second electronic component and a second lateral surface of the first region of the encapsulant adjacent to the lateral surface of the second electronic component (th thickness of the first electronic component 202 is different than the thickness of the second electronic component 212).
As to claim 16, Yang further comprising: a device (104) disposed under the carrier (140), wherein in the cross-sectional view, a third distance between a first lateral surface (the thickness) of the device (104) and the first lateral surface (the thickness) of the first region of the encapsulant (170) adjacent to the first lateral surface of the device is less than a fourth distance (the length) between a second lateral surface of the device and the second lateral surface of the first region of the encapsulant adjacent to the second lateral surface of the device.
As to claim 17, Yang discloses the fourth distance (the length) is greater than the third distance, and the second electronic component (212) vertically overlaps a space between the second lateral surface of the device and the second lateral surface of the encapsulant.
As to claim 18, Yang discloses the first distance is less than a fifth distance (the space or length) between the first and second electronic components (202, 212).
As to claim 19, Yang discloses in figure 3d a first top of the first electronic component, a second top of the second electronic component, and a third top of the third electronic component are at elevations, with respect to the carrier, different from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TDQ in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Patent 10,937,741).
Regarding claim 2, RDQ discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 except for the device comprises an antenna.
Yang teaches a molded laser package (200) as shown in figure 3d comprising the device (104) comprises an antenna (column 2, line 56-column 3, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Yang employed in the electronic device of TDQ in order to transit outgoing date or radio waves and convert back into electrical signals.
Regarding claim 3, TDQ as modified by Yang teaches the antenna has a pattern (110) facing away from the carrier.
Regarding claim 4, TDQ as modified by Yang teaches a top of the first electronic component (20) is at an elevation different from an elevation of a top of the second electronic component (204 or 212).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Yang employed in the electronic device of TDQ in order to reduce size for components/chips mounted on the carrier, substrate, or circuit board.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (‘741) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. 2019/0074267).
Regarding claim 20, Yang (‘741) discloses all of the limitations of claimed invention except for a fourth electronic component disposed over the carrier and adjacent to the first electronic component, wherein an elevation, with respect to the carrier, of a fourth top of the fourth electronic component is different from those of the first electronic component, the second electronic component, and the third electronic component.
Yang (‘267) teaches a semiconductor device (256) as shown in figure 5 comprising a fourth electronic component (the most left component 162) disposed over the carrier (150) and adjacent to the first electronic component (160), wherein an elevation, with respect to the carrier, of a fourth top of the fourth electronic component is different from those of the first electronic component, the second electronic component, and the third electronic component.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Yang (‘267) employed in the electronic device of Yang (‘741) in order to reduce size for components/chips mounted on the carrier, substrate, or circuit board.
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847