Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, at page 9, Applicant argues “FIG. 1 of Zhang, the alleged second sensing line 40 does not appear have one end connected to the alleged second sensing electrode 10 through a contact hole penetrating an insulating layer between the alleged second sensing line 40 and the alleged second sensing electrode 10 in the active area.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang at FIG. 4 clearly discloses having one end connected to the second sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5, specifically FIG. 4 at [0041]-[0044] and first touch signal line 40 is connected to the first sensing electrodes 10) through a contact hole (FIG. 4 and vias V at [0041]-[0042] penetrating an insulating layer (FIGS. 1-4 and insulating layer 30) between the second sensing line (first touch sensing line 40) and the second sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5, and [0038]-[0045] first touch electrodes 10) in the active area (FIGS. 1-4 and touch sensing area TA at [0040]-[0047]). FIG. 4 of Zhang is provided below. As such, Examiner respectfully submits this limitation is clearly disclosed by the reference.
At page 10, with regard to claim 1, Applicant alleges, “the cited portions of Grivna do not appear to disclose or even suggest, or appears to be silent with regards to, at least the alleged second sensing line 312/322 having one end connected to a second sensing electrode through a contact hole penetrating an insulating layer between the alleged second sensing line 312/322 in the active layer.” Examiner respectfully submits these limitations are clearly taught by Zhang as articulated in the argument above and in the rejection below.
Applicant further alleges “as shown in the annotated FIG. 3 of Grivna, the alleged extending line (Extension Traces) does not appear to be directly connected to such one end of the alleged sensing line 312/322.” Examiner respectfully submits the newly cited reference Lin clearly addresses this limitation in the rejection below. As such, claim 1, and all claims depending therefrom are properly addressed and stand rejected.
Regarding claim 19, at page 11 of the Response, Applicant alleges the Grivna reference “traces 312 entering from the top do not appear to be bent at least twice in the active area.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Once more, Examiner respectfully submits the Lin reference at FIG. 6 clearly teaches these limitations as properly addressed in the rejection below. That is, Lin discloses an extending line (FIG. 6, zigzag segment of 24) that extends in a zigzag in the second direction by being bent at least twice in the active area (FIG. 6, zigzag segment of 24 and further disclosed at [0038]-[0039], see annotated FIG. 6 with regard to claim 1 below). Therefore, claim 19 stands as properly addressed and rejected below.
Regarding claim 20, at page 12, Applicant alleges “extending line (Extension Traces) do not appear to be bent at least twice, and thus, do not appear to disclose or even suggest at least ‘wherein, when viewed on the plane, the extending line overlaps with the one of the two second sensing parts, bypasses the connecting pattern, extends via one of the two first sensing parts and has a first bend, and overlaps with the other of the two second sensing parts and has a second bend.’" Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits it is the combination of references of Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin that teaches these limitations. First, Zhang in view of Grivna clearly discloses wherein, when viewed on the plane, the extending line overlaps with the one of the two second sensing parts, bypasses the connecting pattern, extends via one of the two first sensing parts, and overlaps with the other of the two second sensing parts (Grivna at FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0080] traces connecting and bypassing the trace patterns and connections of other sensor elements – noting in view of Zhang at FIGS. 1 and 5, connection sections between two adjacent blocks 2 extend in the first direction or can be seen as extending the width between two blocks 1). Furthermore, these references are properly combined with Lin, which teaches an extending line (FIG. 6, zigzag segment of 24) that has a first bend and has a second bend (FIG. 6, [0038]-[0039] zigzag segment of 24 has first and second bends throughout, in view of the overlap of Grivna as discussed above). As such, Examiner respectfully submits these limitations are properly disclosed by the references cited; and therefore, claim 20 stands as properly addressed and rejected below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-12, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, US 2021/0333942 A1 (hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Grivna, US 2008/0150906 A1 (hereinafter “Grivna”) further in view of Lin et al., US 2014/0092036 A1 (hereinafter “Lin”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an input sensing part (FIGS. 1-5 base substrate 60 at [0038]-[0042]) comprising:
a first sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5, and [0038]-[0045] second touch electrodes 20) in an active area (FIGS. 1-5 with touch sensing area TA at [0040]-[0047]), and extending in a first direction (FIG. 1 with first direction labeled on left side of image, and pointing in the downward direction);
a second sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5, and [0038]-[0045] first touch electrodes 10) in the active area (FIGS. 1-5 with touch sensing area TA at [0040]-[0047]), and extending in a second direction crossing the first direction (FIG. 1 with second direction labeled on top side of FIG. 1 and arrow pointing in the right direction), the second sensing electrode crossing the first sensing electrode while being insulated from the first sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5 and [0038] and [0043], specifically FIG. 4 illustrating insulating layer 30 formed between first touch electrodes 10 and second touch electrodes 20);
a first sensing line (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0040] second touch signal line 50) in an inactive area around the active area (FIGS. 1 and 5 at [0040], [0045] and [0052] and peripheral area PA), and connected to the first sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5 at [0040] and first touch signal line 50 is connected to the second sensing electrodes 20);
a second sensing line (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0047] first touch signal line 40) extending in the first direction in the active area (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0047] first touch signal line 40 extends into the active area/touch sensing area TA), and having one end connected to the second sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5 at [0041]-[0044] and first touch signal line 40 is connected to the first sensing electrodes 10) through a contact hole (FIG. 4 and vias V at [0041]-[0042] penetrating an insulating layer (FIGS. 1-4 and insulating layer 30) between the second sensing line (first touch sensing line 40) and the second sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5, and [0038]-[0045] first touch electrodes 10) in the active area (FIGS. 1-4 and touch sensing area TA at [0040]-[0047]).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose an extending line extending in the second direction in the active area, and connected to the one end of the second sensing line.
In the same field of endeavor, Grivna discloses a touch sensing array (FIG. 2, 221, FIG. 3, generally) first sensing electrodes (FIG. 3, sensor elements 331) connected with first sensing lines (FIG. 3, interconnect traces 332) in the first direction and second sensing electrodes (FIG. 3 with sensor elements 311 and alternatively 321) connected to second sensing lines (FIG. 3 with interconnecting traces 312 and alternatively 322), and an extending line extending in the second direction in the active area (FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0079] diagonal traces of the 312 and 322 in the active touch area), and connected to the end of the second sensing line (diagonal interconnecting traces 312 and 322 connected to their respective traces in the first direction, see annotation below).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device of Zhang to incorporate the second direction traces as disclosed by Grivna because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch sensing input devices with electrodes and trace connectivity patterns. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the spatial resolution of the detection locations (see Grivna at least at [0106]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
However, Zhang in view of Grivna does not explicitly disclose an extending line is directly connected to the end of the second sensing line.
In the same field of endeavor, at FIG. 6 (see annotated FIG. 6 below), Lin discloses a touch panel with first sensing electrodes (72) and second sensing electrodes (73) with first sensing lines (31) and second sensing lines (e.g., FIG. 6 last segment of 24 connected to a second electrode 73 that is parallel with segments of 31 in the x direction) with an extending line (FIG. 6, zigzag segment of 24) directly connected to the end of the second sensing line (FIG. 6 zigzag connects to the end second sensing line 24, and connecting to the sensing line at 34 and [0038]-[0039]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch signal lines and electrodes of Zhang in view of Grivna to incorporate the direct connections as disclosed by Lin because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch display devices and touch electrode and line connections. The motivation to combine these references would have been to reduce routing area and the number of transmission lines while reducing yield loss and manufacturing costs (see Lin at [0003] and [0039]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the extending line is bent at least once, and extends in zigzags in the second direction (Grivna FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0079] noting at least one additional bend in traces 312 entering from the top bending twice; additionally, Lin FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the extending line is located in the same layer as that of the second sensing line (Grivna FIGS. 3-5 and [0087] describing traces being routed on the same layer as the dual axis XY type touch pad; additionally, Lin FIG. 6 and [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the extending line is integral with the second sensing line, and extends from the second sensing line (Grivna FIG. 3 above, noting various diagonal traces are integral with the traces 312 as illustrated above; additionally, Lin FIG. 6 and [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the first sensing electrode comprises:
two first sensing parts along the first direction (Zhang at FIG. 3 and [0043] touch electrode blocks 2); and a connecting pattern between the two first sensing parts and connecting the two first sensing parts to each other (Zhang at FIGS. 3-4 and [0043]-[0045], blocks 2 are connected via the rectangular connection portions of 20),
wherein the second sensing electrode comprises:
two second sensing parts along the second direction between the two first sensing parts and spaced from the two first sensing parts (Zhang FIGS. 1-2 and 5 with touch electrode blocks 1 at [0043]-[0045]); and
an extending pattern between the two first sensing parts and between the two second sensing parts, and extending from the two second sensing parts, wherein the extending pattern does not overlap with the connecting pattern when viewed on a plane (Zhang at FIG. 5 with extension of line 40 into the TA with connection to a block 1, formed between two blocks 2, and does not overlap any of the connection patterns between blocks 2), and wherein the connecting pattern extends toward the two first sensing parts via the two second sensing parts (Zhang at FIGS. 1 and 5, connection sections between two adjacent blocks 2 extend in the first direction or can be seen as extending the width between two blocks 1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 5 (see above), wherein the extending line extends to bypass the connecting pattern when viewed on the plane (Grivna at FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0080] traces connecting and bypassing the trace patterns and connections of other sensor elements, Lin FIG. 6 allows for bypass of other electrode connections).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 5 (see above), wherein the extending line and the connecting pattern are located in the same layer as each other (Zhang at FIG. 4 and [0044]-[0048]), the first and second sensing parts and the extending pattern are located in the same layer as each other (Zhang at FIGS. 3-5 and [0040]-[0045] with signal line 40 and touch electrode 20 in the same layer, in view of Grivna at [0087] describing construction with same layer for x-y electrodes), and the extending line and the connecting pattern are located in a layer different from the layer in which the first and second sensing parts and the extending pattern are located (Grivna at [0048] and [0087]-[0089]with traces connected in different layers than the sensor elements, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art for the commonly understood benefit of improving sensing).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 5 (see above), wherein, when viewed on the plane, the one end of the second sensing line overlaps with one of the second sensing parts from among the two second sensing parts and is connected to the one of the second sensing parts (Zhang, FIGS. 1-6 and [0038]-[0045] with 40 overlapping with 1 and 10), and wherein the extending line extends from the one end of the second sensing line in one direction (Grivna at FIG. 3 [0047] and [0075] with extending trace lines extend from where the trace line ends on the first contacted sensor element).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 8 (see above), wherein the extending line extends via the one of the second sensing parts (Grivna at FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0079] the extending traces starting at sensor elements 321), one first sensing part adjacent to the one of the second sensing parts from among the two first sensing parts (Grivna FIG. 3 illustrating adjacent senor elements 311, 321, and 331), and the other second sensing part from among the two second sensing parts (Grivna FIG. 3 illustrating adjacent senor elements 311, 321, and 331 connected via the extended traces).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 5 (see above), wherein the extending line extends via an upper first sensing part from among the two first sensing parts when viewed on the plane (Zhang at FIGS. 1-5 with upper part 4, in view of Grivna at FIG. 3 and the traces extending from the sensor element).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 5 (see above), wherein the extending line extends via a lower first sensing part from among the two first sensing parts when viewed on the plane (Zhang at FIGS. 1-5 with upper part 4 connected to block 1, in view of Grivna at FIG. 3 and [0086]-[0088] and the traces extending from the sensor element).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the extending line comprises a plurality of sub-extending lines extending parallel to each other (Grivna at FIG. 3, extending lines extend in parallel to each other after first bend).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the extending line comprises a single line (See Grivna annotated above, with FIG. 3, each extension line is a single line).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the extending line extends from the one end of the second sensing line in bi-directions (Zhang at FIGS. 1, 3-5, 7-8 and [0040]-[0047] center blocks 4 are connected bidirectionally to blocks 1 and 10; additionally, Lin FIG. 6, zigzag pattern would be considered bidirectionally).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the second sensing electrode comprises a plurality of second sensing electrodes (Zhang at FIGS. 1-5 at [0040]-[0045] and multiple first touch electrodes 10 with multiple blocks 1), the second sensing line comprises a plurality of second sensing lines (Zhang at FIGS. 1-5 at [0040]-[0045] and multiple first touch electrodes 10 with multiple blocks 1 with touch signal lines 40), and the extending line comprises a plurality of extending lines (Grivna at FIG. 3 generally with plurality of extension traces as illustrated), wherein the plurality of second sensing lines are connected to the plurality of second sensing electrodes, respectively (Zhang at FIGS. 1-5 at [0040]-[0045] and multiple first touch electrodes 10 with multiple blocks 1 with touch signal lines 40), wherein the plurality of extending lines are connected to the plurality of second sensing lines, respectively (Grivna at FIG. 3 and [0045]-[0049] and [0079]-[0086] each extending trace connected to the sensor elements and the interconnecting traces), and wherein among the plurality of extending lines, an h.sup.th extending line and an (h+1).sup.th extending line have different widths from each other, where h is a natural number (Grivna at FIG. 3 and [0045]-[0049] and [0079]-[0086] each extending trace is of a different diagonal width from another extending trace).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang discloses a display device (FIG. 10, display device with display area at [0055]-[0058]) comprising: a display panel ([0002] and FIG. 10, display apparatus with display area at [0055]-[0058]), and an input sensing part on the display panel (FIGS. 1-5 and 10 base substrate 60 at [0038]-[0042]), and comprising: a first sensing electrode in an active area (FIGS. 1-5, and [0038]-[0045] second touch electrodes 20), and extending in a first direction (FIG. 1 with first direction labeled on left side of image, and pointing in the downward direction); a second sensing electrode in the active area (FIGS. 1-5, and [0038]-[0045] first touch electrodes 10), and extending in a second direction crossing the first direction (FIGS. 1-5 with touch sensing area TA at [0040]-[0047]), the second sensing electrode crossing the first sensing electrode while being insulated from the first sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5 and [0038] and [0043], specifically FIG. 4 illustrating insulating layer 30 formed between first touch electrodes 10 and second touch electrodes 20); a first sensing line (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0047] first touch signal line 40) in an inactive area around the active area (FIGS. 1 and 5 at [0040], [0045] and [0052] and peripheral area PA), and connected to the first sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5 at [0040] and first touch signal line 50 is connected to the second sensing electrodes 20); a second sensing line (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0047] first touch signal line 40) extending in the first direction in the active area (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0047] first touch signal line 40 extends into the active area/touch sensing area TA), and connected to the second sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5 at [0041]-[0044] and first touch signal line 40 is connected to the first sensing electrodes 10).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose an extending line extending in zigzags in the second direction by being bent at least twice in the active area, and connected to the second sensing line.
In the same field of endeavor, Grivna discloses a touch sensing array (FIG. 2, 221, FIG. 3, generally) first sensing electrodes (FIG. 3, sensor elements 331) connected with first sensing lines (FIG. 3, interconnect traces 332) in the first direction and second sensing electrodes (FIG. 3 with sensor elements 311 and alternatively 321) connected to second sensing lines (FIG. 3 with interconnecting traces 312 and alternatively 322), and an extending line extending in zigzags in the second direction in the active area (FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0079] diagonal traces of the 312 and 322 in the active touch area, noting at least one additional bend in traces 312 entering from the top bending twice), and connected to the second sensing line (diagonal interconnecting traces 312 and 322 connected to their respective traces in the first direction, see annotation below).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device of Zhang to incorporate the second direction traces as disclosed by Grivna because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch sensing input devices with electrodes and trace connectivity patterns. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the spatial resolution of the detection locations (see Grivna at least at [0106]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
However, Zhang in view of Grivna does not explicitly disclose an extending line extends in a zigzag in the second direction by being bent at least twice in the active area.
In the same field of endeavor, at FIG. 6, Lin discloses a touch panel with first sensing electrodes (72) and second sensing electrodes (73) with first sensing lines (31) and second sensing lines (e.g., FIG. 6 last segment of 24 connected to a second electrode 73 that is parallel with segments of 31 in the x direction) with an extending line (FIG. 6, zigzag segment of 24) that extends in a zigzag in the second direction by being bent at least twice in the active area (FIG. 6, zigzag segment of 24 and further disclosed at [0038]-[0039], see above annotated FIG. 6 with regard to claim 1).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch signal lines and electrodes of Zhang in view of Grivna to incorporate the zigzag pattern being bent twice as disclosed by Lin because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch display devices and touch electrode and line connections. The motivation to combine these references would have been to reduce routing area and the number of transmission lines while reducing yield loss and manufacturing costs (see Lin at [0003] and [0039]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang discloses an input sensing part (FIGS. 1-5 base substrate 60 at [0038]-[0042])comprising: two first sensing parts along a first direction (Zhang at FIG. 3 and [0043] touch electrode blocks 2); two second sensing parts along a second direction crossing the first direction, and between and spaced from the two first sensing parts (Zhang FIGS. 1-2 and 5 with touch electrode blocks 1 at [0043]-[0045]); a connecting pattern between the two first sensing parts, and connecting the two first sensing parts to each other (Zhang at FIGS. 3-4 and [0043]-[0045], blocks 2 are connected via the rectangular connection portions of 20); an extending pattern between the two first sensing parts and between the two second sensing parts, and extending from the two second sensing parts, the extending pattern not overlapping with the connecting pattern when viewed on a plane (Zhang at FIG. 5 with extension of line 40 into the TA with connection to a block 1, formed between two blocks 2, and does not overlap any of the connection patterns between blocks 2); a sensing line connected to one of the two second sensing parts, and extending in the first direction (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0047] first touch signal line 40).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose an extending line extending from the sensing line in the second direction, wherein, when viewed on the plane, the extending line overlaps with the one of the two second sensing parts, bypasses the connecting pattern, extends via one of the two first sensing parts and has a first bend, and overlaps with the other of the two second sensing parts and has a second bend.
In the same field of endeavor, Grivna discloses a touch sensing array (FIG. 2, 221, FIG. 3, generally) first sensing electrodes (FIG. 3, sensor elements 331) connected with first sensing lines (FIG. 3, interconnect traces 332) in the first direction and second sensing electrodes (FIG. 3 with sensor elements 311 and alternatively 321) connected to second sensing lines (FIG. 3 with interconnecting traces 312 and alternatively 322), and an extending line extending from the sensing line in the second direction (FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0079] diagonal traces of the 312 and 322 in the active touch area), wherein, when viewed on the plane, the extending line overlaps with the one of the two second sensing parts, bypasses the connecting pattern, extends via one of the two first sensing parts, and overlaps with the other of the two second sensing parts (Grivna at FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0080] traces connecting and bypassing the trace patterns and connections of other sensor elements – noting in view of Zhang at FIGS. 1 and 5, connection sections between two adjacent blocks 2 extend in the first direction or can be seen as extending the width between two blocks 1).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device of Zhang to incorporate the second direction traces as disclosed by Grivna because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch sensing input devices with electrodes and trace connectivity patterns. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the spatial resolution of the detection locations (see Grivna at least at [0106]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
However, Zhang in view of Grivna does not explicitly disclose the extending line has a first bend and has a second bend
In the same field of endeavor, at FIG. 6, Lin discloses a touch panel with first sensing electrodes (72) and second sensing electrodes (73) with first sensing lines (31) and second sensing lines (e.g., FIG. 6 last segment of 24 connected to a second electrode 73 that is parallel with segments of 31 in the x direction) with an extending line (FIG. 6, zigzag segment of 24) has a first bend and has a second bend (FIG. 6, zigzag segment of 24 at [0038]-[0039] in view of the overlap of Grivna as discussed above).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch signal lines and electrodes of Zhang in view of Grivna to incorporate the first and second bends as disclosed by Lin because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch display devices and touch electrode and sensing line connections. The motivation to combine these references would have been to reduce routing area and the number of transmission lines while reducing yield loss and manufacturing costs (see Lin at [0003] and [0039]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Miyake, US 2016/0195983 A1 (hereinafter “Miyake”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin discloses the input sensing part of claim 5 (see above).
However, Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second sensing parts, the second sensing line, and the extending line have a mesh shape in which a plurality of touch openings are defined.
In the same field of endeavor, Miyake discloses a touch electrode pattern (Abstract) wherein the first and second sensing parts, the second sensing line, and the extending line have a mesh shape in which a plurality of touch openings are defined (FIGS. 4A-9F at [0113]-[0120] with a mesh formation for electrodes 31, 32, 36 and 37).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing pattern formation of Zhang in view of Grivna further in view of Lin to incorporate the mesh patterns as disclosed by Miyake because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch sensing electrode patterns for input detection. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve sensing accuracy and detection while increasing display visibility when used in a display environment (see Miyake at least at Abstract and [0236]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwon et al., US 2017/0090633 A1: Abstract and FIG. 2 illustrating sense lines with bends extending into the touch display area;
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2629