Election/Restrictions
Claim 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 14, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-12, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, US 2021/0333942 A1 (hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Grivna, US 2008/0150906 A1 (hereinafter “Grivna”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an input sensing part (FIGS. 1-5 base substrate 60 at [0038]-[0042]) comprising:
a first sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5, and [0038]-[0045] second touch electrodes 20) in an active area (FIGS. 1-5 with touch sensing area TA at [0040]-[0047]), and extending in a first direction (FIG. 1 with first direction labeled on left side of image, and pointing in the downward direction);
a second sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5, and [0038]-[0045] first touch electrodes 10) in the active area (FIGS. 1-5 with touch sensing area TA at [0040]-[0047]), and extending in a second direction crossing the first direction (FIG. 1 with second direction labeled on top side of FIG. 1 and arrow pointing in the right direction), the second sensing electrode crossing the first sensing electrode while being insulated from the first sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5 and [0038] and [0043], specifically FIG. 4 illustrating insulating layer 30 formed between first touch electrodes 10 and second touch electrodes 20);
a first sensing line (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0040] second touch signal line 50) in an inactive area around the active area (FIGS. 1 and 5 at [0040], [0045] and [0052] and peripheral area PA), and connected to the first sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5 at [0040] and first touch signal line 50 is connected to the second sensing electrodes 20);
a second sensing line (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0047] first touch signal line 40) extending in the first direction in the active area (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0047] first touch signal line 40 extends into the active area/touch sensing area TA), and connected to the second sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5 at [0041]-[0044] and first touch signal line 40 is connected to the first sensing electrodes 10).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose an extending line extending in the second direction in the active area, and connected to the second sensing line.
In the same field of endeavor, Grivna discloses a touch sensing array (FIG. 2, 221, FIG. 3, generally) first sensing electrodes (FIG. 3, sensor elements 331) connected with first sensing lines (FIG. 3, interconnect traces 332) in the first direction and second sensing electrodes (FIG. 3 with sensor elements 311 and alternatively 321) connected to second sensing lines (FIG. 3 with interconnecting traces 312 and alternatively 322), and an extending line extending in the second direction in the active area (FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0079] diagonal traces of the 312 and 322 in the active touch area), and connected to the second sensing line (diagonal interconnecting traces 312 and 322 connected to their respective traces in the first direction, see annotation below).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device of Zhang to incorporate the second direction traces as disclosed by Grivna because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch sensing input devices with electrodes and trace connectivity patterns. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the spatial resolution of the detection locations (see Grivna at least at [0106]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the extending line is bent at least once, and extends in zigzags in the second direction (Grivna FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0079] noting at least one additional bend in traces 312 entering from the top bending twice).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the extending line is located in the same layer as that of the second sensing line (Grivna FIGS. 3-5 and [0087] describing traces being routed on the same layer as the dual axis XY type touch pad).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the extending line is integral with the second sensing line, and extends from the second sensing line (Grivna FIG. 3 above, noting various diagonal traces are integral with the traces 312 as illustrated above).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the first sensing electrode comprises:
two first sensing parts along the first direction (Zhang at FIG. 3 and [0043] touch electrode blocks 2); and a connecting pattern between the two first sensing parts and connecting the two first sensing parts to each other (Zhang at FIGS. 3-4 and [0043]-[0045], blocks 2 are connected via the rectangular connection portions of 20),
wherein the second sensing electrode comprises:
two second sensing parts along the second direction between the two first sensing parts and spaced from the two first sensing parts (Zhang FIGS. 1-2 and 5 with touch electrode blocks 1 at [0043]-[0045]); and
an extending pattern between the two first sensing parts and between the two second sensing parts, and extending from the two second sensing parts, wherein the extending pattern does not overlap with the connecting pattern when viewed on a plane (Zhang at FIG. 5 with extension of line 40 into the TA with connection to a block 1, formed between two blocks 2, and does not overlap any of the connection patterns between blocks 2), and wherein the connecting pattern extends toward the two first sensing parts via the two second sensing parts (Zhang at FIGS. 1 and 5, connection sections between two adjacent blocks 2 extend in the first direction or can be seen as extending the width between two blocks 1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 5 (see above), wherein the extending line extends to bypass the connecting pattern when viewed on the plane (Grivna at FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0080] traces connecting and bypassing the trace patterns and connections of other sensor elements).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 5 (see above), wherein the extending line and the connecting pattern are located in the same layer as each other (Zhang at FIG. 4 and [0044]-[0048]), the first and second sensing parts and the extending pattern are located in the same layer as each other (Zhang at FIGS. 3-5 and [0040]-[0045] with signal line 40 and touch electrode 20 in the same layer, in view of Grivna at [0087] describing construction with same layer for x-y electrodes), and the extending line and the connecting pattern are located in a layer different from the layer in which the first and second sensing parts and the extending pattern are located (Grivna at [0048] and [0087]-[0089]with traces connected in different layers than the sensor elements, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art for the commonly understood benefit of improving sensing).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 5 (see above), wherein, when viewed on the plane, one end of the second sensing line overlaps with one of the second sensing parts from among the two second sensing parts and is connected to the one of the second sensing parts (Zhang, FIGS. 1-6 and [0038]-[0045] with 40 overlapping with 1 and 10), and wherein the extending line extends from the one end of the second sensing line in one direction (Grivna at FIG. 3 [0047] and [0075] with extending trace lines extend from where the trace line ends on the first contacted sensor element).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 8 (see above), wherein the extending line extends via the one of the second sensing parts (Grivna at FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0079] the extending traces starting at sensor elements 321), one first sensing part adjacent to the one of the second sensing parts from among the two first sensing parts (Grivna FIG. 3 illustrating adjacent senor elements 311, 321, and 331), and the other second sensing part from among the two second sensing parts (Grivna FIG. 3 illustrating adjacent senor elements 311, 321, and 331 connected via the extended traces).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 5 (see above), wherein the extending line extends via an upper first sensing part from among the two first sensing parts when viewed on the plane (Zhang at FIGS. 1-5 with upper part 4, in view of Grivna at FIG. 3 and the traces extending from the sensor element).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 5 (see above), wherein the extending line extends via a lower first sensing part from among the two first sensing parts when viewed on the plane (Zhang at FIGS. 1-5 with upper part 4 connected to block 1, in view of Grivna at FIG. 3 and [0086]-[0088] and the traces extending from the sensor element).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the extending line comprises a plurality of sub-extending lines extending parallel to each other (Grivna at FIG. 3, extending lines extend in parallel to each other after first bend).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the extending line comprises a single line (See Grivna annotated above, with FIG. 3, each extension line is a single line).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the extending line extends from one end of the second sensing line in bi-directions (Zhang at FIGS. 1, 3-5, 7-8 and [0040]-[0047] center blocks 4 are connected bidirectionally to blocks 1 and 10).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 1 (see above), wherein the second sensing electrode comprises a plurality of second sensing electrodes (Zhang at FIGS. 1-5 at [0040]-[0045] and multiple first touch electrodes 10 with multiple blocks 1), the second sensing line comprises a plurality of second sensing lines (Zhang at FIGS. 1-5 at [0040]-[0045] and multiple first touch electrodes 10 with multiple blocks 1 with touch signal lines 40), and the extending line comprises a plurality of extending lines (Grivna at FIG. 3 generally with plurality of extension traces as illustrated), wherein the plurality of second sensing lines are connected to the plurality of second sensing electrodes, respectively (Zhang at FIGS. 1-5 at [0040]-[0045] and multiple first touch electrodes 10 with multiple blocks 1 with touch signal lines 40), wherein the plurality of extending lines are connected to the plurality of second sensing lines, respectively (Grivna at FIG. 3 and [0045]-[0049] and [0079]-[0086] each extending trace connected to the sensor elements and the interconnecting traces), and wherein among the plurality of extending lines, an h.sup.th extending line and an (h+1).sup.th extending line have different widths from each other, where h is a natural number (Grivna at FIG. 3 and [0045]-[0049] and [0079]-[0086] each extending trace is of a different diagonal width from another extending trace).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang discloses a display device (FIG. 10, display device with display area at [0055]-[0058]) comprising: a display panel ([0002] and FIG. 10, display apparatus with display area at [0055]-[0058]), and an input sensing part on the display panel (FIGS. 1-5 and 10 base substrate 60 at [0038]-[0042]), and comprising: a first sensing electrode in an active area (FIGS. 1-5, and [0038]-[0045] second touch electrodes 20), and extending in a first direction (FIG. 1 with first direction labeled on left side of image, and pointing in the downward direction); a second sensing electrode in the active area (FIGS. 1-5, and [0038]-[0045] first touch electrodes 10), and extending in a second direction crossing the first direction (FIGS. 1-5 with touch sensing area TA at [0040]-[0047]), the second sensing electrode crossing the first sensing electrode while being insulated from the first sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5 and [0038] and [0043], specifically FIG. 4 illustrating insulating layer 30 formed between first touch electrodes 10 and second touch electrodes 20); a first sensing line (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0047] first touch signal line 40) in an inactive area around the active area (FIGS. 1 and 5 at [0040], [0045] and [0052] and peripheral area PA), and connected to the first sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5 at [0040] and first touch signal line 50 is connected to the second sensing electrodes 20); a second sensing line (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0047] first touch signal line 40) extending in the first direction in the active area (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0047] first touch signal line 40 extends into the active area/touch sensing area TA), and connected to the second sensing electrode (FIGS. 1-5 at [0041]-[0044] and first touch signal line 40 is connected to the first sensing electrodes 10).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose an extending line extending in zigzags in the second direction in the active area, and connected to the second sensing line.
In the same field of endeavor, Grivna discloses a touch sensing array (FIG. 2, 221, FIG. 3, generally) first sensing electrodes (FIG. 3, sensor elements 331) connected with first sensing lines (FIG. 3, interconnect traces 332) in the first direction and second sensing electrodes (FIG. 3 with sensor elements 311 and alternatively 321) connected to second sensing lines (FIG. 3 with interconnecting traces 312 and alternatively 322), and an extending line extending in zigzags in the second direction in the active area (FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0079] diagonal traces of the 312 and 322 in the active touch area, noting at least one additional bend in traces 312 entering from the top bending twice), and connected to the second sensing line (diagonal interconnecting traces 312 and 322 connected to their respective traces in the first direction, see annotation below).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device of Zhang to incorporate the second direction traces as disclosed by Grivna because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch sensing input devices with electrodes and trace connectivity patterns. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the spatial resolution of the detection locations (see Grivna at least at [0106]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang discloses an input sensing part (FIGS. 1-5 base substrate 60 at [0038]-[0042])comprising: two first sensing parts along a first direction (Zhang at FIG. 3 and [0043] touch electrode blocks 2); two second sensing parts along a second direction crossing the first direction, and between and spaced from the two first sensing parts (Zhang FIGS. 1-2 and 5 with touch electrode blocks 1 at [0043]-[0045]); a connecting pattern between the two first sensing parts, and connecting the two first sensing parts to each other (Zhang at FIGS. 3-4 and [0043]-[0045], blocks 2 are connected via the rectangular connection portions of 20); an extending pattern between the two first sensing parts and between the two second sensing parts, and extending from the two second sensing parts, the extending pattern not overlapping with the connecting pattern when viewed on a plane (Zhang at FIG. 5 with extension of line 40 into the TA with connection to a block 1, formed between two blocks 2, and does not overlap any of the connection patterns between blocks 2); a sensing line connected to one of the two second sensing parts, and extending in the first direction (FIGS. 1, 3-5 and [0039]-[0047] first touch signal line 40).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose an extending line extending from the sensing line in the second direction, wherein the extending line bypasses the connecting pattern, and extends via one of the two first sensing parts.
In the same field of endeavor, Grivna discloses a touch sensing array (FIG. 2, 221, FIG. 3, generally) first sensing electrodes (FIG. 3, sensor elements 331) connected with first sensing lines (FIG. 3, interconnect traces 332) in the first direction and second sensing electrodes (FIG. 3 with sensor elements 311 and alternatively 321) connected to second sensing lines (FIG. 3 with interconnecting traces 312 and alternatively 322), and an extending line extending from the sensing line in the second direction (FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0079] diagonal traces of the 312 and 322 in the active touch area), wherein the extending line bypasses the connecting pattern, and extends via one of the two first sensing parts (Grivna at FIG. 3 and [0075]-[0080] traces connecting and bypassing the trace patterns and connections of other sensor elements – noting in view of Zhang at FIGS. 1 and 5, connection sections between two adjacent blocks 2 extend in the first direction or can be seen as extending the width between two blocks 1).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device of Zhang to incorporate the second direction traces as disclosed by Grivna because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch sensing input devices with electrodes and trace connectivity patterns. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the spatial resolution of the detection locations (see Grivna at least at [0106]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Grivna as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Miyake, US 2016/0195983 A1 (hereinafter “Miyake”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Grivna discloses the input sensing part of claim 5 (see above).
However, Zhang in view of Grivna does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second sensing parts, the second sensing line, and the extending line have a mesh shape in which a plurality of touch openings are defined.
In the same field of endeavor, Miyake discloses a touch electrode pattern (Abstract) wherein the first and second sensing parts, the second sensing line, and the extending line have a mesh shape in which a plurality of touch openings are defined (FIGS. 4A-9F at [0113]-[0120] with a mesh formation for electrodes 31, 32, 36 and 37).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing pattern formation of Zhang in view of Grivna to incorporate the mesh patterns as disclosed by Miyake because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch sensing electrode patterns for input detection. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve sensing accuracy and detection while increasing display visibility when used in a display environment (see Miyake at least at Abstract and [0236]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li, US 2019/0265820 A1: FIGS. 1-2, with a pattern electrode having a connecting signal line that is zig zagged;
Qu, US 2018/0032193 A1: FIGS. 2-5, sensing signal lines connecting to electrode patterns;
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2629