DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 7/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takuma et al (EPO 3 480 288 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takuma et al disclose a cleaning composition comprising a) from 1 to 5% by weight of total weight of the composition of ammonium fluoride; b) from 30 to 70% by weight of total weight of the composition of a water- soluble organic solvent; c) from 1.5 to 20% by weight of total weight of the composition of organic amine; and d) from 31 to 60% by weight of total weight of the composition of deionized water (abstract; [0008]), wherein the ammonium fluoride is used because it helps to achieve high concentration of fluoride anion [0023] and such corresponds to the compound capable of releasing a fluoride anion.
Takuma et al also disclose that the cleaning composition may further comprise one or more additional components selected from a surfactant selected from anionic surfactant, non-ionic surfactant and mixture thereof; a corrosion inhibitor selected from an azole compound [0050]; and aforesaid “azole compound” corresponds to the claimed “nitrogen-containing aromatic compound” because Azoles are a class of five-membered heterocyclic compounds containing a nitrogen atom and at least one other non-carbon atom (i.e. nitrogen, sulfur, or oxygen) as part of the ring.
Takuma et al disclose that the temperature of the composition is controlled t be below 40 degree C [0051]; and the composition is prepared or blended at a room temperature [0052] but fail to teach an anion content of the nitrogen-containing aromatic compound is 5 ppm -30 ppm at 25 degree C.
Without showing any criticality of such concentration of the nitrogen-containing compound, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize such for predictable result.
Further, it has been held that, generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art in the absence of evidence indicating that said concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Regarding claim 3, Takuma et al disclose that suitable water-soluble organic solvent is selected from the group consisting of N-methylpyrrolidone (NMP), dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), methyl diglycol (MDG), buthyl diglycol (BDG), N,N-dimethylformamide, N,N-dimethylacetamide, γ-butyrolactone, ethylene glycol, propylene glycol and mixtures thereof [0028], [0030].
Regarding claim 5, Takuma et al disclose that the cleaning composition comprises a water-soluble organic solvent from 30 to 70% by weight of total weight of the composition [0032] and water content is 31-60% [0043]; and aforesaid overlaps the claimed range of the total solvent content.
Regarding claims 6-7, Takuma et al disclose that the cleaning composition is used in a process of removing one or more of etching residue, residual photoresist, and photoresist by-products from a substrate, comprising steps of: contacting a substrate having one or more of etching residue, residual photoresist, and photoresist by-products [0010]; and the substrate having the specified layers to be clean, would have been purely an intended use of the composition; and the patentability of a composition is toward the composition as a whole, not toward an intended use of the composition or its method of manufacture or method of use, therefore claimed subject matter not related to the composition as a whole at a single point of time does not make a patentable distinction over the composition as taught above.
Claims are directed to a product must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In reSchreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir.1997) [MPEP2114]. The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1729 (Fed. Cir. 1997).Since the product (composition) of the prior art teaches all of the components or ingredients of the claim, the product is considered capable of meeting the intended use limitation.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takuma et al (EPO 3 480 288 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kumagai et al (US 2013/0330927).
Regarding claim 2, Takuma et al disclose above the claim 2 but fail to teach the cleaning composition further comprises ammonium hydroxide.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kumagai et al disclose a cleaning composition for removing post-etch residue [0013], wherein, the composition comprises an alkali that can remove residue materials remaining after etching can be used without any limitation [0020]; for example, a quaternary ammonium hydroxide [0021].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Kumagai et al's teaching of introducing an alkali of ammonium hydroxide into the teaching of Takuma et al for efficient removal of the residue after etching as suggested by Kumagai et al.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takuma et al (EPO 3 480 288 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cooper et al (US 2017/0200619).
Regarding claim 4, Takuma et al disclose above for the claim 1 but fail to teach the corrosion inhibitor of the azole compound comprises the specified compound as of claim 4.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cooper et al disclose a cleaning composition for removing post-etch residue [0011], wherein the composition comprises fluoride-containing compounds include, but are not limited to, hydrogen fluoride, ammonium fluoride [0026] and a corrosion inhibitor includes imidazole, triazole, tetrazole or pyrazole ring containing compound [0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Cooper et al's teaching of using the specified azole compound into the teaching of Takuma et al because such would be a simple substitution of known materials as suggested by Cooper et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending Application No. 18/924,422 (reference application, herein after Application ‘422). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the anion content of the nitrogen-containing compound or the mass ratio in application ‘422 would have been obvious in view of the instant invention because they are claiming a similar composition having same nitrogen-containing aromatic compound.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, listed in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hayashi et al (US 2023/0101156) disclose a treatment liquid for removing residue after etching [0320],[0477]; the treatment liquid comprises fluoride ion source (HF)[0019], also contain nitrogen containing compound [0050],[0051] and examples of the ring structure having the structure of Formula (3) include an imidazole ring, a pyrazole ring, an oxazole ring, a thiazole ring, an imidazoline ring, a triazole ring, a tetrazole ring, a pyridine ring, a pyrimidine ring, a pyrazine ring, a benzimidazole ring, a benzotriazole ring, a quinoline ring, a quinazoline ring, a quinoxaline ring, a purine ring, a pteridine ring, and an acridine ring [0071]; solvent ethylene glycol [0209] or DMSO [0379].
Kamimura (US 2023/0099612) disclose a treatment liquid comprises fluoride ion source [0091], a basic compound of alkali metal hydroxide and ammonia [0387],[0388], heteroaromatic compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of a tetrazole compound, a triazole compound, an imidazole compound, and a pyrazole compound [0034], water and organic solvent of ethylene glycol-based solvent [0371],[0372],[0376].
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
SHAMIM AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/SHAMIM AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713