DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/26/2025 was considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 3/14/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. References FR 1262099, GB 600605, and the NPL reference by Tsun-Hsu Chang were not considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0077756 (Hata) in view of US 7,663,462 (Makuth).
Regarding claim 1, Hata teaches a device (power transmission device 100; see Fig. 1) comprising:
a mounting structure comprising a first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) (a first holder member 41/51 would inherently comprise a material have a coefficient of thermal expansion; see Figs. 1-3);
a first magnetic core coupled to the mounting structure, the first magnetic core comprising a second material having a second CTE (a magnetic core 31, 33 is coupled to holder member 41/51 and has a different coefficient of thermal expansion; see [0024]-[0026], [0126]; see Figs. 1-3); and
wherein the first magnetic core is split into a plurality of sections separated by spaces (the magnetic core comprises split cot cores with a gap formed between the split cores 34 in the circumferential direction; see [0061]; see Figs. 2-4).
Hata fails to teach a second magnetic core coupled to the mounting structure, the second magnetic core comprising the second material having the second CTE.
Makuth teaches a second magnetic core coupled to the mounting structure, the second magnetic core comprising the second material having the second CTE (a rotary transducer 100 comprises two inductive elements 500, 800 which are coupled to each other in a concentric manner as shown in Fig. 3 of Makuth, and the limitations as claimed would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by providing a second magnetic core concentric with the first magnetic core on the holder member of Hata as shown in Makuth),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of a second magnetic core as taught in Makuth into Hata to arrive at a second magnetic core coupled to the mounting structure, the second magnetic core comprising the second material having the second CTE in order to gain the advantage of multiple magnetic cores formed concentrically on a common holder of a rotary transformer to allow for multiple data and energy transmission paths across the transformer.
Regarding claim 2, Hata teaches wherein the mounting structure comprises an outer ring and an inner ring (outer edge portion 52 and inner edge portion 53; see Figs. 2, 3).
Hata fails to teach wherein the mounting structure comprises an intermediary ring, wherein the first magnetic core is coupled to the mounting structure between the outer ring and the intermediary ring, and wherein the second magnetic core is coupled to the mounting structure between the intermediary ring and the inner ring
Makuth teaches wherein the mounting structure comprises an intermediary ring (Fig. 3 shows an intermediary ring between core 500 and core 800; see Fig. 3).
Hata and Makuth fail to explicitly teach wherein the first magnetic core is coupled to the mounting structure between the outer ring and the intermediary ring, and wherein the second magnetic core is coupled to the mounting structure between the intermediary ring and the inner ring, however, the limitations as claimed would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the combination Makuth and Hata as a whole by including first and second magnetic cores between the inner and outer ring of Hata, with an intermediary ring formed between the first and second magnetic cores as taught in Makuth in order to gain the advantage of multiple cores formed concentrically on a common holder of a rotary transformer to allow for multiple data and energy transmission paths across the transformer.
Regarding claim 3, Hata teaches wherein the first magnetic core is split into a plurality of first-magnetic-core sections separated by spaces (the magnetic core comprises split cot cores with a gap formed between the split cores 34 in the circumferential direction; see [0061]; see Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 4, Hata teaches wherein the first magnetic core is coupled to a first winding of a first transformer (the core 31/34 are coupled to a coil 61/62 of a transformer; see Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 5, Hata teaches wherein the first magnetic core defines a first trench that holds the first winding (the magnetic coil 61/62 sits in a trench of the magnetic cores 31/34; see Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claims 6-8, the limitations wherein the second magnetic core is split into a plurality of second-magnetic-core sections separated by spaces, wherein the second magnetic core is coupled to a second winding of a second transformer, wherein the second magnetic core defines a second trench that holds the second winding, amounts to a mere duplication of parts of the limitations of claims 3-5 for the first magnetic core. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to from the first and/or second cores as split cores such that the thermal stress can be reduced due to a difference of thermal expansion coefficients by enlarging and reducing the gaps between split cores (see [0126] of Hata) and to form the coils in a groove of the magnetic core (see [0003] of Hata) in order to maximize transfers between power and data transmission of the transformers.
Regarding claim 9, Hata teaches wherein the first magnetic core is split into a plurality of first-magnetic-core sections separated by spaces (the magnetic core comprises split cot cores with a gap formed between the split cores 34 in the circumferential direction; see [0061]; see Figs. 2-4).
Hata fails to teach wherein the second magnetic core is split into a plurality of second-magnetic-core sections separated by spaces, however, the limitations as claimed would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a mere duplication of parts of Hata wherein forming the cores as split cores such that the thermal stress can be reduced due to a difference of thermal expansion coefficients by enlarging and reducing the gaps between split cores, and wherein including two cores on a rotary transformer allows for transmission of power and/or multiple data signals across a transformer as taught in Makuth, wherein forming the cores as split cores such that the thermal stress can be reduced due to a difference of thermal expansion coefficients by enlarging and reducing the gaps between split cores.
Regarding claim 10, Hata teaches wherein the mounting structure comprises aluminum, and wherein the first and second magnetic cores each comprises a ceramic material (the magnetic core is formed as sintered ferrite, wherein it is well-known in the art that ferrite comprises ceramic material; see [0183]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0077756 (Hata) in view of US 7,663,462 (Makuth), and in US 2022/0130604 (You).
Regarding claim 11, Hata fails to teach further comprising: a film coupled to the mounting structure, wherein the film is configured to contain pieces of the first and second magnetic cores.
You teaches a film coupled to the mounting structure, wherein the film is configured to contain pieces of the first and second magnetic cores (polymer molding layer 330 is provided between tray 310 and magnetic tiles 340; see Fig. 3; see [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of a film coupled to the mounting structure, wherein the film is configured to contain pieces of the first and second magnetic cores as taught in You into Hata in order to gain the advantage of keeping the magnetic tiles in place and secure an original tile shape and desired permeability in the event the magnetic tiles are broken or shattered.
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0077756 (Hata) in view of US 7,663,462 (Makuth), and in US 2022/0179066 (Kaufman).
Regarding claim 12, Hata teaches a device (the device of Figs. 1-5) comprising:
a stationary portion (reception unit 20 may be interpreted as a fixed portion as it is couples to transmission unit 10 which rotates about shaft 110; see Fig. 1; see [0024]-[0025]), wherein the stationary portion comprises:
a stationary-portion mounting structure (holder member 51; see Fig. 1; see [0065]);
a first magnetic core coupled to the stationary-portion mounting structure wherein the first magnetic core is split into a plurality of first-magnetic-core sections separated by spaces (reception unit 20 comprises a magnetic core 34 coupled to holder member 51 and includes split core portions 34; see [0024]-[0026], [0055]-[0058]; see Figs. 1-5); and
a rotating portion separated from the stationary portion by a gap, wherein the rotating portion is configured to rotate relative to the stationary portion (transmission unit 10 rotates about shaft 110 and the transmission unit 10 is separated by a gap from the reception unit 20; see Fig. 1; see [0024]-[0025]), wherein the rotating portion comprises:
a rotating-portion mounting structure (first holder member 41; see Figs. 1-3; see [0120]);
a third magnetic core coupled to the rotating-portion mounting structure, wherein the third magnetic core is split into a plurality of third-magnetic-core sections separated by spaces (transmission unit 10 comprises a magnetic core 31 coupled to holder member 41 and includes split core portions 32; see [0024]-[0026], [0119]-[0127]; see Figs. 1-5); and
Hata fails to teach a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) comprising; a second magnetic core coupled to the stationary-portion mounting structure; and a fourth magnetic core coupled to the rotating-portion mounting structure.
Makuth teaches a second magnetic core coupled to the stationary-portion mounting structure; and a fourth magnetic core coupled to the rotating-portion mounting structure (a rotary transducer 100 comprises two inductive elements 500, 800 which are coupled to each other in a concentric manner as shown in Fig. 3 of Makuth, wherein the fixed part 101 and rotating part 102 each include a core and coil for transformer 500 and a core and coil for transformer 800, and the limitations as claimed would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by providing a second transformer next to the first transformer of Makuth by including second magnetic cores concentric with the first magnetic cores on each holder member of Hata as shown in Makuth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Makuth into Hata to provide the advantage of multiple data and energy transmission paths across the single rotary transformer.
Hata and Makuth teach all the elements recited in the body of the claim, but fails to teach wherein “A LIDAR device” as recited in the preamble, however, Kaufman teaches a vehicle comprising a LIDAR sensor (see [0002]) wherein a system 800 of Fig. 8 includes wireless power and data communication comprising transformer-coupled wireless data and transformer-coupled power transfer system 900 of Fig. 9. See [0065]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a rotary transformer comprising two pairs of coils and cores to transfer power and data to a device which includes LIDAR sensors.
Regarding claim 13, Hata teaches further comprising a transformer configured to transmit power across the gap, wherein the transformer comprises a primary winding coupled to the first magnetic core and a secondary winding coupled to the third magnetic core (the coils of are used for power transmission across the device; see abstract; see abstract, [0024]).
Regarding claim 14, Hata teaches wherein the first magnetic core defines a first trench that holds the primary winding, and wherein the third magnetic core defines a third trench that holds the secondary winding (the magnetic coil 61/62 sits in a trench of the magnetic cores 31/34; see Figs. 5-6)).
Regarding claim 15, Hata fails to teach further comprising a transformer configured to transmit data across the gap, wherein the transformer comprises a primary winding coupled to the fourth magnetic core and a secondary winding coupled to the second magnetic core.
Makuth teaches further comprising a transformer configured to transmit data across the gap, wherein the transformer comprises a primary winding coupled to the fourth magnetic core and a secondary winding coupled to the second magnetic core (a rotary transducer 100 comprises two inductive elements 500, 800 for energy and data transmission; see col. 1, lines 17-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Makuth into Hata to provide the advantage of multiple data and energy transmission paths across the single rotary transformer.
Regarding claims 16-18, the limitations recite wherein the fourth magnetic core defines a fourth trench that holds the primary winding, and wherein the second magnetic core defines a second trench that holds the secondary winding; wherein the stationary-portion mounting structure comprises a first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE), and wherein the first magnetic core comprises a second material having a second CTE; and wherein the second magnetic core comprises the second material having the second CTE, which amount to a mere duplication of parts as recited in claims 13-15.
Regarding claim 19, Hata teaches wherein the second magnetic core is split into a plurality of second-magnetic-core sections separated by spaces (the magnetic core comprises split cot cores with a gap formed between the split cores 34 in the circumferential direction; see [0061], [0126]; see Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 20, Hata teaches wherein the rotating-portion mounting structure comprises the material having the first CTE, and wherein the third magnetic core comprises the material having the second CTE (a magnetic core 31, 33 is coupled to holder member 41/51 and has a different coefficient of thermal expansion; see [0024]-[0026], [0126]; see Figs. 1-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/STEVEN L YENINAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858