DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 12, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “discloses the power distribution system of claim 11, wherein the detection circuitry is configured to:
compare, during an idle cycle of the periodic pulsed power corresponding to the
voltage low portion, the first current measurement to the second current measurement
by calculating a fault current measurement from a difference between the first current
measurement and the second current measurement; and
determine the fault is present within the power distribution system when the
fault current measurement is greater than a predetermined fault current limit.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mlyniec et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0313886 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Mlyniec et al. discloses a method of detecting a fault in a power distribution system, the method
comprising: providing a power transmitter (see transmitter 20, see Fig. 1);
controlling the power transmitter to provide power in a form of periodic pulsed
power (para 0010, lines 1-11), the periodic pulsed power including a voltage high portion and a voltage low portion (para 0004, lines 1-10);
providing a transmission line connecting the power transmitter to a power
receiver (see transmitter 20 shown in Fig. 1);
measuring a first current measurement at the power transmitter (para 0051, lines 1-9);
measuring a second current measurement at the power receiver (see receiver 21 shown in Fig. 1);
comparing the first current measurement to the second current measurement (para 0054, lines 1-8); and determining a fault is present within the power distribution system based on the
comparison of the first current measurement to the second current measurement (para 0055, lines 1-14).
With respect to claim 2, Mlyniec et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
comparing the first current measurement to the second current measurement
comprises calculating a fault current measurement from a difference between the first
current measurement and the second current measurement (para 0054, lines 1-8); and
determining the fault is present within the power distribution system when the
fault current measurement is greater than a predetermined fault current limit (para 0055, lines 1-14).
With respect to claim 3, Mlyniec et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein comparing the first current measurement to the second current measurement comprises:
receiving, at the power transmitter (para 0051, lines 1-9), the second current measurement measured at the power receiver (para 0010, lines 1-11); and
comparing, at the power transmitter, the first current measurement to the
second current measurement to calculate a fault current measurement (para 0051, lines 1-9) from a difference between the first current measurement and the second current
measurement (para 0054, lines 1-8).
With respect to claim 4, Mlyniec et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the voltage high portion has a magnitude of at least 300 V (para 0013, lines 1-11).
With respect to clam 5, Mlyniec et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the voltage low portion has a non-zero volt magnitude (para 0013, lines 1-11).
With respect to claim 6, Mlyniec et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the voltage low portion has a 0 V magnitude (para 0055, lines 1-14).
With respect to claim 7, Mlyniec et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein an idle cycle period corresponding to the voltage low portion lasts shorter than a voltage high period corresponding to the voltage high portion (para 0004, lines 1-10).
With respect to claim 8, Mlyniec et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a voltage high period corresponding to the voltage high portion lasts 3 ms or less (para 0010, lines 1-11).
With respect to claim 9, Mlyniec et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein comparing the first current measurement to the second current measurement occurs during an idle cycle of the periodic pulsed power corresponding to the voltage low portion (para 0054, lines 1-8).
With respect to claim 10, Mlyniec et al. discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
controlling the power transmitter to cease providing the power to the power
receiver when the fault is determined to be present (para 0054, lines 1-8).
With respect to claim 11, Mlyniec et al. discloses a power distribution system comprising:
a power transmitter configured to provide power in a form of periodic pulsed
power (para 0010, lines 1-11), the periodic pulsed power including a voltage high portion and a voltage low portion (para 0010, lines 1-11);
a transmission line connecting the power transmitter to a power receiver (para 0051, lines 1-9); and a detection circuitry configured to:
measure a first current measurement at the power transmitter (see transmitter 20, see Fig. 1);
receive, from the power receiver (see receiver 21 shown in Fig. 1), a second current measurement measured at the power receiver (para 0054, lines 1-8);
compare the first current measurement to the second current
measurement (para 0054, lines 1-8); and
determine a fault is present within the power distribution system based
on the comparison of the first current measurement to the second current
measurement para 0055, lines 1-14).
With respect to claim 13, Mlyniec et al. discloses the power distribution system of claim 11, wherein the voltage high portion has a magnitude of at least 300 V (para 0013, lines 1-11).
With respect to claim 14, Mlyniec et al. discloses the power distribution system of claim 11, wherein the voltage low portion has a non-zero volt magnitude (para 0055, lines 1-14).
With respect to claim 15, Mlyniec et al. discloses the power distribution system of claim 11, wherein the voltage low portion has a 0 V magnitude (para 0055, lines 1-14).
With respect to claim 16, Mlyniec et al. discloses the power distribution system of claim 11, wherein an idle cycle period corresponding to the voltage low portion lasts shorter than a voltage high period corresponding to the voltage high portion (para 0054, lines 1-8).
With respect to claim 17, Mlyniec et al. discloses the power distribution system of claim 11, wherein a voltage high period corresponding to the voltage high portion lasts 3 ms or less (para 0010, lines 1-11).
With respect to claim 18, Mlyniec et al. discloses the power distribution system of claim 11, wherein the detection circuitry is
further configured to:
control the power transmitter to cease providing the power to the power receiver
when the fault is determined to be present (para 0054, lines 1-8).
With respect to claim 19, Mlyniec et al. discloses a power transmitter for use in a power distribution system, the power transmitter
comprising:
a power supply configured to provide power in a form of periodic pulsed power (para 0010, lines 1-11),
the periodic pulsed power including a voltage high portion and a voltage low portion (para 0055, lines 1-14);
a detection circuitry configured to:
measure a first current measurement at the power transmitter (para 0054, lines 1-8);
receive, from a power receiver (see receiver 21 shown in Fig. 1), a second current measurement
measured at the power receiver (see receiver 21 shown in Fig. 1);
compare the first current measurement to the second current
measurement (para 0054, lines 1-8); and
determine a fault is present within the power distribution system based
on the comparison of the first current measurement to the second current
measurement (para 0055, lines 1-14).
With respect to claim 20, Mlyniec et al. discloses the power transmitter of claim 19, wherein the detection circuitry is configured to:
compare the first current measurement to the second current measurement by
calculating a fault (para 0055, lines 1-14) current measurement from a difference between the first current measurement and the second current measurement (para 0010, lines 1-10); and
determine the fault is present within the power distribution system when the
fault current measurement is greater than a predetermined fault current limit (para 0024, lines 1-9).
Conclusion
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858