DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 – 17 in the reply filed on December 1, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 18 – 20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 9 – 11, 13, 16 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. US 20230068625 A1 (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 16, 17:
Wang is directed to semiconductor structures that include a first dielectric layer, a first conductive feature, a second conductive feature, a first etch stop layer and a conductive via (Abstract). Wang discloses embodiments of their method comprising:
providing a substrate wafer 110 having conductive features 130 [surface of a first material], dielectric layer 120 [surface of a second material], and conductive feature 132 [surface of a third material] (Fig. 1; [0010], [0014] – [0016]);
selectively forming an inhibitor film 140 [first sacrificial and second sacrificial films] over conductive features 130 and 132 ([0016]; Fig. 2);
depositing an etch stop layer 150 [isolation film] over the dielectric layer 120 wherein the inhibitor film 140 sides act as sidewalls to the etch stop layer 150 [recesses], including any steps for planarization for cleaning excess deposited materials such as etch stop layer ([0015], [0019]; Fig. 3);
selectively etching the inhibitor film 140 to reveal the top surfaces of conductive features 130 and 132 within recesses formed from the etch stop layer 150 ([0023], Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2:
Wang discloses that the conductive features 130 and 132 [first material and third material] may be a metal such as cobalt [non-oxides] ([0015]). The dielectric material 120 may be an oxide such as silicon oxide ([0014]).
Regarding claim 5:
Wang discloses that the etch stop layer 150 may be a metal oxide ([0021]).
Regarding claim 10 – 11, 13:
Wang further discloses that their method may further comprise: depositing capping layers 160 onto the conductive features 130 and 132, which are in contact with the first etch stop layer 150 and the conductive features 103 and 132 ([0024] – [0027]; Fig. 5). The capping layers may be a high-K dielectric such as titanium dioxide that initially covers the etch stop layer before a planarization process removes excess material.
Claim(s) 1 – 7, 10, 12 – 13, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sandhu et al. US 20180315771 A1 (hereinafter “Sandhu”).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 17:
Sandhu is directed to arrays of elevationally-extending strings of memory cells
comprises a vertical stack of alternating insulative levels, wordline levels and methods of making such stacks (Abstract). As depicted in Fig. 17 and 18, Sandhu discloses that embodiments of their method comprises:
providing a substrate stack 15 having an end-structure with a third material 69 with surfaces 59 [first and third material in the context of the present claim], and a surface 38 of a second material 26 adjacent to one each of the third material sequentially, wherein the surface termination at the end of the second material acts as a first adsorption inhibition layer ([0057] – [0058]);
selectively bonding an organic monolayer from precursors onto the surfaces of the third material 69 [first and second sacrificial films] ([0058]);
depositing an insulative material 80 [isolation films] onto the surfaces 38, wherein the organic monolayer acts as a thin sidewall ([0059]; Fig. 18); and
removing the organic monolayer to fully reveal surfaces 59 embedded [recessed] between protrusions of insulative material 80 ([0060]; Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 2 – 4:
Sandhu discloses that the second material 26 with surface 38 may be silicon dioxide ([0038]), while the third material 69 [corresponding to first and third materials] with surface 59 may be silicon nitride or metal nitrides of e.g. molybdenum, or tungsten ([0041]).
Regarding claims 5, 6:
Sandhu discloses that the insulative material 80 may be e.g silicon oxide ([0059]).
Regarding claims 10, 12 – 15:
Sandhu further discloses that their method may further comprise:
depositing a second absorption inhibition layer onto the insulative layer to allow the deposition of a charge-storage material 44 within the recesses formed between the peaks of the insulative material 80, wherein the charge-storage material may be e.g. silicon nitride [first and second dielectric films ([0032], [0060] – [0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandhu as applied to claims 1 – 7, 10, 12 – 13, 15, 17 above.
Regarding claim 8:
Sandhu does not expressly teach that within the step of selectively forming a first sacrificial form on the surface of the recited first material, that protrudes to the surface of the second material as recited.
However, real world depositions are not ideal and, while selective, there is an expectation of some spill-over in boundaries of deposited films, including the first sacrificial film. It would then be readily apparent within the standard practice of one of ordinary skill in the art that the limitations in claim 8 would have been met by practice of the disclosed method under routine conditions with an expectation that such spill-over can occur.
Conclusion
/JOSE I HERNANDEZ-KENNEY/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717