DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bingham (EP 0 497 460 A1).
Regarding claim 1, in Figures 1 and 3, Bingham discloses a protective sleeve system comprising: a top half sleeve (3) including a top side protruding mating feature (top side PMF) (11) on a first side and a top side receptive mating feature (top side RMF) on a second side (13), wherein the first side is opposite the second side; a bottom half sleeve (4) including a bottom side receptive mating feature (bottom side RMF) (13) on a first side and a bottom side protruding mating feature (bottom side PMF) (11) on a second side, wherein the first side is opposite the second side, wherein the bottom side RMF is configured to receive the top side PMF and form a first lock housing when the top half sleeve and the bottom half sleeve are mated together (Figures 1 and 3), and wherein the top side RMF is configured to receive the bottom side PMF and form a second lock housing when the top half sleeve and the bottom half sleeve are mated together (Figures 1 and 3); a first locking member (fasteners 17, Figure 3; also eyes 22, 23, Figure 6) configured to fit into the first lock housing; and a second locking member (fasteners 17, Figure 3; also eyes 22, 23, Figure 6) configured to fit into the second lock housing.
Regarding claim 2, Bingham discloses wherein the first locking member is configured in a cylindrical shape (Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, Bingham discloses wherein the first locking member is configured to have a cross-section in a triangular shape (Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 4, Bingham discloses wherein the first locking member is configured to have a cross-section in a rectangular shape (Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 5, Bingham discloses wherein the top half sleeve and the bottom half sleeve are made from a polyurethane material (Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 6, Bingham discloses the top half sleeve further comprising: a second top side PMF on the first side; and a second top side RMF on the second side; the bottom half sleeve further comprising: a second bottom side RMF on the first side; and a second bottom side PMF on the second side, wherein the second bottom side RMF is configured to receive the second top side PMF and form a third lock housing when the top half sleeve and the bottom half sleeve are mated together, and wherein the second top side RMF is configured to receive the second bottom side PMF and form a fourth lock housing when the top half sleeve and the bottom half sleeve are mated together (Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, Bingham discloses a third locking member configured to fit into the third lock housing; and a fourth locking member configured to fit into the fourth lock housing (Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 8, Bingham discloses wherein the third locking member is configured in a cylindrical shape (Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 9, Bingham discloses wherein the third locking member is configured to have a cross-section in a triangular shape (Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 10, Bingham discloses wherein the third locking member is configured to have a cross-section in a rectangular shape (Figures 1 and 3).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847