DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 19-27 in the reply filed on 14 JUL 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 14 JUL 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-21 and 24-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim ‘603 (US PGPub 2021/0249603).
Claim 19 – Kim ‘603 teaches a method of manufacturing a display apparatus (PG 0161), the method comprising:
disposing a mask assembly (PG 0162, mask assembly 100) and a substrate (PG 0162, substrate 330) inside a chamber (PG 0162, vacuum chamber 300); and
passing, through the mask assembly, a deposition material (PG 0163, deposition material generally) supplied from a deposition source (PG 0162, deposition source 310), and depositing the deposition material on the substrate (PG 0163, “deposited in a pattern shape… through the deposition pattern portions… formed in the split masks”),
wherein the mask assembly comprises (Figure 3):
a mask frame including an opening area (PG 0083, mask frame; PG 0086, mask openings 132a-d); and
a mask sheet which shields at least a portion of the opening area and is disposed on the mask frame (PG 0090-0096, the array of first and second split and gap masks; Figure 3 anticipates at least an array of four split masks and two gap masks with the dots showing contemplation of extending the array, discussed specifically at PG 0079),
wherein the mask sheet comprises:
a clamping portion fixed to the mask frame (PG 0106, masks may be tensioned by clamping at the ends);
a connection stick spaced apart from the clamping portion (PG 0109, first support part 135a); and
a plurality of sub-masks arranged between the clamping portion and the connection stick and defining a pattern hole (PG 0090-0096, the array of first and second split and gap masks), and
the connection stick is disposed between sub-masks adjacent to each other among the plurality of sub-masks and supports each of the sub-masks (PG 0092, element 135a is disposed between split masks 140 and 160; PG 0096, element 135a is disposed between gap masks 150 and 170), and end portions of the sub-masks disposed on the connection stick are spaced apart from each other (PG 0092 and 0096 as directly above, both paragraphs cite gaps less than the width of part 135a between adjacent ends of paired masks).
Claim 20 – Kim ‘603 teaches the method of claim 19, wherein each of the sub-masks disposed on the connection stick is coupled to the connection stick through a plurality of welding points arranged in a row (PG 0109-0110, welding connections to support part 135a).
Claim 21 – Kim ‘603 teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the plurality of welding points is disposed in a direction perpendicular to a lengthwise direction of a sub-mask of the plurality of sub-masks (Figures 3 and 9, WE portions perpendicular to long axes of masks).
Claim 24 – Kim ‘603 teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the sub-masks are tensioned in a first direction and fixed to the clamping portion and the connection stick (PG 0106).
Claim 25 – Kim ‘603 teaches the method of claim 24, wherein the mask sheet is tensioned in a second direction different from the first direction and is fixed to the mask frame (PG 0078)
Claim 26 – Kim ‘603 teaches the method of claim 19, wherein a support stick is disposed on the mask frame and crosses the opening area (PG 0085, support part 135b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 23, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘603.
Claim 22 – Kim ‘603 teaches the method of claim 19, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein a width of the connection stick is in a range of about 5 millimeters to about 100 millimeters. Selection of a particular dimension suitable to the intended final dimensions of the mask assembly would only involve a mere change of size of the part; said selection commensurate with the claims is held as prima facie obvious in the absence of unexpected results derived from the selection.
Claim 23 – Kim ‘603 teaches the method of claim 19, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein a thickness of the connection stick is at least a thickness of a sub-mask of the plurality of sub-masks and is within a range of 1 millimeter or less. Selection of a particular dimension suitable to the intended final dimensions of the mask assembly would only involve a mere change of size of the part; said selection commensurate with the claims is held as prima facie obvious in the absence of unexpected results derived from the selection
Claim 27 – Kim ‘603 teaches the method of claim 26, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein the support stick defines an opening into which the connection stick is inserted. The disclosed elements 135a and 135b are disclosed as perpendicularly intersecting at PG 0085; selection of any particular method of intersection commensurate with the claim is held as prima facie obvious in the absence of unexpected results derived from the selection; alternatively, choosing to make parts integral or separate is generally held as prima facie obvious.
Reference of Record
Examiner wishes to make US PGPub 2025/0059638 of record in the instant application. The disclosure and claims thereof share significant overlap with the instant application; it is not being relied upon for rejections at this time.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL G MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712