DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/31/2026 and 01/13/2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 7 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites a term “the cantilever converting probes” in the last line. Examiner suggests amending the term to recite “the cantilever converting probe” to restore clarity.
Claim 19 recites a term “proving” in line 1. Examiner suggests amending the term to recite “providing” to restore clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2-4, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. The rationale for this finding is explained below:
Claim(s) 2 and 11 recite a limitation "the fixing portion" in lines 5 and 4, respectively, before introduction. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim(s).
Claim 4 recites a limitation "the base" in the last line. It is unclear if it refers to antecedent element “a probe base” or “a base frame”.
Claim 8 recites a limitation "each coaxial cable" in lines 4-5 before introduction. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 recite a limitation “the fixed section” before introduction. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim(s).
Dependent Claim(s) 3 not specifically addressed share the same 112(b) rejection as the rejected base Claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9-10, 12-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (US 20100001748; hereinafter Sasaki).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki discloses in figure(s) 1-11 a probe card, suitable for conducting a wafer acceptance test on a wafer, the probe card comprising:
a circuit board (84; fig. 11);
a cantilever-type space transformer (82), electrically connected to the circuit board; and
a vertical probe head (81,83), electrically connected to the cantilever-type space transformer (82), the vertical probe head comprising:
a probe base, comprising an upper guide plate unit and a lower guide plate unit, wherein the upper guide plate unit (83) comprises at least one upper guide plate and an upper guide hole penetrating through the at least one upper guide plate, the lower guide plate unit (81) comprises at least one lower guide plate and a lower guide hole penetrating through the at least one lower guide plate, and the upper guide plate unit and the lower guide plate unit respectively have an upper surface and a bottom surface, wherein an accommodating space is formed between the lower surface of the upper guide plate unit and the upper surface of the lower guide plate unit; and
a vertical probe (9), comprising a probe tail, a probe body, and a probe tip, wherein the probe tail passes through the at least one upper guide hole, the probe body is positioned within the accommodating space, and the probe tip passes through the at least one lower guide hole;
wherein the cantilever-type space transformer (82) comprises a mounting base (86,84/8) and a cantilever converting probe (81), the cantilever converting probe comprises a fixed segment (17 cantilever leaf spring on both sides) and an exposed segment (tip side of probe 9), the fixed segment is secured to the mounting base (86/8), the exposed segment is outside the mounting base, and the fixed segment enters from a lateral side of the mounting base and forms a contact on the bottom surface of the mounting base.
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the probe card according to claim 1, wherein the cantilever-type space transformer (82) is disposed on the circuit board (84), the mounting base (86,84/8) comprises a base frame (86) and a fixing portion (85) , wherein the base frame comprises an upper surface facing the circuit board and a first through-hole, while the fixing portion (85) is positioned within the first through-hole and extends to the upper surface of the base.
Regarding claim 9, Sasaki discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the probe card according to claim 1, wherein the probe card further comprises a reinforcing member (86), the reinforcing member detachably mounted on the circuit board (84), the mounting base is connected to the reinforcing member.
Regarding claim 10, Sasaki discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the probe card according to claim 9, wherein the reinforcing member is secured on the circuit board by a fastening element (85).
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the probe card according to claim 1, wherein the material of the cantilever converting probe is beryllium, copper (para. 112 - beryllium copper; 17 fig. 4), rhenium, tungsten, gold, silver, or an alloy selected from at least two of thereof.
Regarding claim 13, Sasaki discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the probe card according to claim 1, wherein the pad of each cantilever converting probe is either an end portion on a probe body of the fixed section, or a pad (para. 3 - robes into contact with electrode pads on the semiconductor wafer) coupled to the end portion of the probe body of the fixed section.
Regarding claim 14, Sasaki discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the probe card according to claim 1, wherein the fixed section is formed as a conical shape (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 19, Sasaki discloses in figure(s) 1-11 a test method comprising: proving the probe card according to claim 1; making a plurality of probe tips of the vertical probe of the probe card correspondingly contact with a plurality of conductive pads of a device under test (pads of 5; fig. 4); and transmitting a test signal to the device under test through the probe card.
Regarding claim 20, Sasaki discloses in figure(s) 1-11 a testing system, comprising: a carrying chuck (50; fig. 4) suitable for carrying a device under test (5); and a probe card according to claim 1, wherein the probe card is electrically connected to the device under test through a contact between the vertical probe of the probe card and the device under test.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in view of Sadeghian et al. (US 11029329).
Regarding claim 15, Sasaki teaches in figure(s) 1-11 the probe card according to claim 1,
Sasaki does not teach explicitly wherein a hardness of the cantilever converting probe is greater than 245 MPa, and the resistance of the cantilever converting probe is less than 200 mΩ.
However, Sadeghian teaches in figure(s) 1-7 wherein a hardness of the cantilever converting probe is greater than 245 MPa (col. 6 lines 24-26 :– hardness 1 MPa to 40 GPa; fig. 1), and the resistance of the cantilever converting probe is less than 200 mΩ (col. 8 line 36 - a low resistance coupling).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sasaki by having wherein a hardness of the cantilever converting probe is greater than 245 MPa, and the resistance of the cantilever converting probe is less than 200 mΩ as taught by Sadeghian in order to provide "a method of detecting structures on or below the surface of a sample using a probe including a cantilever and a probe tip… apparatus for enabling detection of structures on or below the surface of a sample, which structures may have one or more characteristic dimensions of only a few nanometers or less, and which may even be covered by one or more overlapping dense or hard layers" (abstract, col. 2 lines 40-50).
Claim(s) 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in view of Talanov et al. (US 20040100279).
Regarding claim 16, Sasaki teaches in figure(s) 1-11 a method for designing probe card, wherein the probe card comprises a circuit board (84; fig. 11), a cantilever-type space transformer (82), and a vertical probe head (81,83), the cantilever-type space transformer (82) is electrically connected to the circuit board (84), and the vertical probe head (81,83) is electrically connected to the cantilever-type space transformer (82), the cantilever-type space transformer comprises a mounting base (86,84/8) and a plurality of cantilever converting probes (9) comprising a first converting probe and a second converting probe that are adjacent to each other, and the method comprises a step of:
Sasaki does not teach explicitly adjusting an actual coupling capacitance between the first and second converting probes to meet a coupling capacitance threshold based on a distance between ends of the first converting probe and the second converting probe, under a condition that distance between the ends of the first and second converting probes is fixed.
However, Talanov teaches in figure(s) 1-4 adjusting an actual coupling capacitance (CC1,CC2 ; fig. 1) between the first and second converting probes (22,24; fig. 2) to meet a coupling capacitance threshold (para. 56 – equation 3) based on a distance between ends of the first converting probe and the second converting probe (distance control 44), under a condition that distance between the ends of the first and second converting probes is fixed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sasaki by having adjusting an actual coupling capacitance between the first and second converting probes to meet a coupling capacitance threshold based on a distance between ends of the first converting probe and the second converting probe, under a condition that distance between the ends of the first and second converting probes is fixed as taught by Talanov in order to provide "the microwave capacitance of the test structure is calculated based on measured resonant frequencies of the near field microwave probe for the miniature structure under test and the uniform metallic pad. The distance between the near field microwave probe and the uniform metallic pad is maintained equal to the distance between the near field microwave probe and the test structure by a distance control mechanism during the testing." (para. 3).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pagani et al. (US 20100308855) discloses "a probe card adapted for testing at least one integrated circuit integrated on a corresponding at least one die of a semiconductor material wafer, the probe card including a board adapted for the coupling to a tester apparatus, and a plurality of probes coupled to the said board, wherein the probe card comprises a plurality of replaceable elementary units, each one comprising at least one of said probes for contacting externally-accessible terminals of an integrated circuit under test".
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5-8 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858