DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 4/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-14 and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0351024 A1; hereafter Sun) in view of He Yu et al. (2013 Plasma Sources Sci. Technol. 22 045012) and/or Chung et al. (US 2019/0035611 A1)
As to claim 1, Sun teaches a method of optimizing thickness of a target material film deposited on a semiconductor substrate in a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein the semiconductor processing chamber includes a magnetic assembly positioned on the semiconductor processing chamber, the magnetic assembly including a plurality of magnetic columns within the magnetic assembly, (abstract) the method comprising: operating the semiconductor processing chamber to deposit a film of target material on a semiconductor substrate positioned within the semiconductor processing chamber (abstract, Fig. 1); measuring an uniformity of the deposited film; adjusting a position of one or more magnetic columns in the magnetic assembly (para 0021, between substrates, a single substrate or batches); and operating the semiconductor processing chamber to deposit the film of the target material after adjusting position of the one or more magnetic columns (para 0020-0022). Sun et al. does not teach the spiral pattern of the columns.
Chung et al. teaches two separate sets of columns arranged in a pattern that approaches a spiral pattern as shown in Fig. 2F. The positions of these sets of columns are modified to affect the uniformity of the magnetic field, which directly effects the deposition uniformity in para 0053, 0057. Similarly, He Yu et al. shows spiral magnet configurations in Figure 4 that are as claimed that further directly effects and whose shape are modified to effect plasma, and thus deposition, uniformity (pp3-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sun et al. to include the configurations of Chung et al. and/or He Yu et al. as these references teach that the spiral shape and modifying the position of the magnets improves deposition uniformity.
As to claim 3, Chung discusses modifying the magnetic field of its magnet assembly during calibration, which is essentially what Sun is doing in between wafers or batches of wafers as above, but also discloses that in the course of such a calibration not only can the magnet displacement be changed as in Sun, but also can include changing a number of the magnetic portions (para 0024) to create a uniform magnetic field (para 0025). As to the exact number of magnetic portions, or columns, removed in Chung, this depends upon the desired result of uniform magnetic field and uniform target erosion or deposition, thus the number of magnets removed during calibration is a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to remove 2 or 3 magnets depending on the desired result achieved, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). One of ordinary skill in the art would use the magnet removal of Chung in the method of Sun in order to have another option to modify its magnetic field and film uniformity.
As to claim 4, in Sung para 0021, the positions of the magnet assembly are changed by moving the magnet assembly or changing a tilt angle in between a substrate deposition (therefore stopping deposition in between) or between batches. He Yu et al. also teaches this feature as shown in Fig. 4.
As to claims 5-7, Sun modifies the distance of the magnets from the substrate for uniform deposition in para 0021. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to move the magnet assembly to the claimed distance depending on the desired result achieved, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to claims 8-9, in addition to the modifications undertaken above, the erosion of the sputtering target is also considered on p2 of He Yu et al., para 0004, 0016, 0021 of Sun et al. and para 0018-0019 of Chung et al.
As to claims 10-14 and 21-25, these limitations are taught as discussed above.
Claim(s) 2, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0351024 A1; hereafter Sun) in view of He Yu et al. (2013 Plasma Sources Sci. Technol. 22 045012) and/or Chung et al. (US 2019/0035611 A1; hereafter Chung) in view of Hou et al. (US 2022/0081756 A1; hereafter Hou)
Sun does not teach measuring the resistivity of the film. Hou teaches resistivity is decreased as the film uniformity increases uses magnet assemblies in paras 0002, 0006-0008 in order to make thinner devices with improved qualities (para 0002). Therefore, it would be obvious to modify Sun to include monitoring the film resistivity and its thickness in order to achieve the result of having thinner devices with improved properties.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718