DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spears et al. (US 20230089256) in view of Lohmann et al. (US 20200239291).
Regarding claim 1: Spears discloses an apparatus configured for attachment to a power machine (Figs. 1-3). Spears discloses first and second side plates, each of the first and second side plates configured for pivotal attachment to the power machine at a first pivot joint 1080 (Figs. 3, 28, 36, 37; [0202] – side plates illustrated (at least Fig. 37) but not numbered). Spears discloses a lower plate 1054 having a fixed orientation relative to each of the first and second side plates (Figs. 3, 28, 36, 37; [0199]). Spears discloses a platform assembly comprising a platform 1052, 1054 and a frame (illustrated but not numbered) and the frame attached to each of the first and second side plates (Figs. 3, 28, 36, 37; [0199]).
Spears does not explicitly disclose that the frame is attached to each of the first and second side plates at a second pivot joint. Lohmann discloses that a platform frame can be attached at a second pivot joint S2, 28, 34 (Fig. 2; [0038]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Spears so that the frame is attached to each of the first and second side plates at a second pivot joint as taught by Lohmann. As both Spears and Lohmann are directed to a platform assembly for a work vehicle (an apparatus configured for attachment to a power machine), as various operator platforms are known for work vehicles including different attachment and pivot designs, and as Lohman explicitly teaches a second pivot point to allow the platform to pivot independently of the pivoting frame, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a desired platform attachment scheme from a finite selection of platform attachment schemes (i.e. rigid, single pivot joints or two pivot joints). Such a simple addition and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses a first bumper (Spears – 1082; Lohmann – 36, 44) disposed between the platform and the lower plate (Spears – Fig. 36; [0202]; Lohmann – Fig. 2; [0038]).
Regarding claim 2: Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses a front plate having a fixed orientation relative to each of the first and second side plates (Spears – Fig. 37; Lohmann – Fig. 2 – the front plates are illustrated but not numbered).
Regarding claim 3: Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses a second bumper (Lohmann – 38) attached to the front plate (Lohmann – Fig. 2; 0039]).
Regarding claim 4: Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses that the lower plate comprises a plurality of attachment features configured for selective attachment of the first bumper (Spears – Fig. 37; Lohmann – Fig. 2; both Spears and Lohmann illustrate structure that meets the as-recited claim).
Regarding claim 5: Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses an upper plate disposed between the platform and the first bumper(Spears – Fig. 37; Lohmann – Fig. 2; both Spears and Lohmann illustrate structure that meets the as-recited claim).
Regarding claim 6: Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses that the first bumper is tubular (Spears – Figs. 37, 38).
Regarding claim 7: Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses a method of supporting a load applied on an apparatus of a power machine (see above; Spears - Figs. 3, 37; [0120] – supports an operator; Lohmann – Figs. 1, 2; [0036] – stand on platform). Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses first and second side plates, each of the first and second side plates configured for pivotal attachment to the power machine at a first pivot joint (see above; Spears – 1080; Figs. 3, 28, 36, 37; [0202] – side plates illustrated (at least Fig. 37) but not numbered). Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses a lower plate (see above; Spears 1054) having a fixed orientation relative to each of the first and second side plates (see above; Spears - Figs. 3, 28, 36, 37; [0199]). Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses a platform assembly comprising a platform (see above; Spears - 1052, 1054) and a frame (see above; Spears - illustrated but not numbered) and the frame attached to each of the first and second side plates at a second pivot joint (see above; Spears - Figs. 3, 28, 36, 37; [0199]; Lohmann - S2, 28, 34; Fig. 2; [0038]). Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses a first bumper (see above; Spears – 1082; Lohmann – 36, 44) disposed between the platform and the lower plate (Spears – Fig. 36; [0202]; Lohmann – Fig. 2; [0038]). Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses applying the load onto the platform and compressing the first bumper between the platform and the lower plate (see above; Spears - Figs. 3, 37; [0120] – supports an operator; Lohmann – Figs. 1, 2; [0036] – stand on platform).
Regarding claim 8: Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses pivoting the platform assembly about the second pivot joint relative to the first and second side plates (see above; Spears - Figs. 3, 28, 36, 37; [0199]; Lohmann - S2, 28, 34; Fig. 2; [0038]).
Regarding claim 9: Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses that the apparatus comprises a second bumper (Lohmann – 38) disposed between a front plate and frame of the power machine and the method comprising compressing the second bumper(see above; Spears - Figs. 3, 37; [0120] – supports an operator; Lohmann – Figs. 1, 2; [0036] – stand on platform).
Regarding claim 10: Spears, as modified by Lohmann, discloses that the lower plate comprises a plurality of attachment features, the method comprising selectively attaching the first bumper to one of the plurality of attachment features (Spears – Fig. 37; Lohmann – Fig. 2; both Spears and Lohmann illustrate structure that meets the as-recited claim).
Conclusion
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
6/29/2026